0 items
Audioengine 2 Speakers
Categories

Cowon Plenue D (PD) High Resolution 32GB Music Player with microSD Expansion Slot

Cowon Plenue D (PD) High Resolution 32GB Music Player with microSD Expansion Slot
  • Cowon Plenue D (PD) High Resolution 32GB Music Player with microSD Expansion Slot
  • Cowon Plenue D (PD) High Resolution 32GB Music Player with micro
  • Cowon Plenue D (PD) High Resolution 32GB Music Player with micro
  • Cowon Plenue D (PD) High Resolution 32GB Music Player with micro
  • Cowon Plenue D (PD) High Resolution 32GB Music Player with micro
  • Cowon Plenue D (PD) High Resolution 32GB Music Player with micro
  • Cowon Plenue D (PD) High Resolution 32GB Music Player with micro

Cowon Plenue D (PD) High Resolution 32GB Music Player with microSD Expansion Slot

£199.00
Seen this product cheaper? We'll try and beat the price. Click here.
Free Delivery via Supersaver 2 - 4 working days
Share with HUKD

Customers Reviews

Average customers review
5 of 5 Stars! (34 customer reviews)

nina dufeu
Date Added: Thursday 04 January, 2018
5 of 5 Stars!
Great little player, sounds fantastic and the jet effect allows plenty of options for shaping to your particular requirements. Database update can be a bit slow with 128 card installed but overall very pleased with the Plenue D.
5 of 5 Stars!
Daren Howells
Date Added: Tuesday 02 January, 2018
4 of 5 Stars!
Brilliant little player. Great sound, a good step up in sound quality from my aging iPod Touch. Compact and light, looks good and feels well made. The interface is a little tricky to navigate smoothly sometimes as it moves at different speeds dependi...Read moreng on where to touch the screen but Iím sure Iíll get used to that. The reason I only give it 4 stars is getting my 128mb sd card formatted and readable was a bit of a chore, and involved getting my IT department to format it for me with the script dragged down off the internet which is a pretty clunky way of doing things if you ask me.
4 of 5 Stars!
Martin Mason
Date Added: Thursday 28 December, 2017
5 of 5 Stars!
I bought the Plenue D after losing my X9 while travelling and have been really pleased with the compact design, the exceptional quality, the amazing play time per charge and at last for a very simple UI. At a quarter of the price of some of the compe...Read moretition it represents exceptional value and I don't believe that you get anything in sound quality for the extra price. This is one very stylish and functional player.
5 of 5 Stars!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Phil Harbord
Date Added: Wednesday 20 December, 2017
5 of 5 Stars!
Iím surprisingly pleased with this player. I did wonder if I wouldnít really notice much difference in sound quality compared to my 6 year old Samsung MP3 player. I also had reservations about the user interface and responsiveness thereof.

The so...Read moreund quality is very good, and possibly excellent if you have headphones to do it justice. The equalisation adjustment is also very good and allows you to tailor the sound profile to suit the headphones youíre using, Iíve found this an absolute boon as the Sennheiser earphones I use are just a tad on the bright side for my liking. The depths of the UI, option settings, eq, etc, do look as though they were designed in the 80s but are all easy to use and more than fit for purpose. There are one or two elements of the UI that arenít immediately obvious, I even had to look at the manual once, but once you realise how it works itís obvious enough. The main music playing screen is good and has so far shown all the album art on any album that Iíve played. The UI is generally very responsive.

Iíve only tried playlists very briefly and they seem to work OK, I believe thereís a limit of 1024 tracks per playlist but thatís not a problem for me. As far as I can see you have to be playing a track to add it to a playlist but thatís to be expected really.

One criticism that I would level at the Plenue D is that it takes about 1 minute to start up because of the time it takes to scan my library (just under 12,000 tracks on a 128GB micro SD card and about 5,000 songs on the internal memory), which it always does on power up. Thatís a lot or music and 1 minute isnít so long but what Iíd like to see is a way in which you can get the player to normally go into sleep mode but can force full shut down without having to go into the menus. Sleep isnít too bad, it looks to me as though the battery will last around 3 weeks in sleep mode which realistically is probably more than adaquate. My old Samsung player goes into sleep by default but after about 24 to 48 hours in sleep mode will then go into full power down of its own accord. That would be a nice feature on the Plenue D as a battery saving feature. Alternatively a method to force full shut down (which I wouldnít mind doing at the end of every day) even when sleep is selected in the menu would be nice, something like a 6 second press on the power button. Actually, Iíve just discovered there is a way of doing this. If you hold down both volume buttons for 6 seconds then the player resets into full powered down mode, so problem solved.

So overall this is a very good player that has fabulous battery life, excellent sound quality, a responsive and pleasant to use UI, very versatile equalisation and the ability, with the addition of a micro SD card, to hold a lot of music. It also has plenty of volume in hand, Iím listening at level 40 of 100 with my earphones.
5 of 5 Stars!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Martyn Cross
Date Added: Thursday 26 October, 2017
5 of 5 Stars!
Simply stunning.
Its like listening to albums again for the first time.. Couldn't be happier.
5 of 5 Stars!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Takis
Date Added: Saturday 23 September, 2017
5 of 5 Stars!
Very good mp3 player. Very happy with my purchase and the fast service. Thanks
5 of 5 Stars!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Graham Burton
Date Added: Monday 19 June, 2017
5 of 5 Stars!
I bought the Cowon Plenue D after the headphone output port became faulty (cutting out) and the battery needed replacing on my Cowon J3. I've had the J3 over five years and it had a lot of use so it lasted well. I thought about seeing if it could be ...Read morerepaired and new battery replaced for the J3 but I thought it might cost nearly as much as buying a Cowon Plenue D but I didn't get a quote.

I've had the Cowon Plenue D for four months now so thought I'd write a short review.

The sound quality on the Cowon Plenue D is very good. More detailed in the mids and upper frequencies than the J3 but it seems to lack just a little bass compared to the J3 using the normal playback setting. This could be because I predominantly listen to AIFF files on the Plenue D and listened to FLAC files on the J3 I'm not sure. I was very pleased that the Plenue D supports AIFF files. It also supports the embedded art for AAC/M4A files that I bought from Itunes store. I had to sync with cover.jpg name on the jpeg files in the album folders on the J3 but I don't have to do this now on the Plenue D.

The Plenue D has great battery life. I don't need to charge it for many days and I use it a lot. The UI for the Plenue,like the J3, is functional. I think it's just a case of remembering what the icons do like the J3. I like the UI but not everyone will. A handful of the AIFF files it hasn't read the tags properly or displayed artwork. I've updated to the latest firmware 1.17. I'm not sure why this happened because they were all bought from the same download store. The storage capacity can be upgraded with a 128 GB MicroSD card.

Overall I'm very happy with the Plenue D. I still miss my J3 somewhat but this is a good replacement. The only slight downside for some people may be the lack of Bluetooth functionality on the Plenue D but that doesn't bother me. I'm also very pleased with the service from AMP3. The player arrived very quickly before the estimated time on free delivery. Hope this review helps.
5 of 5 Stars!
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
George Cooke
Date Added: Saturday 27 May, 2017
5 of 5 Stars!
As a upgrade from an iPod classic, this is perfect. I spent three months trying and considering different hi-res audio players and feel I have found the right one for me with a balance of quality feel and value. I only started looking at Cowon after ...Read morereading mentions of them so often in reviews of other makes and was just nosey. Glad I was, because, whilst not splattered all over the web, it seems to me the Cowon is a 'sleeper', and worthy of being shortlisted by anyone seeking a quality iPod replacement. The iPod, we must remember, was so so good and spoiled us with its slickness and feel, However, Apple seem to have abandoned the idea of a high capacity player and to play Hi-res music you had to tweak and also you had to always use their own software - which gets frustrating when it stops working because of software upgrades needed.
Memory cards need to be formatted as FAT, with SanDisk 128s requiring a bit of trickery on my Mac before I could achieve that. Once achieved, connect the unit to your computer and use the storage as a hard disk - transferring music files as you like without being limited by msuic management software - great!. Overall I am most satisfied as the sound quality surpasses what I every got on my iPod and now I can manage my music files simply by transferring to the player as a hard disk - not needing to use iTunes save for organising the tracks. I'm using mainly lossless ALAC files, but even regular mp3 files sound enhanced on this device. Cover art needs to be in jpg format and organised correctly - still on my todo list.
For the price, this player is great value for the quality. I considered both equivalent priced options and more expensive players, but wanted something to use just for playing music I have on CD to listen to on headphones, The Plenue D works well with wired speaker as well - the sound is good even through a £10 one I tried. No bells and whistles, no streaming wifi, no Bluetooth, but lack of these is not a problem for me and probably helps the impressive battery life.
The EQ settings are fun and effective. The unit is smaller than a pack of cards and easy to hold or conceal. I've paired with both medium quality Bose and RHA headphones and my Pink Floyd never sounded so good for me! The interface is as simple as it can be, to be honest, and once you spend time with it, it makes sense. It's not an iPod, but then, I didn't want an iPod.
I bought the little Cowon leather case which fits perfectly and looks great. Overall this has been a considered buy, chosen for simplicity and value.
As a first step up from the basic mp3 world, it is a good investment.
I also will now not feel guilty about considering a more expensive unit in the future, but for now, my saved money has gone towards a few remastered CDs and even hi-res downloads for selected artists I really want to appreciate.
Delivery from AMP3 was quick and easy. I have not found many other players at all price points with as much positive feedback and reviews. I had been looking at some 4 times this price but decided on the Cowon Penue D because my basic needs were simple and straight forward and I am a middle-aged saddo who likes having also physical copies of his music. Even so, my son was impressed when the tried my new puchase, even though he tends to stream. I, personally, like the idea of having a music collection, reflecting my curation and (refined) tastes. But each to their own. Hope this review is of help, as others have been for me when I was trying to choose.
5 of 5 Stars!
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
EdinEdinburgh
Date Added: Wednesday 24 May, 2017
4 of 5 Stars!
Great player - wonderful audio quality, hip design, etc. Not full marks because I find the menu system a little clunky and not intuitive.
4 of 5 Stars!
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Dan Max Glaser
Date Added: Saturday 20 May, 2017
4 of 5 Stars!
I have lived with the Plenue D for a week now and am very satisfied with my purchase. I would say that it's a very good little player, but will stop short of saying it's a great player. It does everything that I would expect, but there are some impro...Read morevements that could make it STELLAR!. Though it must be said at this stage that the battery life is something to marvel at. Truly exceptional.
Firstly, the resolution of the screen for the album artwork is lacking. It's sufficient for sure and serves its purpose, but it could be sharper.
The scrolling through the artists menu for example is slow and cumbersome particularly if there are a couple of hundred to get through. An A-Z option would make light of this chore. Also to see the artwork in thumbnail form would also add to the ease of hunting out your desired album. There seems to be no way of finding out the remaining capacity of the micro SD card in the system menu. The internal storage space, yes, but why not the add-on memory. Also there is no information about the composer of a song. Information that IS saved in the metadata, but no way to access it.
All these issues (with the exception of the screen resolution possibly) could be addressed in a future firmware upgrade, and these may well come, but for now, I feel this little player is not quite there yet. But so very close though!
4 of 5 Stars!
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Hendrik van den Berg
Date Added: Friday 21 April, 2017
5 of 5 Stars!
I own a number of hires audio players which I listen to at home will full size over ear headphones. But I needed a small sized DAP to use with IEM's on the go. Boy did I make the right decision! The Plenue D is a miniature powerhouse. Fantastic sound...Read more quality and power and the jet effects allow sound modification with the minimum of effort. A great purchase!
5 of 5 Stars!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Peter Gibbons
Date Added: Tuesday 28 March, 2017
5 of 5 Stars!
I bought the Cowon to replace a Sony NWz 15, having previously owned a Cowon player i was aware of the sound quality the player would generate. I find the search menus slightly irritating as they are not on a par with the Sony but overall the pos out...Read moreweigh the cons.
5 of 5 Stars!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Awards