0 items
Bristol ShowPD2 Preorder
Categories

Cowon Plenue 1 (P1) High Resolution 'World's Finest DAC' 128GB Music Player Special Edition

Cowon Plenue 1 (P1) High Resolution \'World\'s Finest DAC\' 128GB Music Player Special Edition
  • Cowon Plenue 1 (P1) High Resolution 'World's Finest DAC' 128GB Music Player Special Edition
  • Cowon Plenue 1 (P1) High Resolution 'World's Finest DAC' 128GB M
  • Cowon Plenue 1 (P1) High Resolution 'World's Finest DAC' 128GB M
  • Cowon Plenue 1 (P1) High Resolution 'World's Finest DAC' 128GB M
  • Cowon Plenue 1 (P1) High Resolution 'World's Finest DAC' 128GB M
  • Cowon Plenue 1 (P1) High Resolution 'World's Finest DAC' 128GB M
  • Cowon Plenue 1 (P1) High Resolution 'World's Finest DAC' 128GB Music Player Special Edition

Cowon Plenue 1 (P1) High Resolution 'World's Finest DAC' 128GB Music Player Special Edition

£760.00 £740.00
Seen this product cheaper? We'll try and beat the price. Click here.
Free Delivery via Supersaver 2 - 4 working days
Share with HUKD

Customers Reviews

Average customers review
5 of 5 Stars! (8 customer reviews)

Ben Wileman
Date Added: Friday 09 June, 2017
5 of 5 Stars!
Very, very happy with my purchase so far. I have had Cowon i9, i10 and i9+ previously and so the UI was pretty clear to me, as are the EQ and sound options (some people criticise the number of possible settings - just stay away from them, the reverb,...Read more the chorus etc and use the EQ and extra bass settings if you need them).
The sound this gives paired with my Shure SE425s (with upgraded cable) is nothing short of phenomenal. I am hearing parts of songs I have never heard before and the space between and spread of the sounds if wonderful. I tried the A&K Jr before buying this one and this kicks its ass.

Very, very happy and would highly recommend.
5 of 5 Stars!
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Cristian Păduraru
Date Added: Friday 10 June, 2016
5 of 5 Stars!
I had this mp3 for more than 6 months already. I paired it with UE 18 Pro and they go fantastic together.

The quality of the output is insane. I just can not describe it. I did not try any other product out there but I can assure you that this is ...Read morea safe bet.
The design is smooth and classy. For me, the design matters a lot and the other products lack of this aspect.
The structure is solid. I dropped it few times and I did not notice any scratch.
This mp3 has a lot of storage and you have the option to further enlarge it.
You can customize the software's skin, you can create playlists, you can enhance the audio with EQ presets and with other enhancing options.

However, nothing is perfect; this product has some downsides too.
I do not continuously listen to music but if you do then this is not the player for you. That's simply because the DAC heats up after 2-3 hours of continuous use and you can feel the heat at touch; it is not burning but there is enough heat to make you think about the stress you are engaging the player to. I do not know if it has any effect on the player itself but is wise not to risk it. I had done it a couple of times thou, but it had no visible effect on the player whatsoever. Anyways, let's assume that you are taking the risk because the warranty covers it. In this case you have to take into account that the life span of the battery is almost 8 hours. If you want to listen more than that you need an external battery.
Another downside of this player is that it does not support video files even thou it has a large display and a lot of storage space.

Nevertheless it does worth 5 stars because it satisfies all my needs.

Pro:
-high music quality;
-incredible design;
-solid structure;
-a lot of storage space;

Con:
-low battery life span;
-it heats up after 2-3 hours of continuous play;
-it does not support video files.
5 of 5 Stars!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Mario Johnson
Date Added: Sunday 13 March, 2016
5 of 5 Stars!
I'm getting to be a bit of a fan of DAP's, this is my third high quality player. I have the colorfly C4, Astell & Kern AK240 and now the Cowan Plenue P1. Good quality IEM's/headphones are essential with these players. Cowan P1 in audio quality is...Read more not far behind the AK240 and that costs three times as much. The headphones i use are Grado PS1000 and just recently i bought the grado iem's GR10e for going out and about. With the colorfly c4 the GR10e have great detail and a good "top end" but somewhat lacking in the bass department, enter the Cowan P1 with it's 50 EQ settings and 4 personal user settings and you've got plenty of bass, detail and "top end". This player could tune any high quality IEM's/headphones whether they are bright or dull to your liking. It plays albums one after another (which i can't seem to play with the AK240) so i can go about without touching the player which is in my pocket. Battery lasts between 8-10 hours which isn't brilliant but most quality players lasts this long except probably the Sonys (ZX2). Love the VU meters on the display, would i recommend this player ?...... Definitely yes.
5 of 5 Stars!
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Cristian Păduraru
Date Added: Tuesday 24 November, 2015
5 of 5 Stars!
High-end sound quality, easy interface, best design compared to it's competitors. Worth buying.

The short battery life problem can be easily solved by acquiring an external power-bank around 15000 mAh. The philosophy is simple: You can not listen ...Read moreto music 24/7, you have to take breaks to do basic life tasks. So, while the MP3 is not used it should be connected to the power-bank until next use. It does not heat up and the bank can supply enough energy to keep the player up through 1-7 days.

I am very glad I made this purchase.
5 of 5 Stars!
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Paul Dickens
Date Added: Sunday 14 June, 2015
5 of 5 Stars!
This is my third mp3 player and the best of the lot by far. The first was an Iriver i140 which was great. I replaced that (not sure why!) with a Cowon j3 which has been excellent teamed up with my Westone 4R in ear monitors which needed some tweaking...Read more of the JetEffect system to bring out the best in them. As it's a big birthday year I decided to lash out on a high-spec player to replace the J3 (now handed down to my wife) that could handle 24bit studio masters.
I've had the Plenue P1 a month or so and it is superb with both the Westones and my open-back Grado SR80s. Very little tweaking needed - the pre-set BBE2 headphone setting on the jetEffect is ideal for my listening - classical orchestral, choral and chamber music mainly, plus brass bands. The sound is warm, spacious and clear. Ordinary 320 MP3 files sound good, 16bit FLAC files sound great but the best of the lot is 24bit studio masters which sound absolutely glorious. I still hanker after the sound I once heard through a pair of Quad electrostatics - so natural it was hard to distinguish live from recorded in a demo I attended. This player and the Westone with 24 bit files get very very close. So - expensive - yes. Worth them money to me - absolutely.

The only downside is the short battery life although I rarely play it more than 2 or 3 hours on the trot. 12 hours is the best I can get before recharge is needed. I find this a small disadvantage vastly outweighed by the sound quality you get.
5 of 5 Stars!
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
A Balntas
Date Added: Saturday 14 March, 2015
4 of 5 Stars!
Excellent build and superb sound which is clear, expansive, detail-revealing and never tires you. Good interface. Poor battery life for such an expensive player. Would be nice to have the ability to create playlists.4* because of the short battery li...Read morefe.
4 of 5 Stars!
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
ChisChas
Date Added: Tuesday 10 March, 2015
5 of 5 Stars!
I bought a Colorfly C4 Pro from Advanced MP3 Players 2 years ago and bought the Cowon Plenue 1 as an upgrade. The Plenue 1 provides me with all the improvements I was seeking, much better UI, better sound, bigger capacity and a smaller unit. I love t...Read morehe UI and its speed, the Plenue 1 boots up in 7 secs which is amazing! The sound is fantastic with an open, transparent sound, controlled deep bass, sweet extended treble and a natural analogue bias. I use AKG K702 65th Anniversary full headphones which need a bit more power than average so I was pleased that the Plenue 1 has a 2Vrms output (same as the Colorfly C4 Pro). The supplied leather case is great and I've bought a Loewe Pro Volta 30 outer case which provides tough protection when I'm not using my Plenue 1.
I am a very happy owner and thank you again to Advanced MP3 Players for the friendly & helpful service.
5 of 5 Stars!
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Richard Withington
Date Added: Friday 06 March, 2015
5 of 5 Stars!
Excellent player. Looks very good, with high quality metal frame. A little thick, which makes it a little tricky finding a suitable case, although the leather slip case included is very nice. Software is also very good, and is easy to navigate / scro...Read morell etc. Sound quality is excellent, with a crisp, clear, yet warm sound that sounds almost analogue. Gets better the more you use it and you can appreciate the subtleties of different styles of music and recordings. I'm using lossless file mainly, but even MP3s sound much better than they do on my old iPod touch. Battery life is about 8hrs, which is not brilliant, but its still pretty good. One thing I don't like is the latch at the bottom which opens to allow you access to the micro USB and micro SDXC. It's quite flimsy, and seems attached by a band which II suspect won't last very long (particularly as you need to open it everytime you want to charge the player). Getting the micro SD card in and out of the slot is also a bit fiddly, but that's not a major thing. Overall, I'm very pleased with my purchase. I considered a number of other players, including the Sony ZX1 and the Cain N6, but I'm glad I chose this one. This is my first hi res audio player, and although it's an expensive piece of equipment, I'm glad I made the purchase. I would give it ****1/2 out of 5.
5 of 5 Stars!
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Press Reviews

What Hi-Fi? (4)
What Hi-Fi?
Date Added: Friday 12 August, 2016
"We love its refinement and articulate nature, and even though the richness tends towards excess, particularly at low frequencies, the side effects of this are rarely less than enjoyable."

Awards