0 items
Audioengine 2 Speakers
Categories

Fiio D03K Digital to Analog Audio Decoder/Converter - Optical / Coaxial - 3.5 / Component

Fiio D03K Digital to Analog Audio Decoder/Converter - Optical / Coaxial - 3.5 / Component
  • Fiio D03K Digital to Analog Audio Decoder/Converter - Optical / Coaxial - 3.5 / Component
  • Fiio D03K Digital to Analog Audio Decoder/Converter - Optical /
  • Fiio D03K Digital to Analog Audio Decoder/Converter - Optical /
  • Fiio D03K Digital to Analog Audio Decoder/Converter - Optical /

Fiio D03K Digital to Analog Audio Decoder/Converter - Optical / Coaxial - 3.5 / Component

£29.99 £21.99
Seen this product cheaper? We'll try and beat the price. Click here.
In Stock
Free Delivery via Supersaver 2 - 4 working days
Share with HUKD

Customers Reviews

Average customers review
5 of 5 Stars! (10 customer reviews)

Paul Bielby
Date Added: Thursday 28 December, 2017
5 of 5 Stars!
I bought this as my TV had no headphone socket, and I needed to use earphones to watch it when my wife was doing something else. Although I couldn't control the volume from the TV, it was just right for listening with the earphones. Also I could powe...Read morer it from the TV USB socket, so didn't need a separate power supply. A very good buy for my needs.
5 of 5 Stars!
Jim Wheeler
Date Added: Sunday 24 December, 2017
5 of 5 Stars!
Excellent product that was easy to install and operate. Great service, good price and fast delivery from AMP3. Very pleased.
5 of 5 Stars!
Jenny Miller
Date Added: Thursday 07 December, 2017
5 of 5 Stars!
Bought this to use with my new Samsung 4K TV which only has an optical-out to connect my old Musical Fidelity X80 amplifier (which drives Dali Menuet 2 speakers). This only has analogue RCA imput connections, no optical. For what is genuinely not a l...Read moreot of money, I have been able to avoid additional costs by retaining my top quality hi-fi amplifier and achieve a very good sound as well. NOTE, you will still need to buy an optical cable (you don't need an expensive one for this type of application. I paid about £5).

I used one of the USB ports on the back of the TV to power the DAC using the supplied connecting lead. The obvious advantage of using the TV's USB port is the DAC is only powered up when the TV is turned on plus you don't have to find a13amp plug socket for a separate power supply.

In summary, it is an absolute bargain,especially especially considering the excellent performance. The build quality is first class. You will not be disappointed.
5 of 5 Stars!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Dave Cornwall
Date Added: Tuesday 17 October, 2017
5 of 5 Stars!
Bought this dac to run my audio through from my TV to Amp its not as good as my Music Fidelity but its a 1/10 of the price+ and its not that far behind it, Works really well so 10/10 from me
5 of 5 Stars!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Nick Bruce
Date Added: Saturday 05 August, 2017
5 of 5 Stars!
Fantastic device, very noticeably improves the sound output from my TV as compared with the headphone socket, especially in the low end. The bass is now much fuller and more controlled. Everything seems to 'pop' more as described by my flatmate. Only...Read more downside is of course volume control as SPDIF outputs at a constant level so I have to manually adjust the volume from my amp. I have yet to find a solution for this. Sounds quite similar to my Xonar DG when connected to my Edifier 1600T active speakers. Not noticeably better or worse, but of course this will need an amp if you want to use it with headphones. Overall this is an absolutely fantastic purchase for the price.
5 of 5 Stars!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Chris Cullen
Date Added: Friday 04 August, 2017
5 of 5 Stars!
Purchased this to improve sound played back via computers on board sound to decent enough Logitech speakers, used optical out and sound immediately improved, both for mp3 and flavours files on NAS via network . Better bass, sound stage improved. High...Read morely recommended very good value for money, absolute bargain!
5 of 5 Stars!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
richard hodge
Date Added: Tuesday 06 June, 2017
5 of 5 Stars!
Plug in and they work good sound out put, good quality build in a metal enclosure, takes optical and coax pcm audio input, reconmended
5 of 5 Stars!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
John Callaghan
Date Added: Sunday 06 November, 2016
5 of 5 Stars!
Bought this in order to use wireless headphones with my TV. Works perfectly!
5 of 5 Stars!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Chris Smith
Date Added: Thursday 05 May, 2016
5 of 5 Stars!
I bought the D03K to connect the optical audio output from an Apple TV to the analogue stereo inputs of my TV sound system. It was bought on the strength of various web reviews and I have to say I've not been disappointed so far.

I need to say her...Read moree that I don't pretend to be an audiophile but the sound quality from my system using the D03K DAC to play back lossless AAC music files from iTunes is no different to my ears than the Airport Express (current version) I used previously. Comparing the sound via the D03K to the same tracks played from my Sony DVD/CD player also reveals no difference in sound quality. The D03K output level is slightly lower (1.5V) than the Airport Express (2.0V), however, which means the volume has to be turned up a little higher. It is not that much different in sound level to my Humax satellite box output, though.

The D03K is so small I was able to conceal it behind one of the connector covers on the back of my TV, making it invisible aside from the cables. That is probably not a concern for most buyers but it is for me as I'm a bit of a fanatic about tidy cabling and trailing sockets! The connectors are also very secure so little risk of a cable dropping out.

I had hoped to power the D03K from a USB port on my satellite box so that it would switch on and off with the TV. However, I found that this introduced some grounding hum (only noticeable at high volumes between music tracks and probably not an issue for TV only operation). I now have it connected direct to a USB wall plug, which has eliminated the problem but means it is always powered on. Time will tell if this results in a shortened lifetime. Hopefully not but then its not the world's most expensive DAC so buying another is always an option!

In summary, the D03K is doing exactly what I had hoped in terms of allowing me to connect an optical source to an analogue sound systems. The sound quality is excellent and the price from Advanced MP3 Players one fifth that of the alternative 'hifi' solution I had considered. Hopefully, it will proved a durable solution, too.
5 of 5 Stars!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
N Shankland
Date Added: Thursday 03 March, 2016
5 of 5 Stars!
Used in the following set-up: Sony Bravia =_ D03K =_ Amptastic Mini-1 =_ Audica CS-S1. This small & light DAC is powered by a mini USB cable (supplied) & is unobtrusively attached to the back of the TV with hook-&-loop strips, adjacent to...Read more the Bravia 'optical out' so that only a 25cm optical cable is needed. The sound stage itself is vivid - for example, casting 'Spotif'y & 'BBC iPlayer Radio 3' to Chromecast creates a detailed image that can almost sound immersive, depending on the source material. Time & further listening will reveal just how much better than the Bravia's on-board DAC it is, but it's hard to see how anyone can go wrong at this price. FYI, my reference point, for many years, has been in-car, enjoying the Alpine CDA-7990 F#1 Status head unit.
5 of 5 Stars!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Awards