0 items
WTONEv2
Categories

Cowon i9 Plus 32GB MP3 Player - BLACK

Cowon i9 Plus 32GB MP3 Player - BLACK
  • Cowon i9 Plus 32GB MP3 Player - BLACK
  • Cowon i9 Plus 16GB MP3 Player - BLACK Additional Image 1
  • Cowon i9 Plus 16GB MP3 Player - BLACK Additional Image 2

Cowon i9 Plus 32GB MP3 Player - BLACK

129.00
Seen this product cheaper? We'll try and beat the price. Click here.
Out Of Stock
Free Delivery via Supersaver 2 - 4 working days
Share with HUKD

Customers Reviews

Average customers review
4 of 5 Stars! (12 customer reviews)

Peter Jones
Date Added: Tuesday 21 February, 2017
4 of 5 Stars!
This is a great little MP3 player. I have had two previous Cowon devices in the past (purchased from Amp3), both of which are still going strong, a D2 and S9. It goes without saying that the sound quality from all three is superb. Although it does ne...Read moreed a bit of tweaking to personal preferences. The options for doing this are numerous. Beats the "fruity" devices hands down.
The Cowon user interface has always needed a bit of getting used to and I would put the user friendliness into the following order. S9 1st, i9 2nd and the D2 3rd. In my opinion they've gone backwards with the i9.
Comparing just the S9 and i9 with regards to size and ease of operating, the i9 is too small and not the easiest to hold. It is prone to slip out of the hand, not just because of it's small size but also the plastic used. It should have some sort of "rubberised" non slip case instead of that used. A suitable silicone case would be good, but these, if you can find them, are too expensive.
I have silicone cases for the D2 and S9, both were very cheap and durable.
The 32Gb version is right for my needs and I can't think why a larger capacity would be necessary. It's easy enough to delete and add music anyway using Windows Media Player.
So, overall, I'm quite happy with the i9 and in spite of my own reservations about the diminutive size and slippy plastic, it must have a recommendation. Just for the sound quality alone. In viw of my criticisms it can only be a four star rating.
4 of 5 Stars!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
chris holland
Date Added: Thursday 11 August, 2016
4 of 5 Stars!
Great small little MP3 playe. Works fine and is of great quality for the price, only issue is the user interface could be more attractive
4 of 5 Stars!
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Paul A.
Date Added: Tuesday 13 October, 2015
5 of 5 Stars!
Deceptive gem! Surprised by its size even knowing the dimensions in advance and rather deterred by the menus' sub-systems but it does reward with its capabilities and performance in a short time.
5 of 5 Stars!
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Ben T
Date Added: Friday 31 July, 2015
5 of 5 Stars!
So far no significant issues whatsoever. I'd really like to give it 4.5 stars rather than 5 because the only issue I have is that that controls and the OS are a little clunky. Can't quite see how a diagonal scrolling bar is better than a vertical one...Read more would be, and the inability to scroll continuously is mildly annoying when looking for something in the middle of the alphabet, given that on a 32GB device the library can be quite large.
However, the sound options are fantastic. The ability to tweak the sound was what attracted me in the first place and I haven't been disappointed by that at all. The lock is nice and secure, which is a big bonus (my previous MP3 player had a pretty poor lock and would turn on in my pocket quite regularly).
If you're really bothered about super efficient OS and navigation, this may not be the device for you, but if you're more bothered about the sound options and actual function of the player, it's great.
Very impressed also by the lightness of the device, barely feels like there's anything there. Bought as a box-opened bargain for a reduced price, I'm extremely happy with this purchase.
Also worth mentioning that the customer service provided by this site was prompt, polite and effective, so satisfied all round!
5 of 5 Stars!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
David Hartley
Date Added: Friday 08 August, 2014
5 of 5 Stars!
Fantastic product. Had an iaudio 7 for years and that was excellent but when I dropped it I needed a new one so bought the iaudio 9+. It was so easy to load with all my wav. files using Windows media player. I wanted a player that would play then as ...Read morewav. and not change then to another format. The player itself works very easily. The sound I must say is perfect and so easy to adjust. Very very happy with it.
5 of 5 Stars!
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Jim Grant
Date Added: Wednesday 18 June, 2014
1 of 5 Stars!
Disappointing. Player failed within 5 days (would not switch on) replacement on way. Let's see what second time around does!


AMP3 RESPONSE

We're sorry to hear about the trouble you're experiencing with your product and would like to apologise...Read more for any inconvenience caused. We will do our very best to provide you with a replacement product as soon as possible.
1 of 5 Stars!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Andrew Maxwell
Date Added: Saturday 07 June, 2014
3 of 5 Stars!
I currently have an Ipod touch 2g that I use only for music and it's getting a little old. So I would like to replace it with a device that improves on the sound quality. So I thought I would give the Cowon a try having read all the rave reviews. Her...Read moree's what I found.

*Sound Quality Part 1*

The detail levels of the Cowon i9+ are vastly superior to the IPod Touch 2g and it shines a light on information in your music that you may never have heard before. If you want out and out clarity and detail and a very wide soundstage then this gives it in spades. See my review on the sound quality below though before parting with your cash.

*Interface*

It's great. Don't worry too much about the negative reviews of this, you'll get used to it quickly and it is very easy to get around. Also the touch panel is very intuitive and sensitive enough to use easily. I like this very much.

*Build*

It's a very slight player that I felt may slip out of my hand easily (I have medium size paws). This wasn't a negative so much as I felt I would need a silicon case for it especially as it is quite plasticky, perhaps it would break easily if dropped. Other than the plastic feeling it did seem very well built, very solid.

So that's the positive's, what about the negatives?

*Sound Quality Part 2*

Although there is a huge amount of detail and a very wide soundstage this comes with IMHO a scratchy harshness to the music which is slightly distracting. There's also oozingly overly warm bass and these issues still don't quite go away even when you adjust the EQ and sound settings.
It adds up to an overall sound where the top and bottom ends distract me from the music and a soundstage that feels like there is plenty to the left and right of you but nothing in the middle. Quite strange! So, to me. it's not a friendly, smooth and organic sound and although impressed with the detail I didn't enjoy the listen. The quality of the iPod 2g is not as good, being more muddy, but it is a more pleasurable relaxed listen.

*Battery*

Battery life is short, I would be using this at work on a daily basis and using this fairly solidly from 10am - 3pm and it was on its last bar of charge having been fully charged that morning! So in short, if you use this at work all day you will need to plug it in using the proprietry usb cable.

*File Types*

A good mix of file types, but it doesn't play AAC or ALAC (which I didn't note before hand). No problem though I can convert them to WAV and FLAC, but what the player doesn't do is warn you if the file you want to listen to is too hi-res/high qualty for the player to play. It just grinds to a halt and you have to reset it using a paperclip (oh and the player's back starts getting warm as it figures out what's wrong)!

*Sleep*

It turns itself off very quickly. If you have to pause it for any more than a couple of minutes you will need to turn it back on. You can leave the display turned on which slightly helps with this but doesn't solve it. And as rebooting the machine takes 5-10 seconds if you are being interrupted frequently this can get frustrating.[I couldn't find a setting to change this].

And...afer turning it back on, the music doesn't start from where you left off. It starts at the beginning of the song, not the exact position.

*Cost*

I find it difficult to recommend this player on the basis of cost. I have read a few quality reviews that have said the sound is as good as a smaller but thicker, Sansa Clip. That is a 35 player. Hmm. The Cowon has a better build quality and menu system, but still..

Summary:

In some ways it's a lovely little player, small, light, good to use and bags of detail. But sound wise I find my experience to be noticably at odds with most people's reviews. So perhaps you should experience the player for yourself and see what you think. Ultimately if you want a step up in sound quality and clarity from, say, an ipod touch 2g this is definitly worth a listen, it IS an improvement. If you like what it offers...
3 of 5 Stars!
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful:
Martin Hadland
Date Added: Tuesday 22 April, 2014
5 of 5 Stars!
This is without doubt a fantastic sounding player and is terrific value for money,

The sound quality easily beats the Apple products and is also better than my Sony mp3, which I had previously thought was about as good as it gets . It has endless ...Read moretweaks available to customise the sound to your personal preference.

When paired with my Sound Magic E10 earbuds it produces a wide soundstage with very good separation of instruments.

The start up guide is next to useless but this can easily be overcome by downloading the user manual
from the Cowon website.

The user itnerface is a little tricky and baffling but the user manual deals with this well , After a week or so I can navigate it pretty easily.
5 of 5 Stars!
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Ian Lee
Date Added: Friday 21 February, 2014
5 of 5 Stars!
I have had my COWON i9 for a couple of weeks now. I'm not exactly in love with it, but |I'm very fond of it. It's a great little MP3 player and has the massive advantage of not being an Apple product.

I admit that I found the controls initially d...Read moreifficult and the quick start advice was useless. And the on-line instructions were honestly not brilliant. However, now that it is set up and I only use very few controls, it is really excellent though I was disappointed that COWON have their own USB plug that seems to be unique. WHY???The sound is really excellent.

I am very please with the i9 and am particularly pleased with my interaction with Advanced MP3 as a company who are very helpful and pleasant.
5 of 5 Stars!
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Noel Aandrews
Date Added: Tuesday 19 November, 2013
5 of 5 Stars!
Bought the i9 because my iaudio 7 is full up. Whereas the 7 is built like a tank (apart from the usb cover) the i9 appears to be quite fragile - especially the usb cover. .Having used the 7 makes using the various controls and folders on the i9 quite...Read more easy as the two players are very similar in this respect. I do not use any of the many sound tweaking controls and I rip my CDs (mostly classical) to flac. I like the i9 very much and I think the sound, with a decent pair of headphones, is slightly better than the 7. Pity they don't make a 64Gb version. I haven't tried the speaker and don't see any point in having one. I think the screen and radio in the i9 are better than the 7. Where the 7 does beat the i9 is with its buttons along the top which you press to changes a screen or the volume. The same buttons on the i9 which you press along the sides are not as good or as easy to see. So, I would recommend the i9 to anyone looking for a player with a very good sound. A free pair of reasonable looking headphones came with the i9 but I haven't used them yet.
5 of 5 Stars!
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
warren camm
Date Added: Tuesday 29 October, 2013
5 of 5 Stars!
cowon i9+
a great mp3 player easy to use straight out of the box sound is awesome i read in reviews that the iu was difficult to use i found this to be wrong and have no problem accessing all menus equalizer offers wide range with a little queaking...Read more set some great sounds a couple of the pre set setting i am yet to find a use for (all of the reverb) all in all i am extemely pleased with this player and would recommend it to anyone
5 of 5 Stars!
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Alex Shenfield
Date Added: Friday 06 September, 2013
5 of 5 Stars!
A fantastic little mp3 player! Just a touch smaller than my wife's ipod nano 5g, but with 32 GB of storage and no dependency on iTunes. This little player sounds absolutely superb - especially when paired with a decent set of headphones. I was a bit ...Read moreworried about the user interface (having read reviews about Cowon UIs on the internet ...) but the UI is great. However, the inbuilt speaker is a bit of a waste of space (I fail to see the point, unless it is to annoy the other people on the bus / train).

I would not hesitate to recommend to anyone!
5 of 5 Stars!
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Discount coupons

  • Save 5% off Final IEMs!

    Save 5% off Final IEMs!

    CODE: FINAL19

Awards