0 items
AT Cashback Banner
Categories

Cowon Plenue D (PD) High Resolution 32GB Music Player with microSD Expansion Slot

Cowon Plenue D (PD) High Resolution 32GB Music Player with microSD Expansion Slot
  • Cowon Plenue D (PD) High Resolution 32GB Music Player with microSD Expansion Slot
  • Cowon Plenue D (PD) High Resolution 32GB Music Player with micro
  • Cowon Plenue D (PD) High Resolution 32GB Music Player with micro
  • Cowon Plenue D (PD) High Resolution 32GB Music Player with micro
  • Cowon Plenue D (PD) High Resolution 32GB Music Player with micro
  • Cowon Plenue D (PD) High Resolution 32GB Music Player with micro
  • Cowon Plenue D (PD) High Resolution 32GB Music Player with micro

Cowon Plenue D (PD) High Resolution 32GB Music Player with microSD Expansion Slot

£199.00
Seen this product cheaper? We'll try and beat the price. Click here.
Free Delivery via Supersaver 2 - 4 working days
Share with HUKD

Customers Reviews

Average customers review
5 of 5 Stars! (38 customer reviews)

Denise Swanson
Date Added: Monday 20 June, 2016
5 of 5 Stars!
Delighted with the Plenue D which I've had for about 2 weeks. After my iPod classic died, I'd been using iPhones for music and despite the 6+ sounding pretty good stacked with an Oppo HA-2 portable DAC/Amp, it was a bit too cumbersome for pocket use ...Read moreand I quickly filled it with Hi-Res FLAC files. Bought the Plenue D after much deliberation and after trying out and returning the Sony's. I love the battery life, extendable memory and form factor of the Cowon but most important, the sound quality is superb - the detail in hi-res files really shines when paired with RHA MA750i IEM.s. The real treat however was when using with the Oppo amp and Grado 825e full size headphones - the sound is absolutely amazing, like you are sitting next to the musicians. Thoroughly pleased with this purchase..
5 of 5 Stars!
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Marc Helder
Date Added: Wednesday 08 June, 2016
4 of 5 Stars!
I am very happy with the Cowon Plenue D, the sound is amazing even with mp3 files and a simple headset. I haven't tested it yet with my Shure SE846 as they are being repaired but very happy with the sound already. I really like the simple operating m...Read moreenus in contrast to some of the Android audio players and the long battery life.
Just two point of critic, the REV and FF hard buttons are annoyingly reversed and I would have liked it if the player to have been a little bit thinner.
4 of 5 Stars!
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
Julian Wathen
Date Added: Wednesday 01 June, 2016
5 of 5 Stars!
Hi, just bought a Cowon Plenue D (silver) from Advance MP3. I had a Cowon J3 for four years and it was a great player: good sound quality, small and light and with a long battery life. Sadly, the on/off switch failed and although AMP3 quoted for a re...Read morepair I felt an upgrade was justified. I looked at the competition, but the Plenue D (PD) ticked all the boxes: dedicated player, hi-res, small and light, micro SD slot, long battery life and no proprietary software or cable (windows drag and drop and micro USB). In terms of myself, I listen mostly to classical music, but other types too, and the quality of sound is important to me.

The PD is a step up from my J3: better sound quality, easier user interface and better battery life. It is a tactile object and has a premium build. The screen is fine for its purpose and is reasonably responsive even with a screen protector. The sound quality is fantastic, a step up from my J3 under similar listening conditions. However, context is required. For the J3 I recorded my CD collection in MP3 format, whereas for the DP I have re-recorded every CD in FLAC, which may account for the difference notwithstanding that I have read reviews by experts arguing that the listener cannot detect the difference in sound quality and other experts arguing that they can. Confusing! Anyway, in my car (upgraded speakers) I have noticed a small difference. At home there is a greater difference. This may be due to the fact that with the J3 I used Bluetooth to connect to the speaker, which with MP3 did not optimise the quality of the J3. The PD has no Bluetooth so I have connected to the same quality Sony speaker via a lead and the sound quality improvement is very noticeable. The sound quality via my Bose Comfort headphones is also fantastic. There is plenty of power to drive home and car speakers and ear and headphones. In sum, to my ear, there just seems to be a clarity about every note, high and low, that I have not heard before.

Turning to software, I was not familiar with FLAC recording so after research I downloaded Express Rip software, which is very easy to use and finds all the meta data. For some of my recordings the titles were in Cyrillic, but it was easy to rename tracks. Having recorded CDs in FLAC to my PC windows music folder I then simply dragged and dropped each album into the music folder of the PD.

Finally, I also bought a pair of SoundMAGIC E80 in-earphones, which I wanted for everyday commuting rather than using the Bose. I have submitted a separate review for them.

All in all, I highly recommend Advanced MP3, who took two long calls from me to help with the decisions on the player and the earphones, the PD for its fantastic sound quality and the E80 for their sound quality at this price point. Hope that helps.
5 of 5 Stars!
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful:
MARTC
Date Added: Wednesday 25 May, 2016
5 of 5 Stars!
Got the Plenue D to replace an iPod classic and the sound from the Plenue is far superior (also don't need an external amp), battery life is great. Only 1 minor gripe and that is you can only make a maximum of 10 playlists.
5 of 5 Stars!
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
Ari Nordström
Date Added: Wednesday 27 April, 2016
5 of 5 Stars!
I bought the Plenue D to replace my aging Cowon J3. I travel a lot and so need good quality sound and a long battery life. There was no way I could buy a Fiio--the ~10 hr playing time just isn't enough--so when I spotted the Plenue D, it seemed like ...Read moreexactly what I was looking for.

I have to say, it exceeded all my expectations. The battery life is even better than the J3's (mixing older MP3s and hi-def FLACs), and the sound quality is simply amazing. Also, it drives my AKG-712 cans at home with ease, even though adding a headphone amp will improve the sound noticeably.

About the only problems I've noticed with the Plenue D is a software bug that can cause some stutter when switching between high-def files, plus a slight lag with the UI. I'm hoping a future firmware revision will take care of both.
5 of 5 Stars!
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
Winfried Tilanus
Date Added: Tuesday 19 April, 2016
5 of 5 Stars!
I live in the Netherlands and travel quite a lot by public transportation. I was looking for a music player because I was fed-up with the bad sound quality of my phone and I didn't want to worry about draining my phone memory by listening music. I ch...Read moreoose the Cowon Plenue D because it promised to combine small size with good battery life and good sound. AMP3 made a good offer and shipped it without problem to the Netherlands.

The Plenue D exceeded all my expectations. I prepared a 128GB micro-SD card for it, formatting it FAT32, and topped it of with FLAC files. The player handles such amounts of files effortless. Only free search through all files may take little time. Connecting it to a computer is straight forward: it acts as a mass storage device. If you press it 'on' while connected to a computer it also shows the SD-card as storage device on the computer. Works everywhere, no additional software needed, no privacy issues. The user interface works easy and intuitive, I only could not find settings at first, until I discovered they are only accessible from the screen that is shown when you play music.

The player is build well, all metal finish. I already dropped it once and, though it is no guarantee for the next time, it didn't suffer at all from its drop. It is small, it fits easily in my pocket. Despite its small size, its battery life is superb. Even after several days with multi-hours of train it still didn't use more then 10% of its battery capacity.

The sound is excellent. This is the first device I use that is capable of driving my Sennheiser MX-980 earbuds to their full capacity and that is able to show their shortcomings. The sound is open, punchy clear and full of detail. With the Plenue D the MX-980 has more detail and punch in the base then I have ever heard before. But with the Plenue also the biggest shortcoming of the MX-980 becomes very audible: the MX-980 lack base, certainly at low volume levels. Though I am not a big fan of sound processing, I prefer combinations that are balanced from their own, I tried to compensate the lack of base of the MX-980 with the equalizer of the Plenue D. That worked remarkably well, the quality of the sound processing of the Plenue D is able to compensate without any audible side effects. I also tested the Plenue D with my daughters Beats Studio headphone, but that headphone is clearly no match for the Plenue D at all. The Plenue D drives it effortless, but the headphone lack detail and openness to show only a fraction of what the Plenue D is capable of.

The Plenue D is a very practical, very good sounding player. And now I want a new headphone...
5 of 5 Stars!
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Sue Devine
Date Added: Saturday 02 April, 2016
5 of 5 Stars!
I bought this MP3 player because I have hearing loss which means that cheap ones often don't have enough volume. My hearing loss is in the mid tones so the Plenue D is fantastic for me; I have been able to set the equalizer exactly right for me - wit...Read moreh the mid frequencies turned up. Speech is crystal clear and music sounds beautiful. It is very easy to use - very intuitive and uncomplicated. I am very pleased with this little gadget and got it cheaper by buying a box-opened one. Ordering and customer service were faultless. Very happy overall.
5 of 5 Stars!
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
Michael Walton
Date Added: Friday 01 April, 2016
5 of 5 Stars!
Very pleased with my new Plenue D. Owned it for a week now and enjoy getting used to it including choosing a good EQ setting for my wide ranging MP3 and AAC/ALAC files. I listen on the following settings : headphone 3 ( strong bass ) and ‘rock’ and ‘...Read moreclassical’. To my untrained ears, the player (through B&O H6 headphones) Plenue D is a significant step up in sound quality, for example music sounds more energetic and has a wider landscape in my opinion. Quite a smooth and deep, almost creamy ( or a bit 'dark') sound while remaining detailed. The Plenue even plays my old recordings much better than say my old i pod touch or Fiio X3 . Limited comparisons to other more expensive DAPs confirmed that I prefer the Plenue to other players, although I realise that my opinion is more a matter of personal taste than science. I do not have many high resolution tracks, and even allowing for my limited experience, classical music sound much more hi-fi and engaging. The file navigation is a bit limited, but I prefer shuffle mode anyway.
I cannot add any more than previously stated in the previous reviews here, but would definitely agree that service received from AMP3 was very good. Recommended.
5 of 5 Stars!
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Alex MacKinnon
Date Added: Wednesday 23 March, 2016
5 of 5 Stars!
Having tried and tested quite a number of high resolution DAPs, I settled on the Cowon Plenue 1. It really is a superb high quality player and I have been using it for a while now. It's one of the best if not 'the' best player on the market. Love tha...Read moret warm, intricate, well balanced analogue sound and coupled with superb build quality, it is really perfect apart from the one downside, the 10 hour approx battery life before you have to recharge. I will not be parting with my Plenue 1 but if you do a lot of travelling, it does need charging pretty often.
Then this little baby came along, the Plenue D - awesome! What can I say, it's like a mini Plenue I, at less than a third of the price. More portable due to tiny size, pure 24bit/192kHz HD Sound, Jet 5 versus the Plenue 1's 7 and again that superbly detailed warm analogue sound. But the real benefit is the 51 -100 hours playback time depending on the music file format. At the price it's a bargain! Inbuilt storage only 32GB but will take a 128GB microsd card. Remember to format to Fat32 using a formatting tool to get the Plenue D to recognise the card- guiformat works a treat.
Just bought a SanDisk 200GB microsd card and using Windows 7 format tool formatted it to NTFS, then using guiformat formatted it to FAT32 with allocation unit size 32768. . Result 200GB microsd card is recognised by the player and works a treat. Of course you only get about 183GB of usable storage but you now have a 200GB + portable DAP that can go in a shirt breast pocket, lasts up to 100 hours between charges, nearly as awesome sound quality as the Plenue 1 and hey is less than £200 from AMP3. Trust me it's a winner!
Also like to make a plug for the AMP3 sales service and technical support if you have a question-sound service all round!
5 of 5 Stars!
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful:
Peter Shaddick
Date Added: Sunday 20 March, 2016
5 of 5 Stars!
I've had a couple of Cowons before and really like the sound generated, so much better than an iPod. Treated myself to a new one as the battery life, or lack of it, was a real pain on the i10. No such problems on the Plenue D and the sound is fantast...Read moreic. Make sure you go into the sound setting to get it set up right for you. So easy to use and charging is much better as you don't need a specific Cowon lead, actually charges on the same cable as my phone so very handy! Storage capacity is great too, and it's just drag and drop or synch through Media Player. So easy. Highly recommend to anyone who wants a great sounding, easy to use, good looking and long lasting piece of kit.
5 of 5 Stars!
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Micheal M
Date Added: Thursday 03 March, 2016
5 of 5 Stars!
Great little player sound wise, the look is nice and neat and with the theme has an old style about it which I like, nice weight as well.

Down loaded loads of online free FLAC tunes which sound crisp as well as MP3, very good sound options make su...Read morere you familiar yourself with the different options to really gain the most from the Plenue.

Powers my Grado SR80e without an amp, Cowon power is not new to me I have owned another Cowon product for over six years now very powerful and its still retaining battery.
5 of 5 Stars!
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
Dave Winterborne
Date Added: Wednesday 10 February, 2016
5 of 5 Stars!
Usual great service from Amp3, Plenue D arrived within a few days of arrival in stock. Another great mp3 player from Cowan, well built, good and thoughtful user friendly menu and exterior button layout. Easy firmware update, easy to read and understa...Read morend instructions. Usual outstanding sound quality, don't forget to get the best out of it you need quality ear buds or over ears. Great to see micro USB connector back, instead of propriotory connector like on my J3 Only downside, its not bluetooth. Highly reccomended
5 of 5 Stars!
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful:

What do customers choose?

Discount coupons

  • Save 5% off Final IEMs!

    Save 5% off Final IEMs!

    CODE: FINAL19

Awards