Follow us on Twitter Become a Fan on Facebook Watch AMP3 TV on YouTube Read the latest news on Blogger
Buyers Guides
AMP3 Sleepovers

AMP3 Press Reviews

Displaying 1 to 20 (of 75 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  Next > 

CordCruncher Earbud Headphones - Elastic Sleeve For No Tangles

Geek News Central
Geek News Central 'After using the CordCrunchers for a week or two, I can confirm that they actually work and tangled cords are a thing of the past. I carried these round in my sports bag during testing and I never had a single tangle.' Geek News CentralFull Review
Date Added: Monday 04 November, 2013

Fiio X3 8GB Audiophile Digital Music Player

The Journal
The Journal 'All things considered, the FiiO X3 [...] for music enthusiasts, it's the cream of the crop.' The JournalFull Review
Date Added: Monday 14 October, 2013

SoundMagic E10 In-Ear Earphones

Expert Reviews (RATED: 5/5)
Expert Reviews "SoundMAGIC's very snazzy-looking E10 earphones aren't outside the budget of most listeners, but look and sound as good as many more expensive sets."Full Review
Date Added: Friday 30 August, 2013
RATED: 5/5

SoundMagic E10 In-Ear Earphones

Trusted Reviews (RATED: 8/10)
Trusted Reviews “Simply one of the best budget pairs of earphones in the world, The SoundMagic E10 offer balanced, punchy sound with strong bass that doesn't boom or bloat out like many low-cost earphones.”Full Review
Date Added: Friday 30 August, 2013
RATED: 8/10

SoundMagic E10 In-Ear Earphones

Know Your Mobile (RATED: 4.5/5)
Know Your Mobile "Overall we love these headphones. The price is right, the sound is great and the build quality is second-to-none. What more could you want?"Full Review
Date Added: Friday 30 August, 2013
RATED: 4.5/5

iRiver IBA-50 Wireless Bluetooth Speaker

Daily Record (RATED: 4/5)
Daily Record 'Perfectly portable and up-to 8-hours battery life the IBA-50 speaker is an essential for your day-trip to the beach or long weekend away camping, it is also subtle and powerful enough to fill any room in the house with crystal clear sound.' Daily RecordFull Review
Date Added: Thursday 27 June, 2013
RATED: 4/5

Damson Oyster Portable 3D Bluetooth Speaker

The Scotsman
The Scotsman 'Apart from the viscious volume, the four speakers include Wave Field Synthesis 3D Sound, virtual surround sound that did an admirable job of orbiting chimes around my head.' The ScotlsmanFull Review
Date Added: Monday 20 May, 2013

FiiO E17 Portable Headphone Amplifier with USB Digital Audio Converter (DAC)

Sound + Vision
Sound + Vision 'Resembing an iPod by way of Darth Vader, the black anodized, aluminum-bodied E17 offers a host of tools for bettering your on-the-go audio experience at a near-unbeatable price point.' Sound + VisionFull Review
Date Added: Wednesday 06 February, 2013

Grado GR10 In-Ear Headphones

Esquire
Esquire 'They’re purposely small to ensure a solid air seal, something that really brings the bass to the fore, with an amazing level of detail at both the low and high-end.' EsquireFull Review
Date Added: Tuesday 06 November, 2012

SoundMagic E10 In-Ear Earphones

Esquire
Esquire 'The treble is crisp, vocals sparkle and the punchiness of the bass is particularly evident when listening to dance music.' EsquireFull Review
Date Added: Tuesday 06 November, 2012

SoundMagic E10 In-Ear Earphones

Stuff Awards 2012
Stuff Awards 2012 Nominated as Best Audio Gadget at the Stuff Magazine Awards 2012.Full Review
Date Added: Monday 05 November, 2012

Cowon iAudio X9 Super Player 16GB MP3 Portable Media Player With 110 Hours Battery Life

Custom PC
Custom PC 'The sound quality on offer is excellent too, thanks to the infinitely tweakable JetEffect5 engine.' Custom PC
Date Added: Friday 19 October, 2012

Cowon iAudio X9 Super Player 16GB MP3 Portable Media Player With 110 Hours Battery Life

Engadget
Engadget 'Although good sound quality is typically Cowon's calling card, the X9 also serves up a healthy helping of battery life with the company claiming up to 110 hours of music playback.' EngadgetFull Review
Date Added: Wednesday 22 August, 2012

Cowon iAudio X9 Super Player 16GB MP3 Portable Media Player With 110 Hours Battery Life

CNET
CNET 'the X9 is a candidate for the serious traveller or casual nomad to consider.' CNETFull Review
Date Added: Wednesday 22 August, 2012

FiiO E17 Portable Headphone Amplifier with USB Digital Audio Converter (DAC)

Amp3 Staff Review
Amp3 Staff Review 'The Fiio E17 on the whole looks absolutely gorgeous with its black metal casing and well laid out buttons and I can certainly see it complimenting most modern day computers and players.' Elliot, Amp3Full Review
Date Added: Wednesday 25 July, 2012

FiiO E17 Portable Headphone Amplifier with USB Digital Audio Converter (DAC)

Trusted Reviews (RATED: 9/10)
Trusted Reviews 'Powerful, portable and with an unmistakeably positive effect on the sound of slightly harder-to-drive headphones and the poor-quality output of some computers, the Fiio E17's worth is indisputable.' Trusted ReviewsFull Review
Date Added: Tuesday 24 July, 2012
RATED: 9/10

FiiO E06 Portable Headphone Amplifier

Geek News Central
Geek News Central 'It might have a budget price but the E6 punches above its weight, counteracting the tinniness of digitally compressed sound with depth and feeling.' Geek News CentralFull Review
Date Added: Monday 02 July, 2012

FiiO E17 Portable Headphone Amplifier with USB Digital Audio Converter (DAC)

engadget
engadget 'The E17 looks very much like an exquisite MP3 player with its luxurious brushed metal finish, crisp LED display and tactile buttons.' engadgetFull Review
Date Added: Friday 11 May, 2012

FiiO E17 Portable Headphone Amplifier with USB Digital Audio Converter (DAC)

Sound + Vision
Sound + Vision ' Operation is quiet, even with sensitive IEMs (we used models from Westone, Shure, and ACS), and the unit lets you make use of headphones that otherwise might not be portable. Beyond that, the E17 offers about the deepest feature set I've yet seen in a portable DAC. Within the easy-to-navigate menus you'll find a three-position gain switch (offering 0, +6, and + 12 dB). A simple EQ is offered, with bass and treble controls, along with a balance control (and often-requested feature among listeners who don't have perfect hearing, and a welcome addition here). There's also a maximum volume limiter, and a sleep timer too. A front panel input switch lets you toggle between inputs (more in a second on that), while a hold switch keeps you from pocket-dialing some combination of features you'd rather avoid. The user interface is quite nice (especially for a feature-packed small manufacturer product like this; many of the lower cost Chinese designs I've run across have really skimped on usability). The little OLED screen alerts you clearly to which input is live (and tells you sample rate and lock status in USB mode), while the LED indicator ring surrounding the power button glows blue while in use, red when charging, and a combo of both when doing both (as when you're connected over USB). There's even a reset switch, should you crash (I never managed to), and another to toggle the analog outputs between fixed line and variable-level preamp operation. It's all clearly enough laid out that I never had to resort to the manual. The up and down buttons for volume control, however, just aren't to my taste; I really found myself wishing for an analog pot or rotary encoder instead. But considering how much functionality FiiO have packed into this little box at the ridiculously low price point, an omission like this is understandable. Most interestingly, the E17 includes S/PDIF inputs via a combo jack that accepts both optical and coaxial connections (adapters for both are included in the box; you just need to supply your own cables). While USB decoding is limited to 24/96, over S/PDIF the E17 will accept incoming streams at up to 24/192 — certainly high enough for most mortals, and possibly Neil Young too. An 1/8-in minijack accepts an analog input if you want to use the E17 simply as a headphone amp, and a dock connector lets you pair the device with FiiO's E9 desktop amp (and also provides an analog line out if you want to interface with external analog audio devices but don't feel like picking up the E9; that particular mini-dock — known as the L7 — will run you 10 bucks). The E17 does a lot in a tiny package. And where it isn't quite up to snuff, the E9 can fill in the gaps. The price for all of this performance? The E17's battery life, which is down to a claimed 15 hours, a significant cutback when compared to the E7's 80-hour lifespan. That said, unless I'm on the road, in practice I find myself charging my devices each evening or at some point during the day, and so long as I didn't leave it running I got several days of ordinary play (primarily on subway commutes) out of the combo of the E17 and my aging iPod (a 30 GB Photo model from a few generations back). But that's all fine given the E17's dual identity as a portable companion. Enjoy it on your commute, then take it home and pair it up with the desktop E9 for serious listening sessions. The E9 is a similarly capable headphone amp (though it's an amp only — there's a USB input, but it's merely a repeater for the E17's own), with a host of options. You'll find a big, comfy volume pot on the front panel, straddled by both 1/8-inch and 1/4-inch headphone output jacks (though we're guessing this'll primarily be used with full-sized phones in any case). Around back, alongside the USB input, there's a two-position gain switch, and auxiliary input on 1/8-inch jack, a fixed-level output on stereo RCA jacks, and a variable-level preamp output on a 1/8-inch minijack. The E9 charges the E17 as it plays, so it makes a nice little "dock" for it's portable partner. What the E9 adds on the desktop is the ability to drive current-hungry high-impedance headphones easily, and the E9/E17 pair sounds great with appropriate headphones, very much in line with the sound of my usual budget reference combo, the Musical Fidelity V-DAC II DAC and V-Can headphone amp. Output impedance is a bit high — 10 Ohms on the 1/4-inch jack, 43 Ohms on the 1/8-inch jack — but there's plenty of power on tap here (and given that the target headphones for this thing are likely to have fairly high impedances), you'll probably do OK with it's full watt of output power into a 16 Ohm load (for comparison, the E17 alone will put 250 mW into a similar load). Still, if you have full-sized headphones that don't have particularly flat impedance across the frequency spectrum, you may want to try before you buy. The pair of Sennheiser HD-650s we tested the E9 with, however, was very well served, even in the low-gain position — everything we threw at it, from the Tor Espn Aspaas recording of Beethoven's Piano Sonata No. 32 in C minor Op. 111 (from Mirror Canon, on 24/96 FLAC); to Roxy Music's "Take a Chance With Me" from Avalon, as a 16/44.1 FLAC; to Miles Davis' "In a Silent Way/It's About That Time" on 24/96 FLAC; to the track "Alpen" from the new Oval album, Oval DNA (as a 320 kbps MP3) sounded full and rich, with plenty of volume well before the output knob hit 10 o'clock, and without unusual bumps in response. For $139, this little thing does a great job in this application. The question is, do you really need the E9 at all if you get an E17? If you have a quality set of high-impedance phones for home listening, and prefer something else (like a set of quality IEMs) for out-and-about, you might well want to invest — it's only another $139, mind you. The E17 on its own has 1-Ohm output impedance, and plenty of horsepower for in-ears or portables, but it couldn't quite get our test HD-650s into the comfort zone (though they were plenty listenable, far more so than when driven with the iPod alone). With both devices, and a couple of pairs of nice headphones to drive for different situations, it makes sense. If you don't have difficult-to-drive cans to drive, you might be better off sticking with the E17 on its own — you won't be disappointed. The E17 does so much, and offers so much connectivity, at such an affordable price, it's something of a no-brainier if you have a need for a portable DAC/headphone amp that'll decode high-rez files. ‹‹ PREV 1 2 3 4 NEXT ›› RELATED TAGS: ACCESSORIES, ACCESSORIES, ACCESSORIES, ALPHA DESIGN LABS, DAC, FIIO, FURUTECH, HEADPHONE AMPLIFIERS, USB Comments from jcaplan on 05.04.12 at 12:21PM I was hoping you could tell me where you bought: Tor Espn Aspaas recording of Beethoven's Piano Sonata No. 32 in C minor Op. 111 (from Mirror Canon, on 24/96 FLAC) and Miles Davis' "In a Silent Way/It's About That Time" on 24/96 FLAC. Cheers. from MBerk on 05.04.12 at 1:29PM The Tor Espn Aspaas recording is available from 2L (http://www.klicktrack.com/2l/releases/tor-espen-aspaas/). The Miles is a personal rip from vinyl, so far as I know it isn't available anywhere in that format. from jcaplan on 05.04.12 at 11:29PM Great. Thank you. Post a Comment (1500 Characters or less) CAPTCHA This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions. Type the two words: By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy. All submitted comments are subject to the license terms set forth in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use Most Popular Most ViewedMost CommentedMost Emailed Storm Corrosion Talk Vinyl BY MIKE METTLER Review: FiiO E17 and ADL Stride Portable Headphone Amplifiers BY MICHAEL BERK Home Theater Rollouts and Revamps from Yamaha and Denon BY MICHAEL BERK Blockbusters: The Most Anticipated Movies of Summer 2012 BY ERIC ALT Review: NAD Viso 1 Wireless Digital Music System BY BRENT BUTTERWORTH Stay Connected GET OUR NEWSLETTER JOIN US ON: Blogs CHOOSE A BLOG Tech^2 BY BRENT BUTTERWORTH AND GEOFFREY MORRISON Review: Datacolor Spyder 4TV HD Why I Hate Sharing My Picture Settings Beating A Dead Horse: Why Test Standard Definition Anymore? GraceNotes BY LESLIE SHAPIRO Review: Eton Rukus Solar Portable Bluetooth Speaker System Everything Big is Small Again: Nyne's New Docks Review: iFrogz Boost WideAngle BY AL GRIFFIN The Day S+V Met MCA Record Store Day 2012: The 78 Reemergent Up Close and Personal with the Samsung Smart TV Lineup' Sound + VisionFull Review
Date Added: Tuesday 08 May, 2012

FiiO E06 Portable Headphone Amplifier

Apps Magazine (RATED: 5/5)
Apps Magazine 'Gives an instantly noticeable boost to your music volume' Apps MagFull Review
Date Added: Thursday 26 April, 2012
RATED: 5/5
Displaying 1 to 20 (of 75 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  Next > 
Seen it cheaper? We'll try and beat the price - click here. Fast response!
Best Sellers
Video Reviews

AMP3 TV Check out the Hoodie Buddie!

Just in time for the Christmas freeze - grab a look at our great Hoodie with inbuilt earphones in the drawstring. Genius idea - have a closer look with AMP3 TV.

Suggest a product
Suggest a product

Have you seen a great product we should be stocking?