Follow us on Twitter Become a Fan on Facebook Watch AMP3 TV on YouTube Read the latest news on Blogger
X-Mini MAX II Capsule Speakers
  • X-Mini MAX II Capsule Speakers
  • X-Mini MAX II Capsule Speakers
  • X-Mini MAX II Capsule Speakers
  • X-Mini MAX II Capsule Speakers
  • X-Mini MAX II Capsule Speakers

X-Mini MAX II Capsule Speakers

£44.99 £19.99
Seen this product cheaper? We'll try and beat the price. Click here.


Free Delivery via Standard Delivery 3 - 4 working days

Often bought together

  • X-Mini MAX II Capsule Speakers

  • Price for all:£19.99

      • Colour:

    AMP3 TV video review
    Expert Advice
    Colin P

    Colin P

    (Technical Support)
    A fantastic accessory for any MP3 player when on the go, great sound for the size and a long battery life.
    5 of 5 Stars! - rated by 72 customers (72)
     
    X-Mini MAX II Capsule Speakers
     £44.99£19.99
    X-Mini MAX II Capsule Speakers
    Customer Review

    John boughton

    (26th September 2012)
    We boughtvour mini max II speakers from Dixonsc@ Luton airport, we used them with 2 pieces of tec, my Nokia 95 8GB mob phone & our i-pad they worked
    X-Mini MAX II Capsule Speakers
     £44.99£19.99
    X-Mini MAX II Capsule Speakers
    Suggest a product
    Suggest a product

    Have you seen a great product we should be stocking?

    Suggest it and we'll give you a £50 Gift Voucher!


    In the box

    • X-Mini Max II capsule speaker
    • USB charge cable
    • Carry pouch
    • Instructions

    Customers Reviews

    Average customers review
    5 of 5 Stars! (72 customer reviews)

    0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
    Steve Baldwin(Date Added: Tuesday 11 December, 2012)
    5 of 5 Stars!

    I bought these to complement my Cowon i9 during my travels in my motorcaravan.Size was as an important factor but not at the expense of sound quality. These speakers are just amazing for their size as the sound from them is crisp over the frequency range and good volume output.In my motorcaravan the volume level is sufficient to be considered loud but not to the level of annoyance to other campers.Those wanting boom box bass would be dissappointed but that said the bass is very good considering the size of these speakers.The fact that they can be charged by a cigarette lighter adaptor as with the Cowon i9, makes for flexibility whilst on the move. They do not take up room with limited storage space and will sit on a small shelf or the dashpanel during use in a campervan/motorcaravan. A must for the traveller and they don't break the bank balance.

    Wendy Davison(Date Added: Wednesday 21 November, 2012)
    5 of 5 Stars!

    Absolutely thrilled with these speakers! They look good and deliver a powerful clear sound, they are so light making them perfect for my requirements, which is mainly for use on holidays.

    We have had quite a few portable speakers and none have been anywhere near as good as these little bad boys! An added bonus is that I can recharge them from mains electricity using the charger I have for my MP3 player. I would certainly recommend them to anyone who is considering buying them.

    Patricia Henderson(Date Added: Friday 19 October, 2012)
    5 of 5 Stars!

    Absolutely delighted with these speakers. The sound is excellent, as per previous reviewer they do bounce a little if you have them at full volume but overall couldn't fault them. The battery life is really good and the size is perfect to carry about they are a really clever little gadget! Also had a fantastic deal with these, as they were only for me bought a box that had been opened at a very reduced price but they arrived and I wouldn't have known that it had been opened so really pleased all round.

    Mike Sanders(Date Added: Tuesday 02 October, 2012)
    4 of 5 Stars!

    Good sound with rich bass tones for such tiny speakers.... however tend to bounce around/distort if you turn to full volume.....

    John boughton(Date Added: Wednesday 26 September, 2012)
    5 of 5 Stars!

    We boughtvour mini max II speakers from Dixonsc@ Luton airport, we used them with 2 pieces of tec, my Nokia 95 8GB mob phone &
    our i-pad they worked brilliantly they delivered on every aspect, would not be with out them now! They are superb, as a retired Dj I'm critical when it comes to sound reproduction and its quality, it's money we'll spent as far as I'm concerned super super bits of kit, I have no problem recommending them to family and friends, we are going to buy another set so we can expand the experience
    Mini max makes your holiday complete
    Well done
    John

    Timothy Mckenzie(Date Added: Thursday 06 September, 2012)
    4 of 5 Stars!

    Purchase these on testing they were quite loud even when using them out side only draw back was the speaker seem to vibrator when on full volume. may get more and link them together.
    over all i am pleased with them i like the fact once charge up you get at lest 8 hrs of play time with out having to find a power source.

    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
    Ben Churchill(Date Added: Wednesday 04 July, 2012)
    4 of 5 Stars!

    They are fab looking speakers, but their only for quick basic portable sound and no match for dedicated monitors for your PC. I had the X-Mini rave II with the FM radio and that was a great little speaker, though I found it tinny sounding. It worked better with an EQ where I could calm the treble down and give it more mid range.
    The new Max II speakers seem to have improved the tinny sound with a calmer treble and better sounding mid range. Overall the quality is much improved and at 60% of max volume these little gems really work at their best, with good bass reproduction and sharper treble they are an improvement over my X-Mini Rave.
    The magnet that holds them together could be a little stronger but they work well enough.
    They are only 2.5w RMS and no louder than the Raves. However they do distort rather early compared to my Mini Rave II at the same volume. There is no volume control on the unit's them self's, instead it's on the USB lead. And it's properly cheap and dire, nearly ruins the use of them. Sends a loud crackle on the slightest touch. So it’s a case of set it at max and never touch it, instead use the volume from your music player or device.
    As a portable speaker that has a 'reasonable' amount of volume and quality they are just perfect and good value for money. I only paid £20 which made the negatives and cheap lead fade away. Battery life is great expect these to rock on all day. Has to be said everyone loves them and think they are just wicked.

    shahin mehraban(Date Added: Friday 15 June, 2012)
    5 of 5 Stars!

    very good speakers i wanted a minirig but they are £90.

    these are almost as good for 1/3 the price.

    very happy with my purchase

    Patsy Warn(Date Added: Tuesday 12 June, 2012)
    5 of 5 Stars!

    Delivery was speedy and the mini-speakers lived up to the excellent reviews. Very impressed.

    James Kennedy(Date Added: Wednesday 16 May, 2012)
    5 of 5 Stars!

    Great sound from a small package, incredible value. A must for travelling

    Martin Scivier(Date Added: Tuesday 01 May, 2012)
    5 of 5 Stars!

    Brilliant product. Superb sound quality for its size & very loud!

    Greg Payne(Date Added: Tuesday 28 February, 2012)
    5 of 5 Stars!

    Really pleased with these. The stereo separation is really nice, but I also like the fact you can play them in pod mode. The magnetic base works really well to allow you to easily join and separate the speakers and the sound quality really is good. I got these for listening to music on my phone in the kitchen and they do the job very nicely. USB rechargeable too!

    Stew Wilson(Date Added: Thursday 02 February, 2012)
    5 of 5 Stars!

    Produce a fantastic sound for the size—they can't work miracles, but still very useful to have and incredibly portable.

    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
    Helena Luis(Date Added: Friday 06 January, 2012)
    5 of 5 Stars!

    A brilliant Christmas buy for my boyfriend. Reasonably, priced, arrived on time and does what it says on the tin!

    Phil White(Date Added: Wednesday 31 August, 2011)
    5 of 5 Stars!

    Eventually bought these speakers instead of the x Mini II as I wanted stereo. So pleased I did, not exceptionally loud but great for what we wanted when camping to go with Cowon i9. Well designed, compact but open up to give a nice full sound, battery life very good and we recharge in the car with a double cigar lighter plug-in for the player and speakers, which meant we never ran out of music.

    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
    John Calderbank(Date Added: Thursday 07 July, 2011)
    5 of 5 Stars!

    These are pretty good.

    Not as amazing as some of the reviews may have you believing, but pretty good nonetheless, and if you need a pair of ultra-portable speakers, then these ARE worth the purchase price. Just don't expect 40mm drivers to bend the laws of physics, that's all! ;-)
    (To give you some background, I'm not a hi-fi nut but I do know good hi-fi when I hear it. I have Dynaudio speakers, Arcam CD player etc.)


    Some thoughts on the Pros and Cons of these pocket rockets:


    * CONS:

    - no volume control on the units - you must control volume using your mp3 player or headphone amp. However, the speakers do seem pretty evenly balanced, volume-wise, with each other, thankfully.

    - speaker cones are somewhat vulnerable whilst in your pocket/bag, in spite of the partial shielding.

    - music distortion increases as battery gets flatter - to be expected, I suppose, but it's important to understand, so you don't 'clip' the voice coils by leaving them running at high volume whilst the batteries are going flat. I'd like to see later versions incorporate a cut-off or a flashing LED warning if clipping is occurring / battery is going flat. Mordaunt Short did this 20 years ago with passive speakers so it surely can't be that hard to do it in these little active units, provided the designers are motivated to implement it.

    - I like to listen to music in the dark sometimes and the very bright LEDs are a nuisance in that regard (I've put blu-tack over my LEDs!)

    - If you own a Cowon J3, you're really going to need to buy a FiiO E5 (available here at amp3.co.uk) in order to push these speakers to what they're capable of. Obviously, these are tiny speakers so there's only just so far you can push them without overdriving them but I have a Cowon J3 and a Sony D-777 Discman and both sound great through these speakers, as one would expect, but the Sony is able to drive them WAAAY harder than the Cowon J3. Within the limits of their capabilities, the X-Mini MAX IIs deserve to be driven reasonably hard - in fact they cry out for it. I'd say, depending on the normalisation level of the track being played, the J3 generally only pushes these speakers to about 65% of what they're capable of, although that 65% is beautifully clear with a surprisingly decent soundstage. This isn't the fault of the X-minis, of course, but I'd rather tell you now so you can put a FiiO E5 in your shopping cart at the same time as the X-Minis and make the most of them from the outset.


    * PROS:

    - nice transparent sound

    - surprisingly respectable soundstaging - if you own a Cowon S9 or J3, the transparency and imaging of these speakers really responds to the 'BBE+ 3D Surround' function (Sting, Mary Black, Eva Cassidy, Alison Krauss & Union Station all sound superb, for example). You're going to like this, I promise!

    - good battery life

    - genuinely portable

    - nice design aesthetics

    - /SLIGHTLY/ nasal sound, only by virtue of lacking lots of low bass, BUT, that aside, these are generally rather neutral-sounding speakers, which is quite an achievement for this price band and for the volume levels to which their diminutive physical statures are driven.



    * WAYS IN WHICH THE NEXT VERSION COULD BE IMPROVED:

    provision of 'caps' to protect the speaker openings whilst in your pocket or bag (that or a permanent metal grill, but these might get dented)

    some way of switching off the rediculously bright LEDs

    the X-Mini MAX IIs utilise a 40mm driver. Since these show such promise, I'd really like to see the manufacturer do a version with larger drive units - say 70mm or so.

    some way of user-checking battery charge level, like the button on a Mac Powerbook battery (well, I can dream...)

    low battery / clipping warning of some sort - e.g. flashing LED



    Overall, these are worth the money and stack up well against any competing products in terms of physical portability, usability, design, sound output, and price point.

    I may even buy some more...

    jennifer nicholson(Date Added: Thursday 16 June, 2011)
    4 of 5 Stars!

    Quite good, but not as clear as the x-mini (small black spheres). So slightly disappointed as these were more expensive.

    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
    Andrew Codd(Date Added: Wednesday 13 April, 2011)
    5 of 5 Stars!

    Very clever design. They produce a clear and full sound at a sensible volume for potterng about. They worked fine for background music when I was working 1-3m from them in the garden but they won't compete with lots of other noise unless you are much closer.
    So great for personal listening where headphones are anti-social, awkward or unsafe but will not turn your mp3 into a Ghetto blaster.
    A larger unit based on this design concept would be fantastic.
    Very happy with them.

    1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
    David Crepaz-Keay(Date Added: Tuesday 15 February, 2011)
    5 of 5 Stars!

    Best mobile speakers I've had, sound excellent; battery life excellent; nice and compact; and, unlike most, you get decent stereo...

    Rohan Madison(Date Added: Monday 13 December, 2010)
    5 of 5 Stars!

    Brought a pair of these speakers, unfortunately one didn't work, wouldn't charge, sent it back and got a replacement and all was well. Am pleased with the sound!!

    Press Reviews

    Gadegtlite
    Gadegtlite "Overall, we were extremely impressed with both the X-mini II Capsule Speaker and the MAX II portable speaker. As you can see, the design and features Xmi have incoporated into their products all support and help enable its users to bring the most out of their audio experience. There were only very few limitations which we could think of and many stunning features which we found useful."     Full Review
    Date Added: Tuesday 20 April, 2010

    Gadget Venue Review
    Gadget Venue Review "I have to say I am surprised by how good they are vs how big they are. Each of the speakers houses a rechargeable battery charged by USB. If you take a laptop with you and want some good quality sound in the hotel or office etc… then for the price you can’t really go wrong with the X-Mini speakers. I’m struggling to think of any negatives at the moment as they do exactly what they say on the box… create loud sound."     Full Review
    Date Added: Tuesday 20 April, 2010

    ZDnet Review (Rated: 7.7/10)
    ZDnet Review "The X-Mini Max II Capsule Speaker offers an innovative, super-travel-friendly design with two modules that can be set apart for optimal stereo separation; sound quality is good; and the speakers are a good value."     Full Review
    Date Added: Tuesday 20 April, 2010
    Rated: 7.7/10

    cnet Review (Rated: 4.5/5)
    cnet Review "The X-Mini Max II Capsule Speaker offers an innovative, super-travel-friendly design with two modules that can be set apart for optimal stereo separation; sound quality is good; and the speakers are a good value."     Full Review
    Date Added: Tuesday 20 April, 2010
    Rated: 4.5/5


    What do you think?

    X-Mini MAX II Capsule Speakers

    Facebook

    What do customers choose?

    X-Mini MAX II Capsule Speakers
    87% choose this very product:
    X-Mini MAX II Capsule Speakers
    5 of 5 Stars! (72)
    £44.99 £19.99
    SoundScience QSB - 30W USB Desktop Speakers with NXT DyadUSB Technology Rated 5/5 by What HiFi
    2% buy:
    SoundScience QSB - 30W USB Desktop Speakers with NXT DyadUSB Technology Rated 5/5 by What HiFi
    5 of 5 Stars! (76)
    £109.00 £24.99
    JayBird Bluetooth Sportsband 2 Headphones
    2% buy:
    JayBird Bluetooth Sportsband 2 Headphones
    5 of 5 Stars! (26)
    £99.00 £64.99
    Line-in cable (stereo cable) (Male to Male)
    1% buy:
    Line-in cable (stereo cable) (Male to Male)
    5 of 5 Stars! (2)
    £3.91 £2.99