Follow us on Twitter Become a Fan on Facebook Watch AMP3 TV on YouTube Read the latest news on Blogger
Audioengine 2 Speaker System
  • Audioengine 2 Speaker System
  • Audioengine 2 Speaker System
  • Audioengine 2 Speaker System
  • Audioengine 2 Speaker System

Audioengine 2 Speaker System

£165.00 £109.00
Seen this product cheaper? We'll try and beat the price. Click here.

Product discontinued, click here for alternatives

Discontinued

We've got these great alternatives in stock:

Seen this product cheaper? We'll try and beat the price. Click here. £109.00£22.50
In Stock
Seen this product cheaper? We'll try and beat the price. Click here. £29.99
Low Stock
Seen this product cheaper? We'll try and beat the price. Click here. £3.91£2.99
In Stock
Seen this product cheaper? We'll try and beat the price. Click here. £44.99£19.99
In Stock

Customer Review

Dimitris

(4th June 2013)
Very happy with the purchase. They feel like a good solid product, great packaging and overall production value. I'm not any sound expert but the audio is
Audioengine 2 Speaker System
 £165.00£109.00
Audioengine 2 Speaker System
Suggest a product
Suggest a product

Have you seen a great product we should be stocking?

Suggest it and we'll give you a £50 Gift Voucher!


In the box

  • Power supply
  • Speaker cable (16AWG), 2 meters (~6.5 feet)
  • 1/8” mini-jack audio cable, 2 meters (~6.5 feet)
  • 1/8” mini-jack audio cable, 20cm (~8 inches)
  • Drawstring power supply bag
  • Drawstring cable bag
  • Drawstring speaker bag x 2
  • Setup Guide

Customers Reviews

Average customers review
5 of 5 Stars! (49 customer reviews)

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
John H(Date Added: Thursday 11 July, 2013)
5 of 5 Stars!

I read all the reviews of these speakers wasn't sure whether to but another Sonos Play 5 but I really wanted some hifi type speakers either side of my PC monitor. Well I can confirm all the positive reviews, great sound from my laptop, iPod touch and Sonos Connect (use the variable output so you can tweak the flat sounding eq settings). I'm using the Audioengine 2 speaker wedges after Elliot at Advanced MP3 Players helped me with a great deal. Ordered Sunday eve, delivered Tuesday with the free delivery option - superb service. High recommend the speakers and Advanced MP3 Players.

Dimitris(Date Added: Tuesday 04 June, 2013)
5 of 5 Stars!

Very happy with the purchase. They feel like a good solid product, great packaging and overall production value. I'm not any sound expert but the audio is pretty good too. Great speakers for my Raspberry Pi-powered AirPlay system.

Mansel Dinnis(Date Added: Wednesday 03 April, 2013)
5 of 5 Stars!

These are really good speakers. I bought them to plug into my Mac Mini and they are perfect. Excellent tone and loads of volume. The minimalistic design and small size is fantastic. As well as this Audioengine item being a great product, the service from Advanced MP3 Players was excellent. Prompt delivery and very efficient buying process.

Tony Mounsey(Date Added: Sunday 03 March, 2013)
5 of 5 Stars!

I listen to music while I work at my computer so I researched powered speakers. Not just computer sites but hfi sites. After extensive research, I concluded that the Audioengine 2 best met my requirements. These speakers are truly excellent with the right music. Dave Alvin's "Best Of The Hightone Years" was clear, detailed and tonally accurate. I noted some criticism of muddy sound and/or distortion by various buyers. These are minute speakers and as any hi-fi buff will tell you, you can't expect powerful bass from minute speakers. I am listening to El Camino by the Black Keys as I type. The drums lack the weight I get from my Soave 1 hi-fi speakers (driven by Quad amplification) in my hi-fi system. The bass guitar on Lonely Boy is well produced but the drums lack weight (as I expected). The speakers are highly recommended so long as you use them as computer speakers in a small room and don't play lots of bass heavy music (most modern dance/pop music). The replay has now reached Little Black Submarines - the drums sound very respectfully reproduced. I am growing to appreciate the qualities of the speakers the more I listen. El Camino was not very enjoyable on my Creative/Cambridge setup with Bass box (which was playing up).

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Hough(Date Added: Wednesday 07 March, 2012)
5 of 5 Stars!

Excellent purchase. I had read many reviews of these speakers before purchasing them, and the overall impression from the reviews was that the sound quality would be excellent. My only fear is that the overall sound would not be enough for our (typical sized) living room. I needed to harbour no such fear, the sound is more than adequate for a room this size, indeed we have never had need to play at full volume. We play our television/laptop/portable music players through these speakers. They have replaced our (average high street) music system completely. Really pleased with both quality and loudness of the sound.

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Dorian Ellis(Date Added: Tuesday 02 August, 2011)
5 of 5 Stars!

Really excellent option if you're looking for some compact yet powerful speakers - really good detail and impressive base for size. They of course have the added advantage of being active - i.e. they have their own built in amplifier so the source doesn't have to go through an amp first so you can plug your iPod straight in to the speakers. I have two pairs as part of my squeezebox network - highly recommended. Oh, and AdvancedMP3Players.com was the cheapest price I could find on the 'net.

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Mark Edwards(Date Added: Thursday 17 March, 2011)
5 of 5 Stars!

brilliant fantastic small great looking speaker.
great sound good bass
got mine to connect up to my squeeze box
take no notice that these are for a PC they can be used for anything
recommend

Rob Whittaker(Date Added: Tuesday 08 March, 2011)
5 of 5 Stars!

Looked around for ages before finally deciding on the A2's and am extremely pleased with my purchase. Great sound from such small speakers. Went for the gloss white and they look cool in the bedroom attached to the Sonos ZP90.
Also, excellent customer service from Advancemp3players. Speakers arrived within 24 hours of ordering them. Superb.
Would highly recommend both the A2's and Advancemp3players.

Mark Baker(Date Added: Thursday 02 December, 2010)
4 of 5 Stars!

These are fantastic speakers but.....I ended up returning them. The Bass was actually too overpowering when they're placed on your desk. No problem if you have some kind of graphic equaliser but this is not available on my Logitech squeezebox classic/squeezeserver.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Will Dawson(Date Added: Wednesday 29 September, 2010)
5 of 5 Stars!

Bought these to replace an aging behemoth of a stereo system I'd been running my PC through.. And wow, glad I did! The sound these tiny (in comparison to my old system) speakers make is like that of something two or three times their size! Bass is deep and smooth and trebles are high and crisp. Stylish gloss black units look excellent sat on a shelf above my computer, and they don't hiss or buzz when left on 24/7. They also come with everything you need to set them up.


Delivery and service was also excellent. Ordered at around noon, they were with no more than 11 hours later.


Fun times!

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Oliver Hazan(Date Added: Wednesday 04 August, 2010)
5 of 5 Stars!

Brilliant Buy!

I bought these speakers as my logitech ones died and I wanted an upgrade. These do not disappoint.

Firstly it's important to put these speakers in context, for PC speakers these are expensive but in terms of hi-end audio products these are dirt cheap.

As PC speakers these are blindingly good, not only is the sound much much clearer and richer than regular PC speakers the staging capabilities are great too. By that I mean the music has spatial position, for example when a centred sound is played it sounds as if it comes from my monitor not the 2 speakers. While many speakers will be able to produce the same amounts of bass and treble they just don't provide the same sonic experience as these do. The lack of a sub in my opinion is a good thing, it means the bass isn't coming from the floor ,and as such gives a truer sound. There is an extension available but these have plenty of bass to satisfy everyone but a hardcore German-techno fan.

Depending on what you use your speakers for, and your own ears you may want to add some eq, I have a very very gentle slope at the bass end of the eq on my sound card, this isn't really necessary but I find this helps eliminate the slight boominess that these speakers can produce under certain conditions.

On certain recordings the sound might not be absolutely perfect, either a tad too sharp or too boomy, but I really mean a tad, and a bit of EQ adjustment can usually sort it out, usually it is a problem with the record itself though, not the speakers themselves. I am being extremely picky here so don't let this put you off.

If you have an X-fi card it makes a good pairing. I recommend that you turn the crystalizer function off when listening to music, but on when gaming (i.e off in entertainment mode and on in game mode). It's quite a good function on cheap speakers because it helps bring out attack but these speakers don't need the adjustment and turning it on leads too unnaturally snappy sounding music, the only time you might want to turn it on for music is perhaps an older, less refined recording. The same applies to the CMSS settings, turning it on will ruin the stereo soundstaging in music but for games and films it works surprisingly well by creating virtual surround sound.

There are competitors, the m-audio av-40 and samson studiodock 3i to name a couple, I have no idea how they compare sonically, I've heard that the AV-40s are fantastic however for a desktop setting they look a tad big so you won't find anything else for this size and price and styling. If you have a massive desk or are using them for something else it might be worth giving the other models a look however.

Lastly get the rubber stands, it's incredible how much of a difference they make, they should really include them with the speakers.

Summary - a fantastic package miles ahead of regular PC speakers, bringing high quality audio to your desktop.

John Orr(Date Added: Tuesday 03 August, 2010)
5 of 5 Stars!

I can only concur with the other rave reviews on here. The sound is awesome from these small boxes. Not sure they'd fill a large room, but in my study they sound amazing. Very clear and with more than enough oomph if you want to turn up the volume. My concern is always bass - either it's missing or it's too 'thumping' (I've never been a great fan of sub-woofers for normal listening). With these it's just there, nice and clear, not muddy or muffled and with just enough 'thump' that you know it's bass without it taking over.
I normally listen to my mp3 player (an old, but very pimped, iRiver H120) through Shure e4 in-ear phones, so I like to really 'hear' my music. The A2s deliver in spades in this regard, so no regrets on this purchase.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Stuart Cable(Date Added: Tuesday 22 June, 2010)
5 of 5 Stars!

Awesome! I have a large livingroom and these little speakers fill the room. The sound is balanced with lots of detail and has a good base. The A2s are hifi for £125!

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Alan Rudman(Date Added: Saturday 24 April, 2010)
5 of 5 Stars!

Bought these for use with mp3 player in largeish room after seeing excellent reviews. Really pleased with them - accuracy, bass & volume amazing for size & price. Thought I would notice reduced quality compared to decent hifi system, but don't. Brilliant!

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
David Sears(Date Added: Tuesday 05 January, 2010)
5 of 5 Stars!

The tiny speaker with a great big sound. For the size and price you can't go wrong. These are well made, beautifully packaged, good looking little speakers. They won't give you ear-splitting volume but they're plenty loud enough for a small room and for a good, clear sound for your mp3 player or computer these can't be beaten.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Simon Pearce(Date Added: Thursday 31 December, 2009)
5 of 5 Stars!

These boys have just arrived to replace my woeful Logitech 2.1 boxes in their role as supplementary background music speakers in the dining room. Decent (as in between £80 & £200) active speakers are as rare as hens teeth but notwithstanding that, these speakers are great. Their diminutive stature belies their build quality, which is almost comparable to my Acoustic Energy AE1s. They're weighty and well made - the gloss finish is excellent, although the cones look a little on the cheap side.
As I said, they're very small, and take up less space than the sub/satellite that is on its way to the dump. The sound quality is good for the cabinet size - there's plenty of bass there which sounds well controlled if a little boxy in the midrange (will wait to see how they run in). Treble is a little soft but well balanced - I'm connected to a source with no tone controls so I'm happy that all-round the speakers have good timbre.
Very pleased with these - thoroughly recommmended, and I'm an audiophile.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Simon Crouch(Date Added: Thursday 05 November, 2009)
5 of 5 Stars!

These are quite astonishing for such small speakers. Good stereo imaging; clarity through the mid-range; clear strong bass (this latter being, perhaps, the most surprising). They're not the highest of hi-fi, but if you want a decent speaker in a very restricted space, they are ideal.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Brian Ellis(Date Added: Saturday 31 October, 2009)
5 of 5 Stars!

I purchased these speakers while searching for a small, but powerful and high quality pair of PC Speakers. When the box arrived, I grabbed a pair of scissors and sliced it open, and lifted out one of the speakers, and held it for a bit, gob smacked at the weight and built quality of such a cheap product. I then carefully unpacked the other speaker and the leads, and whilst twisting in the screws at the back of the speakers to secure the cables, I scanned the back of the satellites, suprised how well they were screwed together. I turned the volume knob at the back of the powered speaker, and played "Ball Peen Hammer" by Joe Bonamassa, and sat and listened to the music, losing myself in the crystal clear treble and the rich mid-range. I turned the speakers up, louder and louder, and yet they remained as clear and distortion free as they did when quiet, up until the point they were filling my whole house with rich sound. If any one thing is lacking from these speakers, it is deep bass, but even then, for such small units, the bass produced is exceptional. When comparing them to similar PC speaker systems, the A2s are enough to bring even a Bose Companion 5 owner to tears, And therefore they can only be compared to Hi-Fi speaker systems.

I would recommend this fantastic system to ANYONE. They are well built, stylish, high quality, and at a FANTASTIC price. You wont be disappointed.

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Stephen Whiting(Date Added: Wednesday 21 October, 2009)
5 of 5 Stars!

These really have delivered a great sound that I am very happy with, clear, accurate but warm struggle to believe that could be achieved from such a small box. I am happy to recommend these to anybody. When I first turnded them on a little dissappointed as sounded very average but got into their flow fully after about 8 hours of running in. The quality of build is high packaging, leads, speaker covers for carrying etc. Delivered next day on time with a very good service from A MP3

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Christine Shirlow(Date Added: Tuesday 15 September, 2009)
5 of 5 Stars!

Order processed within a day and recieved these speakers the next day at about 11am. What can I say, I thought they looked quite small, don't be fooled by this. The speakers are great combined with my squeezebox or even just my iriver through the mini jack slot. I have just spent the whole day putting them through their paces and they have performed well everytime. Great product, great site

What do you think?

Audioengine 2 Speaker System

Facebook

What do customers choose?

Audioengine DS1 Speaker Wedge
60% choose this very product:
Audioengine DS1 Speaker Wedge
4 of 5 Stars! (1)
£29.99
Line-in cable (stereo cable) (Male to Male)
11% buy:
Line-in cable (stereo cable) (Male to Male)
5 of 5 Stars! (2)
£3.91 £2.99
SoundScience QSB - 30W USB Desktop Speakers with NXT DyadUSB Technology Rated 5/5 by What HiFi
9% buy:
SoundScience QSB - 30W USB Desktop Speakers with NXT DyadUSB Technology Rated 5/5 by What HiFi
5 of 5 Stars! (81)
£109.00 £22.50
X-Mini MAX II Capsule Speakers
6% buy:
X-Mini MAX II Capsule Speakers
5 of 5 Stars! (72)
£44.99 £19.99