0 items
Categories

Sony NWZ-A866 32GB Walkman® Video MP3 player Colour BLACK

Sony NWZ-A866 32GB Walkman® Video MP3 player Colour BLACK

£219.00
Seen this product cheaper? We'll try and beat the price. Click here.
Product discontinued, click here for alternatives
Share with HUKD

Customers Reviews

Average customers review
4 of 5 Stars! (8 customer reviews)

James Kennedy
Date Added: Thursday 03 May, 2012
5 of 5 Stars!
Fantastic sound quality and an excellent easy to use interface. The build quality is first rate. This is a first rate product and I have no reservations in recommending it.
5 of 5 Stars!
tim mudd
Date Added: Friday 30 March, 2012
5 of 5 Stars!
Excellent the sound is better than my old Walkman the bass is less boomy and more revealing at the top end
using with a pair of ultimate ears triplefi pro 10
5 of 5 Stars!
James Poplett
Date Added: Wednesday 25 January, 2012
4 of 5 Stars!
Excellent quality MP3 player let down by a couple of small details.

Firstly, let me address the criticisms regarding the volume cap; overblown. Yes, it's max volume is noticably less than the iPod or other similar devices when plugged into shared ...Read morespeakers, but for any usage that I've found for them they've not been found wanting for volume. While walking, while drumming, they go plenty loud without hitting the max volume, and the packaged headphones are of above average quality (although I use Sennheisers).

It's a quality piece of kit, with an intuitive menu system, good build quality, and handy physical buttons on the side (while driving it's easy to skip or pause a track once you're used to the locations, which is something you can't do with a high capacity iPod, for example). It's a very sleek and purty bit of kit. Easy drag and drop on PC, no need to install software.

Sound quality is very good, but from what I had read I was expecting better. Once I fiddled with the EQ settings to get a sound that I liked it does sound good, but it's not a massive improvement over the pretty cheap Creative Zen I used before it. It's better, but not £100 better.

Problems - It's incredibly easy to turn on by mistake. Holding down the 'Home' button turns it off, but the slightest brush of the volume controls, touch screen or track skipping buttons and it comes back on. I've often turned it off, flicked it to 'hold', put it in my pocket, gone into a restaurant or something, come out and it's been on the whole time and run down the battery.

Battery life is nothing special. I use it for, on average, about five hours a day, and I am having to charge it up every other day. The professed "23 hours music playback time" is an outright lie, unless I have a faulty unit.

Inability to create playlists on the fly is a shame. I had a relatively cheap 16GB Creative Zen that was a few years old, and the ability to bung a few songs by different artists into a makeshift playlist was often a very useful feature that I am missing now that I don't have it anymore.

To summarise, a good quality MP3 player, probably the best in the 32GB range without spending £300+ on a Cowon player which is much bulkier, but not without it's flaws, which is a shame.
4 of 5 Stars!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Richard Willgoose
Date Added: Wednesday 02 November, 2011
3 of 5 Stars!
Excellent MP3 player spoilt by 1 thing only - stupid EEC volume limit cap. Much quieter than my old X1060 so returned and bought Cowon J3 instead. (where you can remove the EEC volume cap by selecting non-Europe in settings)

1st class service from...Read more AMP3.co.uk as always.
3 of 5 Stars!
17 of 25 people found the following review helpful:
Richard Haynes
Date Added: Wednesday 26 October, 2011
3 of 5 Stars!
O.K. I suppose I am spoilt by the fact that I have a Sony NWZ-S639F 16gb MP3 player. This MP3 layer is absolutely perfect in every way apart from the fact that it only has 16gb of storage.

So I upgrade to the Sony NWZ-A866B and it is just o.k.

...Read moreThe NWZ-A866B is noticeably quieter than my NWZ-S693F. Also, the NWZ-S693F has more bass and treble which means a wider soundstage.

If I did not have a NWZ-S693F I would have been very pleased with this MP3 player. It's just that I now Sony can do better.

The headphones supplied with it sound almost as good as my Monster Beats Solo HD's which is saying something....

Anyway, I will use the NWZ-A866B as a backup to my NWZ-S693F which is a shame as I could do with the more storage it offers.
3 of 5 Stars!
7 of 24 people found the following review helpful:
Peter Dunn
Date Added: Saturday 08 October, 2011
5 of 5 Stars!
After months of speculation of which player to go for after filling up the memory of my trusty (and loud!) A729, I decided to go for the A866. The result? This is an excellent bit of kit. Build quality is top notch, the interface is slick, the sound ...Read morequality is fantastic with no need to even touch the EQ section to improve (always a good sign).Volume levels are absolutely fine - I can walk down a main road using Senn PX100, and volume is set to about 15. It is clear than having listened to the previous Sony 32gb players, they have raised their volume limit. Recommended.
5 of 5 Stars!
10 of 41 people found the following review helpful:
Gordon Barcley
Date Added: Wednesday 05 October, 2011
5 of 5 Stars!
This is my MP3 Player, and I must say I've been pleasantly surprised by how easy it is to use.
I'm not too familiar with touch-screen devices either but I've had no porblems with this, as the screen reaponds well to touch, seems fairly accurate, an...Read mored the menu system is easy to navigate.

All my music has been added across using Windows Media Player, although I know you can drag and drop files to it too, hich is handy.

Since having bought it I've read reviews about this 'supposed' volume cap? Not something I've noticed or really know much about in all honesty, but I'd say it's just fine. At 60 I've not yet done my ears any damage, and I refuse to do so now. I think a good pair of headphones makes all the difference, so maybe other users should invest in something good that'll really show off the sound quality of the MP3 Player.

Since buying this, my aged Sony Walkman CD player is now redundant!
5 of 5 Stars!
14 of 41 people found the following review helpful:
Lee Rogers
Date Added: Wednesday 14 September, 2011
3 of 5 Stars!
Many thanks for the quality service this item couldn't be bettered!

Sony NWZ-A866: Firstly I would like to say just how much this player oozes quality, from the lighting responsive touch screen.. which in turn is LCD not OLED with is a shame.. but...Read more don't get me wrong it still holds it's own regarding picture quality, colours are crisp and vibrant. I found navigation a breeze, everything clearly set out.. one feature new to this player is the 5 bookmark lists that you can now add your favourite songs instantly to each bookmark without having to create a play list from the Laptop then transfer.. this feature only allows 100 songs max for each bookmark list which I guess is a bit disappointing.

Build quality is solid as you would expect from Sony.. outer features include: Right side: vol + - prev track - play - next track - home

NOW.. the serious issue regarding this player is what I and alot of other people on forums are saying is regards to the Volume cap Sony have implemented on this player & previous models especially the 845 model, which from also having is even quieter. Now this for me is a real big let down, from buying Sony Walkmans all my life they have m
now spoiled what is or was a fantastic piece of kit.

I'm sorry Sony this has gone back, and I won't be buying Sony Walkman ever again, unless you release the combination to access the systems secret menu, but I guess no chance of that such a shame :(
3 of 5 Stars!
57 of 60 people found the following review helpful:

Discount coupons

  • Save 12.5% on the MEElectronics S6P Sport-Fi In-Ear Earphones!

    Get 12.5% on the MEElectronics S6P Sport-Fi In-Ear Earphones to help get you through your session at the gym!

    CODE: 12S6P5%
  • Get 2 of the mini but mighty Matrix QUBE Universal Rechargeable Aluminum Speakers for £20!

    Get 2 of the mini but mighty Matrix QUBE Universal Rechargeable Aluminum Speakers for £20!

    CODE: EASTERQUBE
  • Get 12.5% Off the Air-Fi® Metro2 AF72

    Save 12.5% on the AF72 and listen to your favourite tunes and even take calls wirelessly!

    CODE: 12AF725%

Awards