0 items
Categories

Cowon J3 32GB MP3 Player

Cowon J3 32GB MP3 Player
  • Cowon J3 32GB MP3 Player
  • Cowon J3 32GB MP3 Player
  • Cowon J3 32GB MP3 Player
  • Cowon J3 32GB MP3 Player
  • Cowon J3 32GB MP3 Player
  • Cowon J3 32GB MP3 Player
  • Cowon J3 32GB MP3 Player

Cowon J3 32GB MP3 Player

£239.00 £219.00
Seen this product cheaper? We'll try and beat the price. Click here.
Product discontinued, click here for alternatives
Share with HUKD

Customers Reviews

Average customers review
5 of 5 Stars! (75 customer reviews)

Ian Rogers
Date Added: Sunday 20 May, 2012
5 of 5 Stars!
I needed a new dedicated MP3 player as I wanted good quality sound which no iPod or mobile phone can deliver. I'd heard many good things about the Cowon players. The J3 has been out for some time now and has a very loyal fan base. I also considered t...Read morehe new Cowon Z2 Android device but I've got an Android phone for my Apps and the J3's battery life is huge.
The user interface is a little clunky but everyone says that so I wasn't expecting anything too slick. However, It's not too bad once you get used to it, it does the job rather well.
The playback quality is very very good. You can drag and drop your files easily onto it. It even works great with my Media Monkey music database.
Cowon no longer make these devices, so I'd advise on grabbing one of these before stocks run out.
I had great support and advice from AMP3 before buying it. It had free delivery which I have to say is the fastest free delivery I've ever seen. After ordering at lunchtime one day, the package came before lunch the following day... Fantastic. Thanks guys. I'll be ordering from you again (I have my eye on a Fiio E17) :-)
5 of 5 Stars!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Ian Wood
Date Added: Tuesday 01 May, 2012
5 of 5 Stars!
Apart from a couple of very minor hiccups I found the player easy to set up and use. Music all loaded with ease. Loading movies is the next step. It's a slippery device and easy to drop so I'd recommend the fitting of a protective case. Read the revi...Read moreew by John Calderbank and you'll get the full picture.
5 of 5 Stars!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Andy palmer
Date Added: Tuesday 03 April, 2012
5 of 5 Stars!
Great player, exactly what I wanted. Only issue, which is common to all players as far as I can see, is they the volume is too low. I listen to classical music not loud pop and it is simply not possible to hear the quiet bits even with expensive nois...Read moree reduction headphones. Can't fault the player though.
5 of 5 Stars!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Parvez Noorullah
Date Added: Monday 12 March, 2012
5 of 5 Stars!
Fantastic sound quality; great battery. User interface is poor compared with ipods, but I already knew that. Would recommend this if you are looking for a portable music player - but make sure you use higher bitrate mp3s or flacs, and get yourself a ...Read morepair of decent headphones.
5 of 5 Stars!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Henrik Madsen
Date Added: Sunday 11 March, 2012
5 of 5 Stars!
I bought the wrong MP3 player, but without any problems i returned it and bought the correct one. Top notch service, top notch delivery and top notch prices. I will recommend you to all i know that is going to buy a mp3 player.
5 of 5 Stars!
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Russ Simpson
Date Added: Friday 09 March, 2012
5 of 5 Stars!
I decided I needed to buy a dedicated MP3 player, after I was disgusted at the sound quality of the latest Apple devices (the latest iPods and iPhones use Cirrus Logic DAC chips, whereas the older iPods use a far superior Wolfson DAC chip).

My pri...Read moreorities:

Wolfson DAC chip
Not too bulky
Plenty of memory (preferably expandable)
ability to tweak sound
colour display to show album art
gapless playback

The Cowon J3 ticks all those boxes. However I found gapless playback didn't work at when I dragged my music onto the player from my iTunes library. I quickly learned, however, that if I ditch iTunes and rip a CD using a program called E.A.C.(Exact Audio Copy) using the LAME plugin, then dragged them on to the J3, they played perfectly gapless. I have now re-ripped all my gapless CDs.

The sound quality is excellent. In addition to the superior Wolfson DAC chip that is is fitted inside this player, there are infinite possibilities to tweak the sound with the various settings such as Jet Effect 3.0, 5-band EQ with wide/normal/narrow band options, BBE+, Mach3Bass, stereo enhance and MP enhance (to upscale low bitrate MP3s) options, as well as the ability to add effects such as 3D surround and reverb. I encode all of my MP3s at 320kbps and this is the best sounding player I have ever heard. It will also play WAV and FLAC files for those of you that want to improve the sound quality even more.

Also, another thing to mention is that when you drag albums from iTunes onto the J3, some albums don't display artwork or display songs in the right order. This can be rectified by re-tagging your MP3s (which can be done in bulk) using a program called 'MP3tag' before dragging them onto the J3.

Although the stated maximum memory expansion via the microSD slot is stated at 32GB (the maximimum size of a SDHC card), I was very pleased to learn that this player will read microSDXC cards. So I bought a Sandisk 64GB card and can confirm that it works perfectly, although you have to reformat the card to FAT32 file system using a compatible device (I used my Samsung smartphone). I now have a 96GB player which fits all my music collection with 20GB to spare for adding videos.

It's also worth mentioning that all the menus such as artist/album/song lists are merged between internal memory and memory card.

Anyone buying this player will need to buy a good set of headphones. The bundled earphones do not do this player justice, although I would say the they are better that the standard white earphones that come with Apple devices. I have tried numerous over the ear big headphones and ear-canal noise isolating earphones and have settled on WeSC Bassoon Pro DJ Headphones, and also a pair of Ortofon EQ7 both of which are superb.

All in all I would give this player 10 out of 10 with no reservations.

My experience ordering from AdvancedMP3 players was first class. I received emails at various stages of my order. Postage was free and my player was delivered next day by courier.

Superb!
5 of 5 Stars!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Tim Claxton
Date Added: Tuesday 28 February, 2012
5 of 5 Stars!
The Cowon J3 is the best music player that I have ever used.
I chose a Cowon player as it is the only brand that I have found that has gapless playback, a lot of my music is live concerts and I find the dwell between tracks spoils my listening exper...Read moreience.
I have had a number of MP3 players in the past of all price ranges, Flash & HDD, Budget unbranded to top of the range Iriver models But the sound quality of the and battery life of the J3 far exceeds any thing used before as is the video playback.
If you are spending over £100 for a Music player I would recommend Cowon J3
5 of 5 Stars!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Mike Flower
Date Added: Tuesday 28 February, 2012
5 of 5 Stars!
My die hard Rio Karma was finally coming to an end of its life. Replacement, the Cowon J3. Its light, easy to use and with its expandable memory card slot, I quickly starting adding my music collection onto the J3 with a simple drag and drop on the c...Read moreomputer desktop. Sound quality is great and plenty of options to tweak the sound with the JetEffect equalizer. Like others when first turned on I set the settings to English, Outside Europe to prevent the volume clamping set for UK market. I ave found the unit is plenty loud enough and haven't found a need to go to the max ye, perhaps with other headphones there may be but using some Sennheiser E6's they sound ace with the J3. Battery life seems to last for ages. Have been using it for 2 weeks now and still have 75% displayed. It seems to go down in 25%'s so not that accurate to gauage but its good enough. Overall the sound quality is exceptional, quality of build cant fault. Included headphones are poor but they usualy are when supplied with a mp3 player.

The only minus point I can say is not the Cowon J3 but AMP3's shopping experience and it was a big minus point. After asking for vouchers from family for Xmas, I found 3 lots were put on hold due to AMP3 poor verification system if using Paypal. My family were told to send verification documents via email as proof of purchase. I rang up to complain what a poor experience it was and why was it was happening, AMP3 claimed it was their paypal verification security they had in place that was preventing the order from going through. Only to find out that in my cases it was a computer/software fault, the paypal accounts were verified and subsequently the voucher orders purchased. This did mean that the vouchers were delayed by over 3 - 4 weeks and so missed getting them for Xmas. It was stressful for family buying the vouchers, having to prove a purchase made on AMP3's website using their payment options is not something they would do again. If only it was a simple as amazon. I would not recommend anyone to purchase vouchers from AMP3 until they improve the system. I or my family received no apology for their error and for something I wanted as a Xmas present, I didn't receive until Mid February once finally back in stock.
5 of 5 Stars!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Joe Wheeldon
Date Added: Saturday 04 February, 2012
5 of 5 Stars!
I decided to buy the Cowon J3 to replace my Ipod Touch (2nd Gen - 16GB) which I’ve had for 4 years, and during this time period its had no space left on it, suffered a water damaged screen, a power/stand by button which no longer works, and was start...Read moreing to overheat, so as you can tell it was time for a replacement.
I decided that my next piece of kit wasn’t going to be an Iproduct because I started to hate apple, which to me is just a fashion accessory for the teenagers, as well as I hated using Itunes because I find it irritating and annoying, and me being 21, I wanted something more grown-up and more adult-like which stood out from the crowd because to be honest I don’t follow fashion, and thanks to the following sites

• Anythingbutipod.com
• Iaudiophile.net
• Which.co.uk
• Head-fi.org

I came across a company called Cowon which I have never heard of, until now and all I can say is thank you that I now have, I saw all these positive reviews and also the little AMP3 favourite logo sticker in the corner of the screen so I thought it must be good if all the experts that work there are calling it one of their favourites.
Now the only thing that the J3 has got that my old Ipod hasn’t is the wi-fi or apps, but I never used them because they just completely drain your battery and I found most (if not all) apps were very boring, and my Samsung galaxy SII has got WiFI and 3G So what's the point of having a PMP with WiFi? Answer – there isnt , so I decided to get a dedicated PMP
First things first, the J3 is classically styled with a matte black finish, simple curves and a beautiful fit/finish, it just sits nicely in your hand that only weighs 76G so its very very light.
The 3.3″ AMOLED screen makes my jaw drop to the floor, it’s just a gorgeous thing to look at, and all the colours are natural and vivid. Images are sharp and no visible ghosting or flushing.
As for movies the J3 is a sleek little player which bears a gorgeous screen to play those humble films and the J3 will do it! With style! And if you deicide to watch a movie on it then your going to feel as of your actually in a cinema because the sound effects are mind-blowing, crisp and crystal clear and there’s so much depth within the quality of the images which adds intensity to the movies,
The picture quality compared to my is just surreal because the picture quality could sometimes be a bit muddy and blurry, and sometimes caused eye strain after long periods of time, compared to the J3, I just don’t get any.
It’s also worth mentioning that you get sub-titles on the movies for the “hard-to-hear people” which makes it a BIG BONUS for my friend who’s deaf
I have researched that the pass models such as the X7, or S9 have had some complicated User Interfaces (UI) to get your head around, and I must admit it took me about a couple of hours to get used to it, but once you understand it its very easy and simple to use, its very snappy, no lag to be noticed anywhere.
This is where Cowon starts to demolishes apple because I love the transfer mode, no stupid software like itunes, you just plug it in and shows up the same as any external USB hard disk or memory stick you then copy your files on it then safely remove it, job done, no faffing about.
Another reason and more specifically the main reason as to why I wanted the J3 was because I heard that Cowon has a speciality and a reputation for delivering brilliant sound quality, so when I got it I didn’t know what to expect, so I tested it and without using any foul language its phenomenal, I tested it on my music collection which consist mostly of metal, anything ranging from old school 80-90’s band such as Iron Maiden, and Judas Priest to more modern metalcore bands such as Killswitch Engage, Parkway Drive and As I Lay Dying, and, I’ve never heard that much detail in my music, there’s just so much depth within it , the J3 has made me fall in love with music all over again, all I can say is that it lives up to its reputation and its absolutely trashes the sound quality on my Ipod, and just so you know I don’t have any of the “top of the range headphones” I just have some Sennishers MX 580, although I’m looking to buy some Audio-Technica ATH-W1000X
Another advantage compared to my Ipod is that the battery life on it lasted for approximately 12 hours and that’s if I was lucky, and the J3 just makes a laughingstock out of it because I’ve only had to charge it up approximately once every 2 days where as before I had to charge my Ipod up every couple of hours.
On my Ipod I easily filled 16GB and when I wanted to add some music to it, It meant that I had to delete some of my other music to make space for it, and that was really frustrating, and in order to put on the extra music, it meant buying a bigger capacity Ipod, and Apple would be making more money from this situation. I’m sorry that for me is just unacceptable, this is in fact another reason as to why I bought the J3 because I bough the 32GB J3 and when I do eventually fill it up I can just add a SD card and give it an extra 32GB so essentially it will be a 64GB on a very very light device so that for me is a big MAJOR advantage so thank you Cowon for coming up with a GENIUS IDEA! This is a very useful feature for your customers.
However there are a couple of problem with the Cowon, they are not serious and it’s not really worth mentioning but it’s just me nit-picking at it (also I would like to point out AMP3 and Cowon are not to be blamed for these)

• The headphones that come supplied with the J3 are so cheap and basic, they are rubbish. Want my opinion? Bin them and get yourself some better ones. However this is very common because most company supply “freebie” headphones which are all useless so it’s nothing new there.
• You have to buy the AC adapter separately, where as with the x7 it comes supplied with it, but they don’t cost much and most companies don’t include a charger in the box anyway, so it’s nothing serious.
• You better be prepared to spent time ripping all of your music collection to FLAC or a different type of audio file you prefer (if anything this is an advantage because you can listen out for new details in your favourite songs)


However the only bad thing I can say is that you will eventually fill 64GB easily if your using FLAC music files, which means that you have to buy another J3 or the possibly the X7 but it doesn’t matter because its worth it in the end.
I’ve still got my Ipod, it’s in the corner of my bedroom gathering dust and I only use it now just for the reason that I like to laugh and make a mockery as to just how bad it is and I can’t believe I bought something from the apple market, in my opinion I’m ashamed of myself for it.
So if you want something that is grown-up, with supreme sound quality then get yourself a Cowon, otherwise you will regret it.
However on a serious note I would like to thank AMP3 for their informing me and keeping me up to date with my order, Thanks a lot, I will be buying from you again in the future.
5 of 5 Stars!
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
A.D.P.
Date Added: Thursday 12 January, 2012
5 of 5 Stars!
So many things to like about this:

Wonderful sound quality
Customisable interface
Wide range of supported formats
Free of restrictive proprietary management software (iTunes, Zune, etc.)

Only one problem so far - the quality of materials use...Read mored in its construction is a bit cheap - what looks like metal, for example, is plated plastic (which is already beginning to chip off).

That said, if you are more interested in listening to the player than looking at it, you won't care about whether its chipped. This is by far the best audio quality I've experienced in a portable device. Providing you don't need the hand-holding of something like iTunes, and matched to a decent set of headphones (Etymotic ER-4p, for example) I don't see how you could better this.
5 of 5 Stars!
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Alistair Compton
Date Added: Friday 16 December, 2011
5 of 5 Stars!
I purchased the J3 Cowon on the basis of reviews I had read on this site and elsewhere. I was not disappointed. My previous player was an Apple Ipod Nano. The main reason I decided to change was the volume control limit, having to use itunes or other...Read more equally annoying software to transfer music, the the lack of compatibility for different formats (i.e. flac). The Cowon solved all these problems and more! The sound quality is amazing. There is no comparison to the ipod. There is so much more detail in the sound, even when playing mp3 files.
I do tend to use the earphones provided with the player when I am commuting to work. These provide a good sound, but to get the best out of the player it is necessary to get something higher quality. I use a pair of audio-technica ATH-ES55s which work very well for me.

All in all I am very happy with the Cowon, and certainly would recommend to anyone who is looking for a player with superior sound to the mass market products out there.
5 of 5 Stars!
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Rafael Pol
Date Added: Friday 25 November, 2011
5 of 5 Stars!
I purchased this player as a replacement for my Archos 5 Android Tablet which kept on failing on me. I decided to go for the Cowon J3 because all I ever really did on my Archos was listen to music and watch films so I thought 'why not just get a dedi...Read morecated media player?'. I can happily say I have no regrets!
The player works perfectly and the AMOLED screen makes watching films a truly joyous experience. As I have always been a bit of an audiophile the majority (85%) of my music collection is FLAC, for this reason I avoided the Cowon S9 due to its lack of micro sd slot. So when the J3 came out I couldn't wait to get my hands on one! With the freedom of removable memory cards I am now able to quickly switch between which music I want to take with me.
Although the UI takes a while to get used to (can get a bit fiddly at times) once you get your head around it it's easy! The fact that you have a choice of 3 home pages really lets you feel in control of the device - that you can really personalise it to make it your own - and the amount of customisation available for the equalisers and other effects really lets you set it up just the way you want.
Even after all of this you still get more! The huge battery life is really something that you will enjoy; obviously you will not get the quoted 64 hours music playback in reality, but with practical usage (and FLAC playback)I easily get 40 hours continuous playback (the first couple of charges will be a bit disappointing but after a while the battery life will improve).
Overall this is a great product and I would urge anyone thinking of buying a really decent music player to give this one serious consideration.
5 of 5 Stars!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Discount coupons

  • Free FIDUE A31S on order over £100

    Free set of Fidue A31S on orders over £100 in value

    CODE: FREEFIDUE
  • Get 12.5% Off the Air-Fi® Metro2 AF72

    Save 12.5% on the AF72 and listen to your favourite tunes and even take calls wirelessly!

    CODE: 12AF725%
  • Get 15% Off Everything!

    We're offering a whopping 15% off everything this August Bank Holiday!

    CODE: BANK15%
  • Save 12.5% on the MEElectronics S6P Sport-Fi In-Ear Earphones!

    Get 12.5% off the MEElectronics S6P Sport-Fi In-Ear Earphones to help get you through your session at the gym!

    CODE: 12S6P5%
  • Get 2 of the mini but mighty Matrix QUBE Universal Rechargeable Aluminum Speakers for £20!

    Get 2 of the mini but mighty Matrix QUBE Universal Rechargeable Aluminum Speakers for £20!

    CODE: EASTERQUBE
  • Get 15% Off Alcohoot (Amari)

    Save 15% Off the Alcohoot Smartphone Breathalyser and stay safe!

    CODE: AMARI

Awards