Follow us on Twitter Become a Fan on Facebook Watch AMP3 TV on YouTube Read the latest news on Blogger
Cowon J3 16GB MP3 Player
  • Cowon J3 16GB MP3 Player
  • Cowon J3 16GB MP3 Player
  • Cowon J3 16GB MP3 Player
  • Cowon J3 16GB MP3 Player
  • Cowon J3 16GB MP3 Player
  • Cowon J3 16GB MP3 Player
  • Cowon J3 16GB MP3 Player

Cowon J3 16GB MP3 Player

£199.00 £159.00
Seen this product cheaper? We'll try and beat the price. Click here.

Product discontinued, click here for alternatives

Discontinued

We've got these great alternatives in stock:

Seen this product cheaper? We'll try and beat the price. Click here. £8.57
In Stock
Seen this product cheaper? We'll try and beat the price. Click here. £4.99£2.99
In Stock
Seen this product cheaper? We'll try and beat the price. Click here. £34.50£29.00
In Stock
Seen this product cheaper? We'll try and beat the price. Click here. £159.00£129.00
In Stock

AMP3 TV video review
Customer Review

Daniel Barrell

(17th June 2012)
Having researched for days on end for the best quality for audio mp3 I am thrilled to have picked the Cowon J3. Every corner of these 5 stars are deserved.
Cowon J3 16GB MP3 Player
 £199.00£159.00
Cowon J3 16GB MP3 Player
Suggest a product
Suggest a product

Have you seen a great product we should be stocking?

Suggest it and we'll give you a £50 Gift Voucher!


In the box
  • J3 16GB
  • USB cable connector
  • Manual

Customers Reviews

Average customers review
5 of 5 Stars! (51 customer reviews)

Daniel Barrell(Date Added: Sunday 17 June, 2012)
5 of 5 Stars!

Having researched for days on end for the best quality for audio mp3 I am thrilled to have picked the Cowon J3. Every corner of these 5 stars are deserved. Audio quality and bass and unlike anything my ears have heard - I literally had a eargasm. Player arrived 2 days later thanks to this site's amazing service. Video looks rich and sooper smooth. It is extremely fast and hardly weighs anything.
I do not suggest this to anyone who half knows computers but it is relativly easy to use.
Forget the price tag because every penny is worthit.

Steve Cleverly(Date Added: Wednesday 23 May, 2012)
5 of 5 Stars!

Had to wait a short time until the J3 came back into stock but am delighted now it has arrived. The operating system does take a little time to become instinctive but isn't as difficult as some describe it. The payoff is fantastic sound and beautiful visuals. A stunning piece of equipment with which I am completely satisfied. I suspect that other members of my family will also make the switch to Cowon in order to get the sound quality.

PS - Make sure you invest in decent head-phones - the packaged phones do not do the J3 justice

Neil W(Date Added: Saturday 24 March, 2012)
5 of 5 Stars!

Thoroughly recommended.

As a newcomer to the world of MP3 players, AMP3 provided excellent service from me asking a few basic questions on the forums to supplying the Cowon along with several accessories, all competitively priced.

Not being experienced in these matters, I can't comment on the virtues of the J3 versus other players, what I can say is I've been able to get to grips pretty easily with it along with the accompanying accessories, and the quality of the player along with the rest of the package has been excellent so far!

christopher mcdonnell(Date Added: Monday 05 March, 2012)
5 of 5 Stars!

I had to pre-order the J3 because it was out of stock.That meant waiting awhile.However, the waiting was worth it.This player,sound wise,does exactly what it says on the tin.Its blown the 2 previous players I had out of the water.I have no hesitation in marking it 10/10

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Ken T(Date Added: Friday 13 January, 2012)
4 of 5 Stars!

Simply the best portable audio I have ever listened too, but by no means the most intuitive or easy to use.

Straight out of the box it isn't massively different from other comparable products, the sound is average, although possibly a little clearer, but definitely not brilliant. Where the cowon really comes into its own is the equaliser settings; they are beyond compare at this price range. As long as you take the time to set them up - there are four user settings and about thirty presets - it makes listening to music a joy.

Setting up the equalisers can be a bit daunting if you are fairly new to it all, however there are plenty of websites offering advice, and at the end of the day no-one can tell you what sounds best for your ears, you'll have to experiment.

The interface isn't particularly intuitive, however you can download others online that make it a little easier on the eye. The screen is vibrant, although not as good as a Zune HD, and it's not as crisp as the new iPod touch, however it's definitely not bad, merely adequate.

Overall, it plays music fantastically, as long as you take a little time to set it up, it plays videos adequately (in the right container), it displays pictures adequately, and it streams music to Bluetooth headsets just fine (quite why you would is beyond me, the sound suffers as there is no apt-x codec support)

One last note, the bundled headphones are, although better than the iPod bundled ones, not particularly good. A player this good deserves a good set of cans!

Tim Jenkins(Date Added: Friday 30 December, 2011)
5 of 5 Stars!

Simply the best for the price! I bought a J3 8gb MP3 Player just before Christmas and after extensive use for music, videos, audiobooks, podcasts etc it still shows 70% charge! Really good sound with decent in-earphones. Video picture is really clear, the addition of a memory card really useful. The menus and less than intuitive navigation take some getting used to but this is the only negative. Seems to support almost all files (plays Audible books perfectly),need to set System-USB mode to MSC in order to drag and drop files or copy/paste. Highly recommended MP3 player!!

Mike Mack(Date Added: Saturday 24 December, 2011)
5 of 5 Stars!

I have had my J3 for about a year now and for video and picture quality it is Top notch.
Regular firmware upgrades it has just gotten better the longer I have owned it but the no. 1 reason I love it is the sound quality, paired with a set of Shure earphones it sounds awesome. there is also the out-standing battery life. my wife keeps pinching it so I have just bought her one for Christmas !!(There is a slight learning curve with the controls but well worth it.)for a portable "quality sound"

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
neilesh sood(Date Added: Monday 19 December, 2011)
5 of 5 Stars!

Superb sound quality - definite improvement on my Creative Zen Vision M. It's amazing some of the instruments and production I'd never heard were in certain songs, it's that clear.

Great design and range of Equaliser modes too.

Bob Foale(Date Added: Sunday 04 December, 2011)
5 of 5 Stars!

Before buying the Cowon J3 I had previously owned a Sansa Fuze and Archos Vision. For playing FLAC albums, the J3 beats both hands down. The sound quality is second to none and the J3 is the first player I've found with the ability to stitch FLAC-encoded tracks together without a break.
With a large music collection, I was not looking for anything to hold my entire collection - 16B with a 4GB expansion card holds enough music to last for several weeks (even with a 3-4 hour commute each day). The extended battery life is another plus. A highly recommended unit

Eric Alain Dilworth(Date Added: Tuesday 08 November, 2011)
5 of 5 Stars!

This is my firat Cowon mp3 player and follows on from an iPod classic. Although the memory is smaller as there is no disk drive the expansion slot makes up for it although I fear that I might loose the very small microSD memory cards that are not cheap in the 32gB size.

The sound quality is excellent although the UI is not as immediately intuitive as the Apple one. I'm using Ogg files now as I feel the sound quality is better byte for byte of file size. I bought the player for digital music not apps, web browsing etc so the other functions are of passing interest to me. The EQ options are interesting and I'm taking my time to decide which works best for me.

The font size is tiny, but I think it can be changed but I'll have to read the instructions!

If you want an mp3 player to play FLAC, OGG etc you can't go far wrong with this one!

George Cameron(Date Added: Tuesday 11 October, 2011)
5 of 5 Stars!

Excellent device, the sound literally has to be heard to be believed. A big step up from my Sansa Fuze.

Stewart Lawson(Date Added: Thursday 15 September, 2011)
5 of 5 Stars!

I am already a fan of Cowon Mp3 players and believe that these are the best on the market. I use the player to listen to audio tracks and Cowon's reputation for audio quality is unsurpassed. I already have an S9, which I think is very good but I would go so far as to say that the J3 is better all round. If you use it with a set of quality earphones such as the Shure SE535 then you have a dream combination. I would recommend this product to any audiophile and AdvancedMp3players provide an excellent and efficient service that is cost effective on hard pressed budgets. Go for it, you won't be disappointed.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
neil sinclair(Date Added: Monday 01 August, 2011)
5 of 5 Stars!

As a long-time fan of Sony's Minidisc system, I spent some time looking for an MP3 player which would offer similar sound quality. I've heard iPods many times, and always found the sound unconvincing, thin and nasty. Since I didn't know what bit-rate etc these examples had been recorded at, I got a colleague at work to bring in his iPod with a recording I knew on the Mindisc, and we compared the two. No comparison - the Minidisc had a far rounder and more accurate sound. My colleague described the Minidisc as far richer in sound.

I did the same comparison with my new Cowon J3 and Minidisc, using MP3 and then OGG encodings. OGG was better in the high frequencies, more transparent and natural, but still not quite as good as Minidisc with the J3's default sound settings. With a few minor tweeks to the graphic equaliser I was able to get an incredibly good sound from the J3, at least the equal of the Minidisc but without the artefacts which sometimes creep into Minidisc recordings.

OK, so I'm quite picky about the sound of my portable players - sorry about that!

The user interface is excellent on the J3 - but then I'm not used to iPods. The interface is awful on Minidisc, but I don't mind since I'm mainly interested in the sound quality.

The advantage of Minidisc is that it uses removable media, so you can carry around hundreds of CDs worth of music in a small carry case. I put a 16Gb card into the J3, and managed to carry far more that I could possibly listen to on a holiday and still only half-filled the memory.

Battery life is OK - about 10 days worth of moderate use (probably 2-3 hours per day) before it needed a charge. With Minidisc you just stick in a new AA battery - much more convenient, and it's happy with NiMH rechargeables.

The build quality of the J3 seems very good - no plasticy creaks or flexing, and the headphone connector seems very robust.

My system then - Sennheiser PX100 headphones, Denon P350ii amplifier, Kef Celeste iii speakers. Sony Mz-NH700 Minidisc (in Hi-Md mode). Sound source direct from CD through Sony's appalling SoundStage software, or using Audio CD Extractor in Linux, both at the highest bit-rate available.

So, if you're interested in the quality of sound above everything else, go for the J3 - highly recommended.

Sam Holland(Date Added: Tuesday 31 May, 2011)
5 of 5 Stars!

Firstly the service I received from Amp3 was outstanding!! The whole purchase for me was effortless. These guys have got it right!!!

I am not a techy audiophile type of a guy, I am a mechanic so words like Amoled mean nothing to me, but what ever it does in my J3 it does it very well!!
I wanted a new MP3 player that had great sound and that was easy to upload music so after reading and viewing just about every review site I came across the Cowon J3.

The sound quality is absolutely stunning!! It makes the sound on my old IPod feel flat and dead the 39 Jet 3 presets are awesome, you just go through until you find one that bests suits bringing the music to life, making live tracks feel live!! Or tailor your own one preset to how you like it. Uploading music is just drag and drop, easy!

The menu navigation takes a bit of getting used to so could be considered a downfall but you soon get used to it. The widget menu is great; just have what you want on the menu easy. Making a playlists is an art I have yet to master as it is not mentioned in the Manuel. And the manual, the one that comes with it is useless; download the one off of their website.

It is a superb piece of kit, great build quality, great looks, expandable memory, and video/picture playback is sharp and crystal clear. Battery life is far better than my old IPod.

I can only find fault with the menu navigation, but once you have got your head round it, it is no longer an issue. It could have a better playlist option and queued playing but I am really nit picking.

In a nutshell, sound quality is truly fantastic!! I would recommend it to anybody!!

Andrew Twidell(Date Added: Sunday 22 May, 2011)
5 of 5 Stars!

I was in the market for a new MP3, after several years of good service from my Ipod nano. HoweverI had tired of having only Sony and apple to choose from and wanted the option of assessing other MP3 players, rather than being held back by the noted High Street monopoly. What I wanted was simply the best MP3 player on the market, around the size of my Nano, but with increased capacity from the 8gb I had presently.
After much much searching I came across the Cowon J3, straight away I liked the fact that it looked different but seemed to tick many of my boxes. At lot of the negative press surrounded the fact that it was not an Itouch and didn't have wireless etc. Also that the UI was poor. Firstly I didn't need wireless internet or games as I have decent phone for those purposes, why pay twice for the same service? However what was clear was that the J3 was top notch where it mattered as an MP3 player, that being the sound of course. As for the UI well yes it was different to a ipod, but thats no bad thing, in fact the UI was very straightforward to use. One must question those who struggled. Added to that was the video function which is qiute superb, I now regurlarly download programmes for the BBC.As a USB stick loading music/video is straightforward once you grasp the settings functions.
As for the service from AMP3, I cannot fault this keeping my updated whilst I waited for a stock update.
Dont ignore the Hype the J3 is a beautiful piece of kit, and simply far superior to the Apple/Sony options. Plua you can seemlessly add a further 32gb

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
monica clarke(Date Added: Friday 13 May, 2011)
5 of 5 Stars!

review written 12the May 2011 @ 23.56.
Initially I looked at other sites and I found www. advancedmp3players.co.uk the best for advice and price on the Cowon J3 mp3 player (16GB) so I phoned up their sales branch. I spoke to a very supportive young gentleman. He was patient with my enquiries and explained each topic I raised in a clear manner. After 15 minutes conversation I purchased the Cowon J3 mp3 player (16Gb). Within minutes of ending my call - I was receiving email updates of delivery times, etc. AND within twenty four hours I had received 'MY'Cowon J3 . I am now coming up to 60 yrs of age - I have missed many years advancement in music applications so this is one huge learning jump for me..... The item arrived nicely packaged, and so far I have managed to download music from my computer, played with the audio settings for music, sound, and radio. I have also played about with different headphones.......All MY FIRST attempts!!! I found handling the j3 very comfortable.And I have to say the sound is exceptional quality, I am hearing such good all round sound - with bass, middle and high equally clear - I may never take off these headphones ever again!! I am still finding my way around the menu's and to date I can not find the 'delete' instruction - as I have had only six hrs of exploring the j3 I expect I will eventually find the command. I did find the Cowon j3 mp3 manual online - http://www.cowonglobal.com/download/file/manual/COWONJ3/J3_EN_manual_1.3en.pdf . which was clearer to read than the little booklet supplied. Cowon have supplied a small cd which may have further instructions; however I do not have the technology to access that. If you are in any way apprehensive about purchasing the Cowon j3 mp3 player from advancedmp3players.co.uk - I would recommend them for quality of product,and quality of service. I am looking forward to hearing music with a new freshness as well as exploring the video and photo elements .... this grandma is going to enjoy keeping up with the latest music advancements !!!

stuart prince(Date Added: Wednesday 23 March, 2011)
5 of 5 Stars!

reviews advised music playbak very good so took the plunge and purchased. Well can honestly say after having the player for about a month now the music quality is fantastic, has to be heard to be beleived, previously had a ipod touch and cowon walks all over them, plenty of presets to imerse yourself in your music and throughly enjoy it, currently only playing flac files and the quality from the cowon is well worth the price, purchased with a pair of shure 115 earphones and the combination is a match made in heaven, if you like your music this is the baby to get and video files are also crisp and clear. Go on spoil yourself.

0 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
Sikandar Nanji(Date Added: Saturday 19 March, 2011)
3 of 5 Stars!

The J3 is a disapointment. I've spent many hours configuring the user settings and although I have got it to the point where it is musically enjoyable, I do not think it warrants the excessive praise that's heaped on it. Even at its best with the right settings and flac files etc, the sound is merely passable. Frankly, I think standards re: audio have sunk to such a degree that nobody knows what good sound is anymore. Hence the appearance of something slightly better than average (the J3) being touted the way that it is.

My gripe about this player is that no matter how much you tweak the user settings, the basic tone cannot be disguised. It is sterile and artificial. It does not render musical instruments in a true fashion, ie a saxophone never sounds like a real sax, a guitar never like a real guitar etc. Although you can tweak it to the point where you hear good dynamics, soundstage etc, it never really sounds like music. Imagine if a computer decided to form a band and play covers of all your favorite songs, that's the sound of the J3.

For those seeking a more natural, analog-type tone go for the Hifiman HM-601. That's a unit that really exemplifies what is possible with DAPS today. Stick with the J3 if you're a fan of computer-generated sounds.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Ken Dwight(Date Added: Saturday 12 March, 2011)
4 of 5 Stars!

I've now had my J3 for a couple of weeks, and now feel able to make some comments about it. I did quite a bit of research before deciding on a J3, and I can honestly say it has lived up to all my expectations. The audio quality is very good, and pictures look clear, sharp and bright. I have not managed to put any video's on it yet and so cannot comment, but this leads me to what I feel is a very poor point, and that is the information that comes with it, either for the J3 or Jetaudio. Manuals for the J3 and Jetaudio can be downloaded from their respective web sites. The Cowon manual is ok but not brilliant, the Jetaudio manual from their site is for version 5, and not the supplied version, which is 8. This left me a little frustrated as to get answers to my questions left me trolling through one forum after another, hence why I can't comment on the video as I have not worked that one out yet. But what I have discovered is that the software supplied is the freeware version and not the full version which I will need to be able to convert more than 30 seconds of video.
The J3 is great and a delight to listen to, but the rest has been trial and error. A great player, let down by what comes with it. This is why I can only rate it as 4 and not 5.
On a different note, my thanks go to amp3 who have been a delight to deal with.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Dave Oliver(Date Added: Saturday 12 March, 2011)
5 of 5 Stars!

It's my first Cowon player, but it wont be my last :)

The sound Quality is way better than my old mp3 player and build quality is good as well. It's very easy to use, to customise and the battery life is simply amazing.

My old Sony player packed up and I'm a musicaholic; so many thanks the amp3 for they're very fast delivery time(Ordered on Monday very late via Amazon and received on Wednesday.)

What do you think?

Cowon J3 16GB MP3 Player

Facebook

What do customers choose?

Cowon J3 LCD Screen Protection Film
33% choose this very product:
Cowon J3 LCD Screen Protection Film
3 of 5 Stars! (14)
£4.99 £2.99
SoundMagic E10 In-Ear Earphones
10% buy:
SoundMagic E10 In-Ear Earphones
5 of 5 Stars! (69)
£34.50 £29.00
Cowon iAudio X9 Super Player 16GB MP3 Portable Media Player With 110 Hours Battery Life
8% buy:
Cowon iAudio X9 Super Player 16GB MP3 Portable Media Player With 110 Hours Battery Life
5 of 5 Stars! (7)
£159.00 £129.00
Cowon S9, J3, i10, X7 & X9 USB Cable
6% buy:
Cowon S9, J3, i10, X7 & X9 USB Cable
5 of 5 Stars! (6)
£8.57