Follow us on Twitter Become a Fan on Facebook Watch AMP3 TV on YouTube Read the latest news on Blogger
Grado SR-80i Open Back Headphones
  • Grado SR-80i Open Back Headphones

Grado SR-80i Open Back Headphones

£135.00 £99.95
Seen this product cheaper? We'll try and beat the price. Click here.

In Stock

£3.50 via Standard Delivery 3 - 4 working days

Often bought together

  • Grado SR-80i Open Back Headphones

  • Price for all:£99.95

    Buy together and save

    £20 off Fiio E12 with Grado SR80i
    £135.00 £99.95
    In Stock
    +
    £109.00 £88.99
    In Stock
    £20.01
    Separately £208.95 Bundle Price £188.94

    Customer Review

    Muhammad Raza

    (9th February 2012)
    I got them for around £92 and at this price they are a steal. Very nice clear voice, loudness can be observed as well but not portable headphones and can hurt
    Grado SR-80i Open Back Headphones
     £135.00£99.95
    Grado SR-80i Open Back Headphones
    Suggest a product
    Suggest a product

    Have you seen a great product we should be stocking?

    Suggest it and we'll give you a £50 Gift Voucher!


    In the box
    • Grado SR80i Headphones
    • 1/4 Inch Adapter

    Customers Reviews

    Average customers review
    5 of 5 Stars! (4 customer reviews)

    Muhammad Raza(Date Added: Thursday 09 February, 2012)
    4 of 5 Stars!

    I got them for around £92 and at this price they are a steal. Very nice clear voice, loudness can be observed as well but not portable headphones and can hurt your top part of your ears if you wear glasses. They work very nice with the iPhone as well and with an Audioengine D1 Premium DAC and Headphone AMP they just shower with you the best sound these can produce. at a budget so then buy this.

    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
    Edward Noble(Date Added: Monday 17 October, 2011)
    5 of 5 Stars!

    I've had these headphones for over 4 years now, to say I am happy with them would be an understatement. I bought them knowing they were open backed but just how open Grados are was a shock. I was used to Sennheiser (565) which were open but nothing like this. If you don't want to hear everything around you and for everything around you to hear you then do not get these headphones. If you can live with that however then they will reward you with probably the most detailed and spacious sound that the money can get you.

    They have more bass than the SR60's (which are also stunning) but not a terrific amount more. I see the Grado SR80's as the polar opposite of 'Beats Solo HD'. If you don't know what they are like try them at your local HMV store. They have lots of bass but not very well controlled and much else, to be honest I really hated them (especially for the high price but that's marketing for you). If you like your bass extreme then maybe these Grados are best avoided but if you can live without deafening bass then you can have probably the most clear and refined sound around this price point. If you buy these coming from a much cheaper pair of phones then you will honestly notice things in your music that you never did before and they will light up your music! I really don't think you can be disappointed in these phones for the price as long as you understand their characteristics.

    The build quality is great! They can look a little retro but the simple design is one that will not break easily like most adjustable bands do over time. These things are really built to last! Mine look the same now as the day I bought them with one exception - The foam. Mine has just started to disintegrate. I would say that that's a bit soon but I think this is partially my fault but this has actually forced me to fix my main niggle with these headphones (odd shape of the ear cups). These phones are sometimes referred to as circumaural (which means they should go around the ear so as not to cause discomfort). Unfortunately the standard 'L' shape cups gave me a lot of pain after about an hour of use. They are hard angular foam that sits on part of my ear. When they broke I replaced them and got the 'S' shape without knowing that they were different. These are much more comfortable for me so I am very happy now but this will add another £15 to your purchase. This is a pretty horrible problem if it happens to you but it doesn't seem to get mentioned much in reviews so I will assume I am a rare case. I cannot bring myself to remove any points of the score for this issue because the sound quality is so very good. If only they were as comfortable as something like the Sennheiser HD600... Oh well.

    Do I need to some this up?... OK:
    If Heavy bass doesn't take preferance over clarity & detail, a very open back design (sound leaking) doesn't bother you and your budget is around £100 then look no further.

    James O'Rourke(Date Added: Wednesday 31 August, 2011)
    5 of 5 Stars!

    If your concerned with rich, good quality sound then these headphones are ideal. The build quality is also very sturdy and they have a great retro style. A couple of points to mention; they do leak a lot of sound so a person sitting next to you will hear almost as much as you do and your ears may get warm after lengthy periods of use but i think that's probably true of most over-ear headhpones.

    Alan Chanter(Date Added: Friday 18 March, 2011)
    5 of 5 Stars!

    Not sure about them on the first couple of uses, but after afew weeks use they have opened up and produce a really good detailed sound. Money well spent. Excellent service from supplier.

    Press Reviews

    WHATHiFi Review (RATED: 5/5)
    WHATHiFi Review The fact is, headphones are used for private listening. Which means most models utilise a closed-back design, which keeps you from inflicting your music on those around you. But this design also creates a plethora of internal reflections, enclosure vibrations and standing waves – all of which are seriously detrimental to sound quality. So, what’s to be done? Well, it’s to Grado’s great credit that it decided to answer that question with a method of mind-boggling simplicity: make open-backed headphones that leak sound like there’s no tomorrow but which, as a result, sound sublime to the person wearing them.     Full Review
    Date Added: Tuesday 26 October, 2010
    RATED: 5/5

    Head-Fi.org Review (RATED: 4.5/5)
    Head-Fi.org Review They are know as the rock headphones because of their dynamics and attack. Attack is the speed that a note is started. So if a track goes quiet and then starts again, the Grados can startle with how suddenly the new passage begins. This also creates strong dynamic swings, which work well for rock and orchestral music. Their open backed design makes for a wide sound stage, where instruments feel as if they are around you and not trapped inside your head.     Full Review
    Date Added: Tuesday 26 October, 2010
    RATED: 4.5/5

    Cnet Review (RATED: 4.5/5)
    Cnet Review Grado's made-in-Brooklyn headphones kick butt on CDs and DVDs...All in all, the Grado SR80 performs splendidly with music and home theater. However, the step-down SR60 is more efficient and probably better for use with portable MP3 players.     Full Review
    Date Added: Tuesday 26 October, 2010
    RATED: 4.5/5


    What do you think?

    Grado SR-80i Open Back Headphones

    Facebook

    What do customers choose?

    Grado SR-80i Open Back Headphones
    84% choose this very product:
    Grado SR-80i Open Back Headphones
    5 of 5 Stars! (4)
    £135.00 £99.95
    FiiO E06 Portable Headphone Amplifier
    6% buy:
    FiiO E06 Portable Headphone Amplifier
    5 of 5 Stars! (22)
    £22.99 £20.99
    Grado GS1000i Flagship Headphones
    3% buy:
    Grado GS1000i Flagship Headphones

    £1,200.00 £999.95
    FiiO L3 Line Out Cable for iPod
    3% buy:
    FiiO L3 Line Out Cable for iPod
    4 of 5 Stars! (7)
    £7.99 £6.99