Follow us on Twitter Become a Fan on Facebook Watch AMP3 TV on YouTube Read the latest news on Blogger
Shure SRH440 Professional Quality Headphones
  • Shure SRH440 Professional Quality Headphones

Shure SRH440 Professional Quality Headphones

£129.99 £75.50
Seen this product cheaper? We'll try and beat the price. Click here.

Product discontinued, click here for alternatives

Discontinued

We've got these great alternatives in stock:

Seen this product cheaper? We'll try and beat the price. Click here. £3.91£2.99
Low Stock
Seen this product cheaper? We'll try and beat the price. Click here. £8.57
In Stock
Seen this product cheaper? We'll try and beat the price. Click here. £7.99£6.99
In Stock

Customer Review

chris whitty

(29th June 2012)
These are excellent. I had shure 315's and find over ear headphones more comfortable.The sound is far more developed with these. The bass and depth of sound is
Shure SRH440 Professional Quality Headphones
 £129.99£75.50
Shure SRH440 Professional Quality Headphones
Suggest a product
Suggest a product

Have you seen a great product we should be stocking?

Suggest it and we'll give you a £50 Gift Voucher!


In the box

  • Shure SRH440 Professional Studio Headphones
  • Detachable coiled cable
  • Threaded 6.3mm gold plated adapter
  • Carrying bag

Customers Reviews

Average customers review
5 of 5 Stars! (12 customer reviews)

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Paul Bramhall(Date Added: Tuesday 26 March, 2013)
3 of 5 Stars!

Headphones are very difficult to review.
The head is such a difficult part of the body to place tech on that everybody's experience of the same tech will be different.

I hated these earphones.
They are very sturdily built yet have the overhead wire poking out on both sides, the amount depends on the extension to get them over the head. They clamp very tightly on the head causing discomfort on the top of the head and on the cartilage of the ears. I'm bald and I've got a large-ish head and would never have been able to live with these.
It is also very difficult to get them in the proper position to gain the full sound. I struggled to get the sound directed at my ears satisfactorily. This is the most subjective side of supra-aural cans I know, yet I have others (Philips) that just fit, no messing about or fiddling.

Also even though they were burned in for 48hrs and improvement was heard it wasn't a lot.
They do have fantastic mid and upper response. Exit Stage Left by Rush sounded very clear but I could only just hear Geddy's bass guitar. Bolt Thrower's classic album Those Once Loyal which should have a good amount of base as Jo Bench is going for it on here, yet she is difficult to pick out. Symphony In Blue by Kate Bush has a lovely warm and strong bass in the introduction yet with these is is very thin and powerless. Like a Hurricane by Niel Young becomes passionless yet crystal clear.
It's the same with all my music.

My Cowon D2+ DAB (don't want to replace this ever) easily has the juice to power these cans, they're not that demanding. My PC has a slightly old yet great X-fi soundcard, My hifi is a Pioneer. The wife even had an Ipod (shame). On everything these give little bass.

I'm no basshead. I've heard the Dr Dredfuls and can't understand why they're so expensive as they cannot reproduce the sound you put in, you only get blurred vibrations. These are the opposite.

If you like extremely clear mids and highs but with little bass response at all then these will be fantastic, especially for this price. If you want some bass then steer well clear.

If you've got a big bald head then I'd try them on first as I should have done.

I think these are for true audiofphiles that forget about the fun and emosion of music and just want to stroke a chin. I am fussy and demanding of my sound reproduction but it's still got to move and entertain me.

I give them a 3 star as they are not giving me the fit or sound I need. If you're an audiophile with a haired medium sized head you'll probably demand they are rated 5 stars, just don't wear out your chin with all that stroking ;-)

Now AMP3P are my favourite tech suppliers for good reason. They accepted my returned cans with no problems and refunded me immediately. I do love AMP3P. This is how all companies should be. Thanks guys.

chris whitty(Date Added: Friday 29 June, 2012)
5 of 5 Stars!

These are excellent. I had shure 315's and find over ear headphones more comfortable.The sound is far more developed with these. The bass and depth of sound is better, and the 315's were the best I'd ever had. The springy cord is a little annoying,but all in all great product at a great price.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
John McLean(Date Added: Tuesday 29 November, 2011)
4 of 5 Stars!

Having had my mind bamboozled through reading lots of reviews I decided on these and have found the sound quality all that I would want from hi-fi, computer or keyboard. The coiled cable gives the feel of being heavy and the springiness of the coil would not allow use at the advertised length. Maybe it will loosen up a bit.

James Hansford(Date Added: Saturday 01 October, 2011)
5 of 5 Stars!

FANTASTIC. EXCELLENT SHIPPING AND SERVICE HIGHLY RECCOMENDED.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Nazmi(Date Added: Saturday 11 June, 2011)
5 of 5 Stars!

great headphones at a relatively bargain price. It will feel kinda heavy, i can tell it as soon as i lift it of the box. bulky? a little bit, hence the name professional headphones. not really comfortable to wear this outdoor.

In summary:
1) sound quality = SUPERB (5/5 stars)
2) comfortability = ABOVE AVERAGE (3.5/5 stars)
3) built quality = GREAT (4/5 stars)
4) Overall = AWESOME (4.5/5 stars)

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful:
Nthomas(Date Added: Saturday 05 February, 2011)
4 of 5 Stars!

Bought these headphones for £69 absolute bargain. I find this range really similar to the grado sr60/80 range which i owned before.

These sound really good, though these are not for people who expect a massive unbalanced amounts of bass. The sound is nicely balanced the bass is definitely audible but not overpowering you can still hear every single other instrument on the track. I find the sound perfect for me and i love listening to a wide range of tracks such as lil wayne's 'a milli' and red hot chilli peppers' 'Hey-oh'. I also own the shure SE420's. The SRH440's are £100 cheaper and sound clearer as well as having much better bass but then again they are a lot bigger!

To the cons. These do build pressure on the ears as they are quite a tight fit, to rectify this i bought the srh840's pads which are much more comfortable, in fact some of the most comfortable I've worn!

There are these very frustrating wires visible on the actual can. The way i got round this is tucking it into the sides, but be warned don't flex the headphones to much if you do this you will cause damage to these wires.

The coiled cable connected to the headphones don't look particularly appealing if you want to walk around with them, so I'd recommend getting the straight wire set from a specialist.

One final point to make. A lot of people wonder how these compare to the srh840's i know i did when i was considering buying them. What it comes down to in the end is what you want to use these headphones for. If you just want to use them casually on your mp3 player or computer unamped they sound pretty much the same. However if you plan to use a GOOD set of headphone amps then it is worth getting the SRH840's.

Peter Bovis(Date Added: Saturday 05 February, 2011)
5 of 5 Stars!

After a lot of searching I decided upon these Pioneer headphones to replace a well worn set from Sennheiser.

Comfortable, great sound though I expect this will improve further once "run in" properly and worth the money paid they are a great complement to my noise reducing Senn PXC350's.

Dislike the odd separate wire on the back of the cups as I find these easy to catch when putting the phones on, but part from this quirk (due to the folding design) well built and excellent quality.

I expect to get many years service from these headphones.

Strongly recommended.

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Dan Parks(Date Added: Friday 26 November, 2010)
4 of 5 Stars!

I Decided on these 'phones after i read lots of positive reviews, when I first got them I noticed how well built they are, and I like how they flex in all directions - reducing the chance of snapping, a curse that haunts my friend with his Dr Dre headphones. They are very comfortable, although quite heavy, however they don't clamp very hard, this is generally good, but it means they slide off my head if I tilt it forward a lot.

Now, the important bit - sound quality. when I first tried them I admit I was concerned, my previous headphones were advertised as 'extra bass' so they were very muddy and deep, which is the opposite to these 'phones. At first I was worried because I wasn't used to the clean and detailed treble and mids, on top of this the highs sounded a little harsh at first. I left them playing for about 50 hours straight, which improved them infinately! Now they have very clean treble, the bass has tightened up, and the mids are very warm sounding. Right now they sound very nice, I listen to all types of music, from hip hop to drum and bass to heavy metal to classical, and they seem to work well for all genres. One thing though, for heavy metal and classical type music, I like to increase the bass a tiny bit on Winamp, to give them the same depth that my previous headphones had, but this might not apply to people used to ipod earbuds and other cheap earphones.

To conclude:
general product quality = excellent
comfort = very good
sound isolation = good
sound quality = very good

Ray Eden(Date Added: Monday 20 September, 2010)
5 of 5 Stars!

Comfortable and responsive, nice low end and plenty of detail. Well worth the money.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Adam Hodges(Date Added: Thursday 26 August, 2010)
5 of 5 Stars!

Excellent headphones and well built. I have tried other brands and keep coming back to Shure.
The others are not as well made, have thinner cables and generally don't sound as good as the comparable Shure product.

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Andrew Bradford(Date Added: Tuesday 25 May, 2010)
4 of 5 Stars!

Great headphones.Well built, good comfort levels (could be better) and closed back means they cut out a lot of external noise.The cable is a coiled like an old telephone handset and detachable which stops it getting damaged if you catch it when your doing stuff around the house. The sound quality is fine to me - I read a review that stated they perform as almost as well as the SRH840 and there is a nice balance to the sound. I am still running them in but after around 20 hours they are performing well and the sound quality has improved.

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
paul winthrop(Date Added: Friday 07 May, 2010)
5 of 5 Stars!

Just got these quarter of an hour ago and tried them with a track I am working on in the studio. I normally monitor through a pair of samson rubicon nearfield speakers which I find are a nice flat response and my mixes tend to sound pretty much the way I intended on other peoples hi fis, so I wanted a pair of headphones that would also give me that flat response (not as easy as you may think unless you want to spend lots of dough). Anyway, the good news is these headphones sounded great right away and I know after owning several others (seinheisser hd280, akg k271, sony mvc etc) that these are going to be just fine for my needs. A word about advanced mp3..I had read several reviews about the phones and decided to go online to buy them so checked ebay 1st then amazon then just googled and came across the best deal with advanced mp3, I,d never used them before so was a bit wary as some people are. I placed the order with them at 11pm on wed and here they are delivered at 1pm on friday..This is 1st class service on a 1st class item with a bargain basement price. Thank you all very much.

What do you think?

Shure SRH440 Professional Quality Headphones

Facebook

What do customers choose?

FiiO L3 Line Out Cable for iPod
40% choose this very product:
FiiO L3 Line Out Cable for iPod
4 of 5 Stars! (7)
£7.99 £6.99
Jaybird Freedom - Wireless Handsfree Bluetooth Headphones
20% buy:
Jaybird Freedom - Wireless Handsfree Bluetooth Headphones
4 of 5 Stars! (16)
£99.00
Cowon S9, J3, i10, X7 & X9 USB Cable
20% buy:
Cowon S9, J3, i10, X7 & X9 USB Cable
5 of 5 Stars! (6)
£8.57
Line-in cable (stereo cable) (Male to Male)
20% buy:
Line-in cable (stereo cable) (Male to Male)
5 of 5 Stars! (2)
£3.91 £2.99