Follow us on Twitter Become a Fan on Facebook Watch AMP3 TV on YouTube Read the latest news on Blogger
Shure SE215 Sound Isolating Earphones
  • Shure SE215 Sound Isolating Earphones

Shure SE215 Sound Isolating Earphones

£99.99 £89.00
Seen this product cheaper? We'll try and beat the price. Click here.

Product discontinued, click here for alternatives

Discontinued

We've got these great alternatives in stock:

Seen this product cheaper? We'll try and beat the price. Click here. £99.00£89.95
In Stock
Seen this product cheaper? We'll try and beat the price. Click here. £22.99£20.99
In Stock
Seen this product cheaper? We'll try and beat the price. Click here. £39.00£35.99
In Stock
Seen this product cheaper? We'll try and beat the price. Click here. £34.50
In Stock

Customer Review

Graham Davidson

(8th August 2013)
This is my 3rd pair of Shure in ear sound isolating earphones although my 1st pair of SE215's. I found them uncomfortable for the first couple of uses as my
Shure SE215 Sound Isolating Earphones
 £99.99£89.00
Shure SE215 Sound Isolating Earphones
Suggest a product
Suggest a product

Have you seen a great product we should be stocking?

Suggest it and we'll give you a £50 Gift Voucher!


In the box
  • SE215 Earphones
  • Transport Case
  • Black foam sleeves (S/ M/ L)
  • Soft flex sleeves (S/ M/ L)

Customers Reviews

Average customers review
4 of 5 Stars! (22 customer reviews)

Peter Goodridge(Date Added: Friday 06 September, 2013)
5 of 5 Stars!

So far these are excellent. I work from home and start work early - these earphones successfully block nearly all the background noise made by 2 noisy kids getting ready to go out to school. The sound is great and the earphones comfortable enough to wear for a couple of hours. My old Shure earphones served me well for a few years before the cables wore out with all the bending. The cable on these ones seems to be a lot stronger with plastic reinforcing near the ear phone end, which takes a few days to become pliable. I tried some cheaper sound isolating earphones after my previous Shure wore out, but these are so so much better.
In short - recommended

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Graham Davidson(Date Added: Thursday 08 August, 2013)
5 of 5 Stars!

This is my 3rd pair of Shure in ear sound isolating earphones although my 1st pair of SE215's. I found them uncomfortable for the first couple of uses as my ears got used to the new shape but now I find them wonderful. I use them mainly for commuting on the train and they significantly reduce external sounds but not 100% which is actually a good thing. They do not leak sound so i do not get complaints from my neighbours and I am therefore very happy with my purchase. Advanced MP3 did an excellent job, great price and kept me in touch with delivery schedule. I am a return customer and will come back again. Thanks guys.

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Mike Rowell(Date Added: Wednesday 10 April, 2013)
4 of 5 Stars!

My last pair of Shure's met an untimely end when one of the earbuds fell in a glass of water, the SE215's were up at a good price so I thought why not. First impressions are they are very different to the original ones I had, the cable takes a little bit of getting used to, however once you have it figured out it works very well. Twist the ear phones out then insert them and rotate them in the ear to get a good fit then run the armoured part over the top of your ear. All good.

Sound quality wise, they are a tighter isolating fit so there isn't as much external noise, and there is definitely more bass to them, so all in all, even though they were quite expensive (more than I'd usually pay) i think they were worth the cost.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Frank Ewins(Date Added: Friday 22 March, 2013)
1 of 5 Stars!

I've been using Shure in ear phones for over 10 years, not any more! I wish I could give them a good review but I can't. The sound is good as always but the cable is dreadful. It is extremely heavy and the way they've sort of armoured the ends makes them very tricky to put on quickly as they have no flexibility. I also think the fit in the ear is much less comfortable than previous models. Personally I won't be using them any more but good luck to anyone who does like them.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Daniel Morris(Date Added: Friday 08 March, 2013)
5 of 5 Stars!

After my last shure earphones broke after much use within the 2 year warranty advanced MP3 players once again proved they are tops when it comes to customer service and sent me these as a replacement. Fantastic earphones. I like the fact the speaker part is detachable should the wire become freyed as is how most headphones seem to go this can easily be replaced. I was a bit concerned that they may come apart too easily but this is not the case. The sound is rich and detailed excellent clarity especially low end. For those of you who dont want to join the expensive dre headphones bandwagon and who are looking for an upgrade to the awful free headphones you get with ipod and Iphones give these a go. You can listen to music as loud as you like with no distortion and due to the sound isolation foam the whole train carriage doesnt have to listen to your music! They do sit quite deep in your ear canal which takes a little bit of getting used to but once you do they are extremely comfortable and you will never stray from shure earphones....

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Simon White(Date Added: Friday 22 February, 2013)
3 of 5 Stars!

I previously had some IE6's which were awesome, after loosing them I opted for these Shure 215's. Fit and comfort is excellent, negatives are they are considerably heavier than the IE6, and I am now on my 3rd pair in 18 month as they seem to develop a connectivity fault in the right ear after about 6 months. Each set has been replaced with no fuss some im no worse off its just disappointing that a thoroughbred earphone such as this should go Pete Tong!!! Even though the audio quality is good and if i had a choice I would opt for a different replacement next time round! Disappointed!

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Colin Cavangh(Date Added: Sunday 27 January, 2013)
5 of 5 Stars!

I've had Shure ear-phones before so when they broke I searched for a suitable replacement. I find these SE215 ear-phones a bit better because the cable rotates at the ear unit. Yes, it can be a bit fiddly putting them in, looping the support over the ear but once in they give a great sound. They block out external noise and, because of the foam insert, stop any noise getting out, hence other people are not annoyed by the irritating tinny leaking noise. They come with a selection of foam or rubber ear inserts to fit your ear canal properly.Price is fine, delivery first-class.

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Antony Bullard(Date Added: Wednesday 02 January, 2013)
3 of 5 Stars!

The web site obviously confudsed me, thought that I was ordering black and I got clear ones. Quality of sound is OK but not out of the ordinary. Would have expected this level of sound quality on something priced at £25.00. Once fitted they are comfortable for about 2 hours.

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Graham Burton(Date Added: Saturday 29 September, 2012)
4 of 5 Stars!

I own a Cowon J3 and used this MP3 player to test the Shure SE215. My previous earphones were 1) Sennheiser MM50 (Used with 3rd Gen Ipod Shuffle 2) Klipsch Image S4.

Shure SE215 Review

1) Fitting

Firstly, out of the box there are small, medium and large in both foam and soft flex sleeves. I opted for the large foam ones because I found they gave good sound isolation and bass despite not having very large ears I found you have to squash the foam down and they then expand again in your outer ear canal after insertion. The noise of traffic and other external noise was drastically reduced in my case.

At first the earphones took me a while to fit but its easy once you get the hang of the over-ear cord design. That said they are not suited to quickly and repeatedly taking off and on to listen to people so I just turn off the player and leave them in. Personal fit rating 9/10.

2) Sound Quality

The Shure earphones are known for having a balanced sound which I take to mean not too much bass or treble. The SE215's are balanced but have quite a soft or shallower rounded sound quality to them. Not as bassy as my Sennheisers or as clear sounding as my Klisch earphones but a balanced sound.

At first I was a bit disappointed with the earphones as they sounded, but after an extended period of use (about 10-20 hours) they do sound much better. The frequency range is a limited to 22hz-17.5khz but they still sound good and quite loud on my J3 for the volume setting. Impedance is 20 ohms.

What does this let these down a little is the rather narrow stereo imaging. You never get true stereo with earphones, I know, but if you want a wider soundstage then I don't think these earphones are the ones for you. They're not terrible, admittedly, but I was hoping for more in this regard. Sound Quality rating. 8/10.

3) Build Quality

Its very early to comment on this as I've only had them about two to three weeks but they seem pretty solid. The tops of the cables near the ear phone housing are reinforced for bending over the ear. I can't see the phones wearing out any time soon if well taken care of. Build rating 8/10.

4) Overall. Good earphones for the money. Not earth shatteringly great, I think, but then thats what the higher model Shures are for, I presume. Overall 8/10.

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Gareth Terrace(Date Added: Friday 21 September, 2012)
4 of 5 Stars!

I've had V Moda Vibes for the last 5 years and when they died, I replaced them with these SE215s.

The SE 215s (to my ears anyway) are a lot clearer, and don't overblow the bass like the Vibes did. Getting them in my ears took a bit of getting used to and so did finding the right tips, but once you're settled in, they're a really sturdy, very nice sounding pair of cans.

One thing worth special mention is the sound isolation. I've got the squidgy "earplug" type of tips fitted and despite the building work going on in the office, I can't hear anything but my tunes.

The only negative is the price really, but if they last 5 years then it'll be money well spent.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Gordon Williams(Date Added: Sunday 17 June, 2012)
5 of 5 Stars!

I have had Shure earphones in the past and found they were excellent so decided to replace them with these when they finally broke. I love the foam earplugs as they block out all unwanted noise (bus engine and fellow passengers). They don't seem as comfortable as my old ones but I remember having to get used to those too as these really are an earphone attached to an ear plug, I always use the foam attachments as they block the external noise so much better than the rubber ones. The sound is really good, not too much bass and a nice clear sound, aided by the lack of background noise so the listening volume is much lower. This also has to be a positive thing long term for my hearing.

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Martyn Downs(Date Added: Wednesday 14 March, 2012)
5 of 5 Stars!

I bought these earphones to replace my Etymotic MC5's after the cable snapped, I'd heard lots of good things about Shure and the fact that they had removable kevlar reinforced cables was icing on the cake.

AMP3 were excellent as usual and the earphones arrived within a day!

After a little fiddling about to get the proper seal for me ears. I hopped on the bike for a quick blast to the lake district, eight hours later I returned home grinning from ear to ear having been blown away by the quality of the sound. Within minutes I was on AMP3 ordering some ACS custom sleeves, to add extra isolation and comfort to these already outstanding headphones.

If you need a comfortable high quality set of headphones for under £100 you can't do much better than these and the removable cable means you dont have to replace the job lot if you can somehow manage to damage them (The cables are built to last!)

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
Ant B(Date Added: Tuesday 14 February, 2012)
5 of 5 Stars!

Been looking to upgrade my basic earphones for a while but as I tend to break them all the time thought it better to stick to cheaper brands and also I wanted handsfree for my iPhone so normally get the £2 pair of earphones for out and about and then have a £30 pair for home.

I'm working more from home nowadays and wear earphones all of the time to block out the surrounding noise (wife and kid) so thought I should treat myself (as a late xmas prezzie).

I spent countless hours researching and finally plumped for the se215. First pair of Shures first pair of "over the ears". To start with I thought the bass was a bit weak (even though the ear-seal is excellent and deep) but after running them for a couple of weeks now they seem to have improved all around no end. I've compared them side by side with about 6 other pairs (all cheaper to be fair) and the are vastly better.

I read a review where someone said they were hard to put in, what a load of rubbish I can put them in in about 15 seconds for both and thats with the memory foam tips giving them time to expand.

I have a slightly mishapen left ear and after 5-6 hours that can get a bit sore but the right is fine all day.

The only upgrade I could ever see myself doing is going for customs for that extra comfort otherwise these are near perfect (the cable doesnt tangle easily either).

First rate!!!!

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Ally McConnell(Date Added: Tuesday 10 January, 2012)
5 of 5 Stars!

As I have a two-hour commute to and from work 5 days a week, I require noise-isolating earphones.
I've been a Shure user for years, and have always found their sound-staging to be favourable above other brands. The likes of Sennheiser produce a very muddy bass response, which does not bode well with my taste in music. The Shure give a nice detailed and balanced sound, each aspect of the tonal spectrum is fairly even, with a good level of detail.
At first I was a little unsure of this new design (the old version of these, the SE210, were smaller in-the-ear) however now that I am used to the fit and slightly different wearing style, I'm once again very fond of them. They are a little awkward to fit when you first try them, but when you are accustomed to them, they'll fit well.
I find them comfortable for long periods of time, and find the medium tips fit best.

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
El Osito(Date Added: Monday 09 January, 2012)
1 of 5 Stars!

I bought these earphones on the recommendation of the Amp3 customer services. I live and work in Colombia, so shelling out £73 for a set earphones is a lot for me as Colombian pesos don't go to far! They were bought as a replacement to my Soundmagic PL50 earphones which I really liked, but unfortunately they broke after about 2 months of use, and being back in Colombia, I couldn't do anything about it (these were not bought through Amp3 as they were out of stock at the time). I teamed them up with my Cowon I9 player that I bought from Amp3, and was very happy, just let down by the build quality of the cans.

So this time I thought I would chat with the customer services at Amp3 and explain what I was after, and see what they recommended. The criteria was as follows: Comfort of high importance as they would be used for lengthy periods (22 hour journeys back to the UK, 10 hour bus journeys back in Colombia etc). Sound quality - not too bassy, nice and clear sound separation, good high end, to be used for rock (from Led Zep to Metallica to Puressence and everything in between) and Latin music (both Salsa and Spanish pop/rock). Also I wanted them to be flush to the ear, rather than sticking out like bullets. So that's the background info, which I hope puts my review into context. Also this review is based on my personal opinions in turn based on my needs and ears (everybody's ears are different, so what works for one will not necessarily work for another and visa versa). I am not an audiophile - just a guy that wants his music to sound good.

I should also point out that I wanted to love these earphones! I was willing them on, and still am!

So the headphones arrived first thing Monday morning having been ordered on a Friday - impressive work Amp3 and Royal Mail! It is now 14:30, so I have been playing around with them for around 4 1/2 hours, and they are obviously still being burnt in.

Build quality - I have to say that the build quality appears to be very good. The cable is very thick and sturdy, of good length, the jack is at a right angle which I think is better and stronger. The cans themselves seem to be built well, but only time will tell on that, but good first impressions. I expect it wont be too long till I find out how well built they are as the tips are very difficult to take off and put back on. I am terrified of breaking the tubes, but the tips really are difficult to remove - especially the ones that are on when they arrive (medium foam tips). More on the tips below...

Comfort - OK, so this depends completely on your ears, but for me these are incredibly uncomfortable. In fact I actually find them painful. I obviously tried them on immediately with the supplied medium foam tips. I really struggled to get them into my ears. Eventually got them in, but had to take them out almost immediately - just too painful. I then tried the small foam tips (the ones that I am using now as I write this. These for me are the most comfortable. The 'soft flex' smalls were not very comfortable and the sound isolation was not as good. There is no point in me trying the bigger sizes as they just wont fit into my ears. I still find the small ones very tight and sore, but they are the best for me. Maybe I have very small ear canals or something, but I have never had any issues with previous IEM's. I audibly let out an 'arghhhh' every time I take them out. I wanted to use them when boxing training too, and these will be perfect for that as wearing them makes me feel like I'm being punched in the ears continuously. There is no way I will be able to wear these for extended periods - just too painful. They sit nice and flush in the ears, and definitely don't feel like they will fall out! There is the possibility that my ear canals will expand somewhat with use, and they will become more comfortable - but I doubt it. Very very disappointing to say the least.


Sound Quality - Hmmmmm. I really don't know why I was recommended these earphones. I specifically said I did not want the bass to be overpowering. These are bass heavy. The mids get lost completely. Couple this with the 'warm' sound of Shure earphones and it all feels very 'soft'. I wanted crisp sounding cans, and these are not that at all. If you have ever heard any Puressence songs you will know that James's voice is amazing - and with these cans it is completely lost in the bass heavy sound. Listening to some Slash & Myles Kennedy acoustic sessions doesn't get any better. Where is the detail? Just lack of definition. It sounds heavy and sluggish. Surely they will be better with Led Zep? Well slightly, but not a great deal. Chris Cornell sounded ok. So, in my opinion they are far too bassy, with lack of definition in the mids, and they have a soft rather than an accurate sound. NOT WHAT I WANTED AMP3! Maybe they will improve as they are burnt in, assuming I still have the desire to put these bringers of pain into my ears.

I have a feeling I will be spending many hours changing EQ settings to try and get anything like the sound I wanted to get.

In summary for £73 (realistically equivalent of about £200 when you are earning Colombia pesos)I am massively disappointed. If you like bassy earphones then these may well be good for you. Comfort is subjective, all I can say is for me they are terrible. I won't be buying any Shure product again, and I really think after this experience the only way to buy earphones is by trying them out first to get a good idea of the sound and comfort. Unfortunately this inst easy to do! I am left wondering if the only reason that I was recommended these earphones by customer services was because everything else in my price bracket was out of stock (being beginning of January). The two options I was given were Denon AH-360 at £29.99 and these Shures at £72.99! My budget was £60. If this is the case it's a shame as I really like the company.

I am left deciding if I give these 1 star or 2. My ears hurt!! 1 star because of this and they don't fulfill the criteria I set out. If you do buy these I hope you have better luck with them than me!


AMP3 RESPONSE:
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to write a product review, though we are sorry to hear you were not entirely satisfied with your product.

Our staff recommend certain products dependending on intended usage, preferred wearing style and the music they enjoy listening to. Whilst our staff do test the majority of our products to allow them to offer the advice they do, one persons opinion can differ greatly from another's -and so it is not always easy to recommend earphones as the customer will never, ever know if they are the right set for them until they test them themself. Everyone's ears are different!

Whilst the entire Shure range have far less bass-emphasis than many other models on the market, they may not be suited to each and every person's tastes.

Please do bear in mind that all items are covered by our ‘7 Day Unwanted Item Policy’ which means that within seven working days of an order being received, it can be returned for a refund or exchange.
If we can ever help at all in any other way, please don't hesitate to get in touch.
Kind regards,
The AMP3 Team.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Edwin Cornish(Date Added: Thursday 17 November, 2011)
5 of 5 Stars!

These were purchased as a replacement for my in ear monitors used for playing keys in a band.
I have struggled in the past with some of these bulkier in ears to find some that are comftorbal but these have been great right from the start.

The have a good sound, sometimes laking a little punch in the base. a great build quality and all for a very good price.

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
David Oliver(Date Added: Thursday 17 November, 2011)
5 of 5 Stars!

Bought these to replace my SE115 earphones which met with a little accident (got stomped on!). Excellent sound quality, with the added bonus that you can buy spares and the build quality seems to be a heck of a lot better than the Shure earphones of old.

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
David Ivins(Date Added: Thursday 15 September, 2011)
5 of 5 Stars!

I bought these amazing little earphones to replace my trusty SE110s that got chewed by the dog and was very impressed with the sound quality and comfort. The replaceable cable is a massive bonus and the main reason I bought them. Takes a little time to get used to the memory wire but for the price I'm delighted.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Karl Fryer(Date Added: Thursday 01 September, 2011)
5 of 5 Stars!

I purchased Shure SE215's to replace my Sennheiser CX300Mk11's which I thought were really good. I have to say the SE215's are musically better, the clarity and volume increase over the Sennheiser's is really noticable. I am saying this even though the Shure's aren't burnt in yet.
I am certainly enjoying the quality and would certainly give them my recommendation.

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
Jonah Thurgood(Date Added: Tuesday 24 May, 2011)
5 of 5 Stars!

I bought these to replace my old SE110's, what a difference. These are just phenomenal, As has been pointed out in review they're a little weak near the high end but overall the sound is so good I'm picking up details m=on tracks I'd never heard before. They're not a clean sound as there is a bit of extra emphasis on the bass which suits me nicely. Beautiful earphones, well worth every penny.

What do you think?

Shure SE215 Sound Isolating Earphones

Facebook

What do customers choose?

SoundMagic E10 In-Ear Earphones
11% choose this very product:
SoundMagic E10 In-Ear Earphones
5 of 5 Stars! (68)
£34.50
SoundMagic E30 Pro-Fit In-Ear Earphones
8% buy:
SoundMagic E30 Pro-Fit In-Ear Earphones
5 of 5 Stars! (22)
£39.00 £35.99
FiiO E06 Portable Headphone Amplifier
7% buy:
FiiO E06 Portable Headphone Amplifier
5 of 5 Stars! (22)
£22.99 £20.99
SoundMagic PL11 In-Ear Super Bass Earphones
7% buy:
SoundMagic PL11 In-Ear Super Bass Earphones
5 of 5 Stars! (35)
£19.99 £17.99