Follow us on Twitter Become a Fan on Facebook Watch AMP3 TV on YouTube Read the latest news on Blogger
Jaybird Freedom - Wireless Handsfree Bluetooth Headphones
  • Jaybird Freedom - Wireless Handsfree Bluetooth Headphones
  • products/JF3FREEDOM/JF3FREEDOME1S.jpg

Jaybird Freedom - Wireless Handsfree Bluetooth Headphones

£99.00
Seen this product cheaper? We'll try and beat the price. Click here.

Product discontinued, click here for alternatives

Discontinued

We've got these great alternatives in stock:

Seen this product cheaper? We'll try and beat the price. Click here. £139.99
In Stock
Seen this product cheaper? We'll try and beat the price. Click here. £109.00£19.99
In Stock
Seen this product cheaper? We'll try and beat the price. Click here. £99.99
In Stock
Seen this product cheaper? We'll try and beat the price. Click here. £39.99£19.99
Low Stock

Customer Review

Lisa Facey

(28th May 2012)
I purchased these Jaybird freedom earphones as I was sick of the attaching clip breaking on all the other MP3 players I have used at the gym, I was also fed up
Jaybird Freedom - Wireless Handsfree Bluetooth Headphones
£99.00
Jaybird Freedom - Wireless Handsfree Bluetooth Headphones
Suggest a product
Suggest a product

Have you seen a great product we should be stocking?

Suggest it and we'll give you a £50 Gift Voucher!


In the box
  • Jaybird Freedom headphones
  • 3 sizes of Securefit Ear Cushions
  • 3 sizes of silicone tips
  • USB charge cable
  • Manual

Customers Reviews

Average customers review
4 of 5 Stars! (16 customer reviews)

Charlie Jarrett(Date Added: Friday 06 September, 2013)
4 of 5 Stars!

Recently bought a cheaper pair of Bluetooth earphones and they are no comparison to the Jaybird Freedom
Sound quality is superior in the jaybird but the big difference is battery life it Is more than trebled with the Jaybird

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Jennie(Date Added: Thursday 14 March, 2013)
3 of 5 Stars!

I think I may have a dud....I hope I do anyway or the rest of you have seriously low expectations!

I found that the earphones don't last more then a few hours, I use mine for the gym, they work for 1 workout and prep time (no longer then 3 hours max) then I switch them off. Next day I try again and manage about 20 minutes....

Somehow not working!

Otherwise, sound quality is decent, I can't rate the earphone fitting though as I am *still* awaiting a delivery of ear covers from AMP3 and have contacted them regarding this but am yet to hear anything. I seem to be very unlucky; everyone else strongly rates this site for it's customer service yet for me, three times now one fail after another :(

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
William Fairhurst(Date Added: Tuesday 29 May, 2012)
5 of 5 Stars!

These are quite simply awesome - as are the team at amp3. Ordered yesterday in my ears today.

The headphones come with a range of earbuds and retainers which help secure them in your ear for running - there is a set of over ear bands as well.

I dont like wired headphones as the wire is always in the wrong place or you have to do some sort of miricle move to get it to the right place in your shirt to plug to my arm band.

I wear these in the office when at my desk and they allow me to leave without the hassle of pulling my ears out.

Nice carry case to protect them and keep the charge cable in.

Lisa Facey(Date Added: Monday 28 May, 2012)
5 of 5 Stars!

I purchased these Jaybird freedom earphones as I was sick of the attaching clip breaking on all the other MP3 players I have used at the gym, I was also fed up of sweating on them so much they broke within 12 months.
I wasn't sure if these headphones would be suitable for me as I have tiny ears but I was wrong, they are AMAZING. I have used them 6 times now at the gym and they fit perfectly. I do a lot of fast running and circuit training where I am doing press ups and squat jumps and other activities that mean a lot of jumping around and throwing myself on the floor and sweating a lot and they haven’t moved, not even a little bit. I do use the gecko grips with them though which does give a huge amount of extra grip.
I use these with my iPod touch at the gym which means I can leave it in my pocket and forget it’s there. The sound is really good quality and blocks out all other sound around you and you do not get any of the ‘internal’ noise of breathing, heart beating or the noise of the cable rubbing on your clothing etc. The function buttons work really well and are easy to access and use.
I am in love with these headphones, they are making every gym session a joyous occasion. It may be a small simple thing but wireless headphones are the future. THANK YOU JAYBIRD you have freed me from the annoyance that is headphone wires and given me quality sound as well.

Marc Stokes(Date Added: Thursday 03 May, 2012)
5 of 5 Stars!

The purchase included the ipod bluetooth converter module. I have only used these for a day but have been blown away by their quality. The box they come in screams quality out at you. No flimsy cut open plastic pod here thank you very much. Plug the small bluetooth transmitter into the base of my neolithically aged ipod (series three I think) and press to start bluetooth pairing. Switch the earphones into pairing mode with a press of a button. Put them in, listen for the bleep that says paired and away you go.

And then there's the sound. From a classic Zepplin album through a slightly less classic Leftfield to Red Snapper they have delivered on the promissed warm bass, solid midranges and lack of tinny trebble. I have had much worse coming out of fairly expensive wired in-ear headphones.

I can't comment on their use with a phone as I have't tried that. They have paired successfully with my Blackberry torch however.

Ok so the observant amonsgt you might have gathered that these are the most advanced bits of technology I own. I do have the new ipad however and they also pair with that well.

On a final note the batteries have lasted four hours and no sign of failing yet.

James Grubb(Date Added: Tuesday 20 March, 2012)
4 of 5 Stars!

I've been using these every evening for my 10k run for almost a year now, and I must say I have been nothing but impressed by these.
Whilst the intial fit wasn't perfect (I did have to stop once or twice to re-insert them) the newer Gecko-grip fitting buds have really made a difference.
I do have quite big ears, but with the bigger sized tips these stay in place well.

I'm not sure if they'd be quite as suited for use in a gym environment - as I imagine your head would move about a bit more, but for my intended purpose, these do the job well.

Whilst the sound quality isn't up to the standard of my Denon cans, for a bluetooth wireless set they do sound pretty decent, and they block out external noise well.

I'm a happy chappy!

Barrie Shaw(Date Added: Tuesday 23 August, 2011)
4 of 5 Stars!

The freedom earphones are impressive. I found the sound quality good, & no cable under my coat etc was great. Range is a bit limited. A sound purchase. So good my better half keeps nicking them !!! Must save up for another set........

jason simms(Date Added: Saturday 13 August, 2011)
4 of 5 Stars!

Good product,sound ok,plenty of punch to the music,they also come with the new ear cushions in 3 sizes in the box,still needs refining as a bit fiddly but by far the best bluetooth earphones out there at the minute.

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Kerry down(Date Added: Wednesday 06 July, 2011)
5 of 5 Stars!

All round very impressed with headphones. Great design, great sound! Great Quality even when call on my iPhone. The only slight fault with them is that, I do alot of running and after a while as I become sweaty they start falling out my ears. Iv tries all the buds m grips and happens every time... who knows, may be my ears! I see that Jaybird have released the connecters that help keep them in your ears. I have requested mine via email because I love this product . Well worth the money.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Craig(Date Added: Monday 04 July, 2011)
4 of 5 Stars!

Using these with my HTC Desire. Cant complain really. As noted in other reviews the sound quality is not out of this world but good enough for your average user. They perform nicely in the gym, gecko ear plugs stay in well but It did take a few attempts to use the right size for my ears. No technical issues, my phone goes in my bag whilst walking and everything runs smoothly. My only criticism would be the choice of rubber used around the wire, if you're wearing a collared shirt it can catch when turning your head - this twists the ear phone if unlucky and loosens it slightly. This can be irritating, tucking the wire in to counter this is also a bit annoying. This is a minor point. Overall this product is performing well for me, happy to be free from wires! Good product, would recommend to a friend.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
alex lee(Date Added: Tuesday 28 June, 2011)
4 of 5 Stars!

Been waiting for these for a while and eventually they became available at a competitive price from advance mp3 players -- google searched a few places but advanced mp3 players actually had them in stock, others sold out or awaiting delivery. overall advance mp3 players deserve a mention here because they were first class with their communication and their speedy delivery service through fed-ex. thumbs up!

now, the anticipate wait for these headphones were only disappointing in one department and absolutely one flaw at that. i even took this up with jaybirdgear themselves about this design flaw through their live chat service because it is such a great product with good sound, good discreet size and a wide range of ear fitments to fit every shape of ear for a perfectly snug fit.

the flaw, an electronic design fault in my humble opinion, why they allowed this into production i really cannot fathom, but on the other hand the manual does mention this that the bluetooth device that the FREEDOM is paired to is recommended to be on the right hand side of the person so that the bluetooth signal is picked up without any interruptions from the right side earphone!

so, eager to test the FREEDOM after a full charge, went out cycling with the iphone in my chest pocket wearing the comfortable perfect fit of the JF3, initially the sound transmitted to the headphones was seamless but when my head HAD to turn back right to look for traffic it then became clear to me as to why the instructions recommends that the iphone should be worn or carried on the persons' right side. every time i had to look behind right the transmitted sound became intermittent, however looking to ones left there were no signs of break in signal!

took this up with the guy on the live chat in the jaybirdgear website and all he could was apologize and that i should invest in an armband! and also because of the size of the headphones, the bluetooth electronics were reduced too, therefore resulting in some loss of signal... bloody hell! hello? i don't want to purchase an armband so that the bluetooth signal will not break up... i am quite happy to put the iphone in my pocket, thank you!

how many times when we patiently wait for a new gadget to come out and when it comes out to the masses there's a bloody flaw with it??? i believe jaybird are bringing out a different version of the JF3 called BLUEBUDS, whether then they will have ironed out the bluetooth connectivity issues i don't know? but for the time being i am a little cheesed off at the fact these great little buggers has a small problem when the iphone is not near the right side of a ones' body!!!

actually, i could go on and add another little design oversight, perhaps? why haven't they included a wind noise cancelling processor in with these headphones? surely the technology is readily available? complaining because when the wind picks up just a little when out doors (and most of us will use these outdoors, right?) the person you are trying to have a conversation with cannot hear a word of what your are trying to say to them because there's no noise cancelling in with these earphones... (however, the BLUEBUDS have them)

in a nutshell, great concept and good quality. only flawed by the slightly weak bluetooth signal. 8/10 for product and 10/10 for advance mp3 players (actually, maybe 9/10 because saying out loud advance mp3 players can be a bit of a tongue twister!)

Craig Atherton(Date Added: Friday 17 June, 2011)
5 of 5 Stars!

Admittedly, when I first tried them, they did seem a bit fiddly, however,no more so than my wired Shures did the first time I tried them. In essence, I'd have to say that all new products do take a bit of 'getting used to', so to speak.
i go to the gym 3/4 times a week, for 30-90minutes at a time, so I'm by no means an athlete, but I do need something that will perform well, and stay in place.
Using the Gecko-Grip replacement tips, I've found these stay in place throughout my whole workout, and the buttons are well-postiioned and easily-reachable, allowing me to change track and adjust volume with ease whilst on the treadmill.
Sound-quality-wise, they're pretty good, certainly some of the better ones on the market anyway. Of course something Blutooth will never sound as good as a wired set, and no, I wouldn't ever suggest they are on par with my Shures. But I wasn't naive enough to ever expect them to be comparable to Shure or Klipsch (my two previous wire4d sets). These aren't meant to be, either. These are sport earphones. For use when doing exercise or sport. And they do this very nicely indeed. They sound pretty good, with a decent evel of bass and clarity, and I've yet to hear them distort.
The Jaybird system works faultlessly, My ipod either sits on the machine in front of me, resting on the screen, or on the floor nearest to me. I never ever have my ipod in my pocket, and have never experienced any issues using it this way.


Perhaps not for your commuting audiophile, or your 'sit at home on the couch' audiophile, but for sporting use? Oh yes.

If like me, you find the gym a bit tedious and boring, then I'd definately recommend a set. Pricey but worth it.Probably the best wireless headphones I've found.

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
brent wicksted(Date Added: Friday 03 June, 2011)
4 of 5 Stars!

I've been anticipating the release of the Jaybird Bluebuds for over a year now. It doesn't seem this launch will ever bear fruition so the next best thing, the Jaybird JF3's.

1st off I must compliment Advanced MP3 Players on their exemplary service. Every aspect of doing business with them was an absolute pleasure.

Now the JF3's...

Packaging is superb, they come in a very swanky box and a nice suede, magnetized carrier case is included. The packaging alone evokes confidence and creates the impression of quality and the headphones continue this ethos magnificently.

Simple but functional design, elegantly styled and incredibly light is how I would describe them. Control buttons are easily accessible and adequately raised. I'm using the headphones exclusively for listening to music but apparently functionality is extensive.

And what about the sound quality? Pretty accurate, nice bass and reasonable mids. I have a bias towards treble though and in that department I feel the JF3's disappoint a bit but it's no calamity. Volume is good, around 5-8% down on a wired set of headphones so perfectly acceptable.

As for the ear buds the GeckoGrip ear buds are incredibly over rated IMHO!!! They may stay in but they scratchy and blimming uncomfortable. I'm using the standard ear buds and of the 3 sets included in the box, the middle size one's are doing an outstanding job. Including the GeckoGrips there 6 pairs of ear buds included and my advise to users is try them all!!! I'm running on a treadmill and pushing weights and these things don't fall out!!! I may just be fortunate as many users have complained of being unable to find a suitable fit.

Pairing the headphones to iPhone/iPad and Laptop proved excruciatingly simple!! I love the challenge of getting my gadgets to work as the manufacturer intended them to. These were no challenge. Too easy. They really do work, out of the box, as the manufacturer intended them to...

So where do these headphones fall down?

Range is atrocious with or without the adapter. It's not an issue as when is one more than 2 meters away from one's device? Maybe after its just been stolen?

I'm getting maybe 2-3 hours out of a single charge, again not a calamity but expected better.

Where is the AC adapter? I get that the fancy box makes retail sense but as an end user I would have preferred an AC adapter!! Seriously!!

I'm not really using the headphones to make and receive calls which is a good thing. The few calls I have fielded had to be prematurely ended due to the poor call quality. I have however purchased the APT-X adapter and hope that this will resolve the call quality issue...

To conclude: when one anticipates the release of a product for so long it's almost inevitable that one will be disappointed in the end product as expectations are seldom met when one's had a year or two to ponder how the product will perform. But these Jaybirds are one product, one wouldn't want to miss!!!

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Sherwin de Leon(Date Added: Tuesday 10 May, 2011)
4 of 5 Stars!

It was a bit tricky at first to find the perfect fit for my ears but eventually it became very comfortable. I use it at the gym and when running and I am very satisfied with it.

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
Sandy Charles(Date Added: Thursday 28 April, 2011)
5 of 5 Stars!

Freedom from wires!

Loving these. Take your time when you get them to ensure you get the fit right, is my advice, and try the gecko grip tips - SUPERB.

These have to be the ultimate workout companion, and the sound quality has genuinely suprised me, and I'm not even using the APTX features of it.

Packaging they arrive in is truly Apple-esk in its quality.

How easily they work with my iphone and ipad has also impressed me, and I love having a genuinely superb sounding set of wireless headphones.

So far i have done;

Mountain biking
Running
the cimbing wall
in car headset
chilling in the house
flight to paris

They are awesome - truly buy with confidence!

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
James O'Neill(Date Added: Tuesday 26 April, 2011)
4 of 5 Stars!

I'd been awaiting the release of these with eager anticipation for some time, when they finally became available in the UK.
I had a set of wirelss earphones from Jaybird a couple of years back, and they were brilliant. Unfortunately I lost them whilst trekking in South America, and had been unable to find them anywhere else.

In all honesty, when I first tried these, they were a pain in the neck to get on, I did find them really fiddly at first. But after reading the instructions (and the helpful video on the Jaybird website), and a few customer reviews on the net, I inserted them at an angle and then twisted downwards, and hey presto, they fitted well and stayed in place!

Sound quality is good, they isolate external noise well, and stay put when I jog. I do a lot of walking because public transport in my local area is pretty much non-existent. These suit my needs perfectly, and I was impressed with the service from this company too.

I've marked them down by one star purely because I was impatient when first trying them, and they were a bit fiddly. All subsequent times I have used them I have found them pretty easy to get in, and keep in!

What do you think?

Jaybird Freedom - Wireless Handsfree Bluetooth Headphones

Facebook