Follow us on Twitter Become a Fan on Facebook Watch AMP3 TV on YouTube Read the latest news on Blogger
FiiO D3 Coaxial/Optical to R/L DAC Audio Converter
  • FiiO D3 Coaxial/Optical to R/L DAC Audio Converter
  • products/FIIOD3/FIIOD3E1S.jpg
  • products/FIIOD3/FIIOD3E2S.jpg
  • products/FIIOD3/FIIOD3E3S.jpg
  • products/FIIOD3/FIIOD3E4S.jpg

FiiO D3 Coaxial/Optical to R/L DAC Audio Converter

£29.99
Seen this product cheaper? We'll try and beat the price. Click here.

Product discontinued, click here for alternatives

Discontinued

We've got these great alternatives in stock:

Seen this product cheaper? We'll try and beat the price. Click here. £109.00£19.99
In Stock
Seen this product cheaper? We'll try and beat the price. Click here. £295.00
In Stock
Seen this product cheaper? We'll try and beat the price. Click here. £119.99£99.00
In Stock
Seen this product cheaper? We'll try and beat the price. Click here. £7.99£6.99
In Stock

Customer Review

Dave Boden

(10th October 2012)
The little Fiio D3 DAC is a great little product that I am using between my PC and amp using the optical cable option. The upgrade in sound from the PC's
FiiO D3 Coaxial/Optical to R/L DAC Audio Converter
£29.99
FiiO D3 Coaxial/Optical to R/L DAC Audio Converter
Suggest a product
Suggest a product

Have you seen a great product we should be stocking?

Suggest it and we'll give you a £50 Gift Voucher!


In the box
  • FiiO D3 Coaxial/Optical to R/L DAC Audio Converter
  • UK AC Adapter

Customers Reviews

Average customers review
5 of 5 Stars! (10 customer reviews)

Russ G(Date Added: Friday 02 November, 2012)
5 of 5 Stars!

I ordered one as a multi-use item to use from my iMac optical output to some Audioengine A2's, also for use with my Sky HD/BluRay player and surround system and finally with a CD player through a 'traditional' HiFi separates system. I was supplied the latest version of the D3 known as the Taishan. Once I conected it to the A2s I was astounded at the sound quality achieved from iTunes via the iMac optical output! Tried it on the CD/Amp setup and again I was blown away by the improvement. I am now thinking I might need 3 of these to separately cover all the uses I have for it! It is superb value and sounds so accurate and clean for the money, it is a no brainer - buy one!

Dave Boden(Date Added: Wednesday 10 October, 2012)
5 of 5 Stars!

The little Fiio D3 DAC is a great little product that I am using between my PC and amp using the optical cable option. The upgrade in sound from the PC's onboard soundcard is clear. I've compared a FLAC rip off the PC against the CD disc playing on my £700 CD player and I defy anyone to tell them apart, both superb.

As mentioned by someone else the Fiio D3 supplied to me is not the one pictured but works perfectly no worries.

Paul R(Date Added: Sunday 23 September, 2012)
5 of 5 Stars!

The product supplied is actually the third generation FiiO D3, not the one in the picture.

The third generation is known as FiiO Taishan D03k D3, Which is a good thing as this new model sounds better.
I am using this with a Apple TV 3 into some Audio Engine A2's, I have nearly 25000 tracks in iTunes Match and the difference in sound quality between this and the Tv output is night and day, a Dac at this price has no right to sound this good.

Setup is simplicity itself connect an optical spdif from the Atv to the FiiO then connect phono cables to your active speakers / Amp, Then lastly connect the FiiO power supply which is a wall-wart to mini USB. Sit back and enjoy the music.

clive smith(Date Added: Tuesday 31 July, 2012)
5 of 5 Stars!

Great little gadget. Excellent sound quality and packed it to a very small footprint so easily hidden. Worked straight out of the box with my HTPC.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Johnny Blue(Date Added: Monday 23 July, 2012)
5 of 5 Stars!

Great little device, not only does what it says on the tin but has improved sound quality from a couple of cheap CD players as well.

Be aware that it doesn't handle Dolby Digital, so HD TV programmes won't produce any saound.

stephen macks(Date Added: Saturday 07 April, 2012)
5 of 5 Stars!

Plus points.....small,usb powered,sounds good

Negative points....none

Buy it, its ideal for tvs with a digital coaxial out that you want to attach to an amplifier. My tv has a good sound anyway but when attached to my amp it makes watching films an occasion.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Raymond Brooks(Date Added: Tuesday 20 March, 2012)
5 of 5 Stars!

I was slightly perturbed when I realised that all connections bar one "optical out" are inputs on my new 50" LG plasma TV. Unfortunately, this meant I had no way of connecting my equally new 2.0 speaker system. After a google search "digital optical cable to analogue rca", I discovered this well reviewed product. It arrived exactly as paid for (next day) and properly packaged. I simply connected the little box to my TV via a TOSLINK cable and to my speakers via two rca cables. I set my TV audio to "PCM", switched on and I was up and running, with stereo sound, crystal clear and no lag (even when simultaneously using the TV speakers). The product is exactly as described and fantastic value for money. Well done AMP3, good show!

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Jon Reynolds(Date Added: Thursday 29 September, 2011)
5 of 5 Stars!

Does exactly as it should. My LCD TV only had a digital audio coax output (no 3.5mm headphones jack can you believe!) and I wanted to use headphones with it. This little device takes the digital output, via a digital coax cable (not included with the FiiO) and converts it to a more regular analogue signal via a pair of RCA (phono) outputs. A simple cable can take the two RCA outputs and combine them into a single 3.5mm female connector ready for your headphones!

Helpful staff answered questions before I bought the unit. Just beware, the power supply (that comes in the box) is a European style plug, so you will need a 2-pin to UK 3-pin adaptor to plug into the mains.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Paul Norris(Date Added: Wednesday 07 September, 2011)
5 of 5 Stars!

Using this to take the FLAC digital output from my HTPC (using a V-Link) to a second hifi (Denon DM38DAB) and it is an excellent device for the money - highly recommended.

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Alec Pagida(Date Added: Friday 12 August, 2011)
5 of 5 Stars!

A very good value dac. Optical and coaxial input via a small toggle switch. It is powered fine from a usb port via an A to miniB cable and does not need the power supply if using with a laptop or netbook (note the pc must have an optical or coaxial out or suitable converter, there is no usb signal input). Noise is not discernible, neither is distortion, output is very clean and clear and can drive an amplifier fine. Coupled with 24 bit and 192 kHz support, a bargain.

What do you think?

FiiO D3 Coaxial/Optical to R/L DAC Audio Converter

Facebook

What do customers choose?