Follow us on Twitter Become a Fan on Facebook Watch AMP3 TV on YouTube Read the latest news on Blogger
FiiO E7 USB DAC and Headphone Amplifier
  • FiiO E7 USB DAC and Headphone Amplifier

FiiO E7 USB DAC and Headphone Amplifier

£79.99 £35.99
Seen this product cheaper? We'll try and beat the price. Click here.

Product discontinued, click here for alternatives

Discontinued

We've got these great alternatives in stock:

Seen this product cheaper? We'll try and beat the price. Click here. £54.99
In Stock
Seen this product cheaper? We'll try and beat the price. Click here. £7.99£6.99
In Stock
Seen this product cheaper? We'll try and beat the price. Click here. £119.99£99.00
In Stock
Seen this product cheaper? We'll try and beat the price. Click here. £22.99£20.99
In Stock

Customer Review

Alex Burns

(21st April 2012)
This DAC/Amp is a very good buy, Have now used it for about 6 months now. It make's the sound from my pc 100 times better than the sound through the
FiiO E7 USB DAC and Headphone Amplifier
 £79.99£35.99
FiiO E7 USB DAC and Headphone Amplifier
Suggest a product
Suggest a product

Have you seen a great product we should be stocking?

Suggest it and we'll give you a £50 Gift Voucher!


In the box
  • E7
  • USB Cable
  • 3.5mm to 3.5mm cable
  • Velour pouch
  • rubber band
  • Manual

Customers Reviews

Average customers review
5 of 5 Stars! (17 customer reviews)

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Michael Green(Date Added: Thursday 20 September, 2012)
5 of 5 Stars!

First of all excellent service from AMP3 as usual. I wasn't too sure whether to buy the E7 as I already have an E5, which I must say I was a little disappointed with. I have a Cowon S9 and the max volume is a little on the low side (not with earphones but when connected up through the car stereo. The E5 didn't offer any amplification at all despite it having the word amplifier in its title. The E7 however is a different kettle of fish and does provide a reasonable level of amplification. I iuse it mainly between my laptop and active speakers in the office and it does a far better job than the in built sound card. Using it with headphones (Shure SE310s) and my Cowon and I must say I love the neutral sound and the ability to add a little more bass when required. Battery life seems to be good as I have the usb charge turned off most of the time when connected to the laptop.

At the price the item is offered by AMP3, this has proved to be a good purchase and I would recommend it to others. One slight proviso though is it does show up poor quality MP3 files and you really need to be used 320kbps files to get the benefit

George(Date Added: Friday 27 July, 2012)
4 of 5 Stars!

A good piece of kit, well engineered and sound improves when it has been run in. I am currently using heaphones to listen, but I am waiting for a Fiio L7 line out to arrive to I can use it as a DAC only. Judging by the current set up, I will not be disappointed.

Sunya(Date Added: Saturday 14 July, 2012)
4 of 5 Stars!

The FiiO E7 has a really pleasant balance and sound stage when used as a USB DAC and as a line-out amplifier, but it really adds nothing to a headphone out socket. In fact, it can be detrimental to the sound if used with headphone out sockets, so if you have a line-out instead or a line-out switch I recommend using that instead, or use the USB (which is by far the best sound quality).

It was very easy to use with both my home Mac and work PC. PC was just plug in and switch on, but with my Mac I had to enable USB DAC in system preferences, then I was off!.

I'd definitely recommend this for people who spend a good amount of time listening on headphones; the real benefits are evident when you use really high quality headphones.

Steve Fenn(Date Added: Thursday 12 July, 2012)
5 of 5 Stars!

Not tried with PC yet. Have a Sony Mp3 player so ran it through the E7 to bog standard earphones which improved the soundstage and quality. Then changed to Sennheiser pxc200 heads which again stepped things up giving a greater depth and quality. Then upped again to my Grado SR60 heads. Have now spent the whole evening revelling in a glorious musical experience. And this is fairly low-fi. How good is that?

Alex Burns(Date Added: Saturday 21 April, 2012)
4 of 5 Stars!

This DAC/Amp is a very good buy, Have now used it for about 6 months now.
It make's the sound from my pc 100 times better than the sound through the pc
headphone jack, but a slight downside is that it can show up any flaws in
the music especially if playing CD's, Apart from that i am very happy with it

David R(Date Added: Wednesday 08 February, 2012)
4 of 5 Stars!

This product has a quality feel and does the jot. It is well accessorised with a rubber cover and screen protector - but I didn't manage to get the screen protector on. However, otherwise it is easy to operate.

Si W(Date Added: Friday 03 February, 2012)
5 of 5 Stars!

I bought this for use with my new beyerdynamic dt770 pro 80ohm headphones. I knew it wasn't an essential purchase as I had a COWON D2 which for a small player produces some amazing sound and unlike my ipod doesn't need an amp to drive my headphones. I also have a creative sound card (xtremegamer) on my PC so I was only expecting to use this at work with the job laptop (as a DAC) and my ipod (as an amp). When I first received this I was a little disappointed with the sound. It was so different from what I was getting out of the setup I had and I couldn't decide immediately which I preferred, it may sound stupid to say this but the sound out of the E7 was just too clean...

Well its one week later and I'm recommending this to nearly everyone I meet. For the price I don't think you can buy a better improvement to the sound coming out of your PC. As an amp this is great but as a DAC through your PC this is amazing. I won't be listening to music on my PC's without it again. Iíll definitely buy FiiO again I also got the usual great service from Advancedmp3players.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Gabriel Bowen(Date Added: Thursday 12 January, 2012)
5 of 5 Stars!

This is my first experience of a DAC. I'd always thought I just needed a really good pair of headphones to get the most out of my music. Since using this E7 I've discovered so much more content in the music I listen too, stunning detail without changing my headphones.

The box is a really neat piece of kit, it feels special. It's somewhat weighty strapped to my ipod using the supplied band but together they feel very solid and, given the difference it makes to my music, worth it.

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Ville Vesalainen(Date Added: Tuesday 13 December, 2011)
5 of 5 Stars!

Not as much of an amp as it is a Dac, doesn't really boost that much of the input signal. Great pair with E9 though. Running alone as a dac/amp/soundcard it's great - background is dead black, no hissing at all. The sound quality is very good too, even stellar compared to the most of the laptop outputs. Buildquality is good, feels very solid to your hand and the battery does indeed last forever. You can buy E9 without E7, but really? No, not really.

eugenio maroni(Date Added: Monday 05 December, 2011)
5 of 5 Stars!

Very good product, excellent and the Seller is a one amongst many.

Kris Farrow(Date Added: Wednesday 02 November, 2011)
5 of 5 Stars!

For this price it is a no brainer for any computer audio enthusiast. The build quality, sonic attributes and ease of use all stack up to result in a great little product.
It is not the last word in audio refinement but you will have to pay considerably more to eek out further improvements. Good stocking filler for the men if any ladies are reading this??! :)

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
W. D.(Date Added: Sunday 30 October, 2011)
5 of 5 Stars!

I use this with my iPod Touch via the FiiO L3 line out cable and it works great.

There is greater transparency and clarity in everything I listen to.

Also works great with my laptop as an external USB soundcard :)

I'm very pleased with this

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Nitin T(Date Added: Saturday 20 August, 2011)
5 of 5 Stars!

Fantastic little device upgraded from the e5 and you can definitely tell the difference. For a start there is no background hiss that i got from the e5, plus the level 1 bass boost is really good for boosting my shure se420's bass and it does not colour the sound while activated unlike the e5's. The effect of this amplifier isn't really heard on good quality sounding mp3s like my cowon D2's. However it has a definite effect on my phone, dramatically improving sound quality removing 'tinniness' and broadening the sound stage. In fact i'm more than happy to use my phone now with the e7 instead of my mp3 player.

Good:
Great Design
Comes with silicon cover
USB line in- Allowing the onboard DAC and amplifier to by pass my computers terrible sound card
2 output jacks allowing me to connect my speakers and headphones simultaneously.
Great value as it can be used for my computer and my mobile phone.

Bad:
It is large (About the size of the first gen ipod nano and bigger than my d2) which effects its portability.
The user manual that actually comes with e7 is poor. You have to dl the one from the official website.
There is a dedicated dock called the L7 but there is next to no useful information about what its uses are on the fiio webiste.

12 of 15 people found the following review helpful:
Michael Trevor Pailing(Date Added: Monday 17 January, 2011)
5 of 5 Stars!

Hi to anyone interested in 75 year old person's experience, my very first of anything like quality sound was
in 1955, serving in the RAF in Germany,I invested all my money in a Phillips Jupiter valve radio, with a seperate
turntable, complete with Benny Goodman's 1938 Carnegie Hall jazz concert (I had the best sound in the block,my
closest friend at the time Tony Leedham who later became a well known jazz pianist playing at Ronnie Scotts
and for Dizzy Gillespie said so. So how much do we pay for the best now Hi, Fi stands for High Invesment,any piece of equipment under £150 is hardly classed as HiFi ,but wait a minute, I purchased the FiiO hoping to improve the sound of my lap top and computer, then I experimented with minidisc,cassette deck,cd player, it
gave each an increased spark,I would like to end with a Q&A "How do you improve Sennheiser head phones?"
Answer, Vorsprung durch FiiO E7
For around sixty quid you have a grown ups toy,an electronics marvel,multiple sound improver, you will love it
and never tire of it.

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
Daniel Lewis(Date Added: Tuesday 02 November, 2010)
3 of 5 Stars!

I posted the previous review and would like to add the input socket is of bad quality
Every time i move it and the jack moves it makes a bad static sound.

AMP3 RESPONSE:
Thank you for taking the time to write a product review, though we are sorry to hear of the problem with your Fiio E7 Headphone Amplifier. Throughout the time we have stocked the Fiio range, we have received no reports of any probles whatsoever, and so it seems this is a very isolated case.
Whilst we are confident in the quality of all our products, unfortunately from time to time things can go a little wrong.
Because this product is covered by a years manufacturers warranty, we have raised a return for you, so as to allow our team to inspect the item, and issue a replacement.
If we can help at all in any other way, please don't hesitate to contact us. We are always more than happy to help.

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Daniel Lewis(Date Added: Saturday 04 September, 2010)
4 of 5 Stars!

I dont think I can beat previous review but this is another confirmation that this is quite a unique product.

I'm using this amp with the Cowon J3. It does add some warmth and richness as the previous reviewer said but because The sound quality is so superior already from the Cowon j3. It doesnt add £60 worth of extra quality.
With any other device it would add a lot of quality but I havent tried so I can't comment

I'm using Denon (AH-D1001) which aren't hard to power, 32ohms I think.

What I can comment highly on is the USB soundcard feature. I've got am Asus 904HD which is a tiny 9" netbook so the soundcard cant be of amazing quality.

When this device is plugged in, literally 2 seconds later any sound that would travel through the soundcard then through ya built-in speakers/phone jack get redirected into this device then the signal gets put into the onboard headphone amp

This works fantastically well well worth all the money, yet this can also be used as a portable amp and a splitter.

So YES this would be a very good buy if you own a MP3 player and a computer as it does add noticable quality to both I'm listening to foo fighters in FLAC on my computer right now, the definition and detail is amazing.

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful:
Mark Ramos(Date Added: Monday 16 August, 2010)
5 of 5 Stars!

FiiO E7 Review

First Impressions: Gosh it looks really pretty. Hmm I can see this plastic faced front with a neon sign begging to get scratched which saddens me a little. It would be a shame to mar such a pretty little thing. Itís a lot lighter than I somehow expected it to be. The metal construction seems like it should be more weighty but it feels feather light. I really like the rubber suit for it too, so snug fitting and even has dimples for the buttons, yey for FiiO thinking ahead about this. Iím not however so sure about the little furry baggy mostly because I canít see me ever wanting to use it but it would save that ďscratch me pleaseĒ front. I like it, itís a nice little bundle. Oh and I love that the amp displays ďBYE BYEĒ when you turn it off. More importantly of course that means you can turn it off (Iím looking at you Nu Force.)

Lows: The bass here is of a pretty decent quality. Itís pretty neutral not adding or subtracting any from what the iPod is putting out. Itís nice but nothing special. What is special is being a FiiO it naturally can boost that bass should you like and it has not, not 2 but 3 bass boost levels. Now do forgive me if Iím mistaken but can any other amp do that? I donít know of one. Now Iím not usually one for bass boost but somethingís really do benefit from it like the RE-0 and Ety ER4. In my head the RE-0 and E7 are a natural combination and the bass boost set at 3 really makes a difference to them. Itís a significant boost and still retaining the RE-0ís stupidly good levels of clarity. This is the combo they were intended for and it works damn well. I also love the idea that the variable bass boost could be gradually levelled down over time so budding audiophiles can be eased off their bass junkie status.

With the bass boost going the quality is still good and naturally itís better than the E5 but itís not entirely perfect. It can be a little monotone and at full whack the additional bass can just sound out of place. However that can easily be fixed by knocking the bass boost down a level or two. I feel like I should be coming up with more complaints but the biggest I can come up with is that the E5 isnít that for behind the E7 in bass clarity. The E7 does though have much greater authority and fullness. Compared to the Icon Mobile, the icon is cleaner and tighter but itís to the point of feeling thin. The E7 has a great full richness to the lows where the Icon Mobile is a much dryer sound. Iím not really going to say one is better as the Icon goes superbly well with bass heavy things like the IE7 or 8. On something like the RE-0 it feels thin and reserved on the lows. The versatility the E7 gives in the bass boost options really does give it the edge.

Mids: Rich. In one ward the vocals here feel rich and full to the extent maybe too rich and full. The 5G ipod is a warm source and the E7 is a warm amp and if you combine that with something that naturally tends to the rich and liquid mids like the PL-50 it creates a bit too liquid a sound. Not that itís in anyway an unpleasant sound just very rich. On pairing this amp of with other warm sounding IEMís there is a tendency towards making things too warm. Here the coolness of the Icon finds many a better match. On cooler sounding IEMís the E7 and a hint of liquidy goodness and for the RE-0 makes that bit more organic and natural sounding. It really does work well so very well pairing those two up. I did test the E7 out with the cool midíed C751 but it really didnít work out. Not one tiny bit in fact. The warmer and more bassy sound of the E7 when combined with the huge bass of the Denon just made for a ridiculous bass monster. Which highlighted just how recessed the C751ís mids are. The Icon tamed that bass and pulled the mids forward balancing them out, the E7 pushed them utterly in the opposite direction.

Once more with when the E7 is paired up with the RE-0 it just works so very, very well. Beverly Craven (whoís voice I adore above pretty much every other singer out there) just sounds spectacular.

Highs: Here a have a little mixed feelings. On one hand the highs are sharp, crisp and edgy which many want and will adore but I canít ignore that I think they are too crisp and edgy. There is an element of artificiality about them that I donít really like so much. Of course many will know Iím not fan of treble that behaves in the tiniest bit unruly. The treble is just too edgy, vastly better than that on the E5 of course but head to head with the Icon it falls short. The Icon has finesse and can convey a delicacy that the E7 doesnít. On the E7 itís here slapped down right in front of you. That said there isnít an upsetting abundance of it, the quantity is pretty much in line with the mids and the bass. Even though the Icon has the better treble itís a bright amp and paired with something like the RE-0 itís just too much.
All that said, the treble isnít a bother and in testing out different IEMís that very crisp edginess does work quite well. It makes cymbals clearly stand out sharp and clean. They donít really shimmer like I may want them to but itís really the only thing I feel the Icon clearly wins at. Which is odd since the treble is too abundant on the Icon.


Screen: I really quite like the little screen but it seems odd it doesnít switch off after a short while; this will over time murder the OLED pixels so seems an odd thing to do.

UI: Well the UI is pretty basic stuff but it all works and is pretty obvious to use. That is how a UI ought to be so well done FiiO.

Power: I know there have been reports of the E7 not being quite able to provide the volume that some want and all I can say is WTF!!!!! Are you deaf!!!! Having the E7 power my HD600 (300Ω) I get to about 40 out of 60 before thinking erm no thatís getting too loud to listen to. Loud to the point of unpleasantly loud. If anyone is using more then I can only assume you actually are legally deaf and so do need things blasting at you to hear them or you soon will be. Currently Iím using a set of UE Super.fi 5 and the volume is at 5 and Iím perfectly happy with the volume.

Transparency: The E7 is a more closed in intimate sounding amp than it is open and airy. For me this pretty much goes hand in hand with its rich, liquid sound. If youíre looking for air and space no prizes for guessing where that can be better found. A/B ing the two of them I cannot say one is better than the other it has far more to do with the style and presentation you prefer, what suits that song and what pars better with your chosen headphone.

DAC: Testing the DAC section itself is impossible but you can gauge an idea of whether the DAC is of a worse quality than the amplifier is. The E7 DAC is lauded as being the Wolfson WM8740. I have no doubts many of you have come across the name Wolfson and the reverence with which it is often spoken of. Round Head-Fi Wolfson and its chips get great praise (and gets often beaten up for being cheapskates and no longer using them.) The thing is I canít say Iím hearing the DAC stand out and it makes me suspect the amp is holding it back. Normally there would be no way to tell but FiiO has a dock on the bottom of the E7. This is designed to be paired up the FiiO E9 which will be small desktop amp and when connected together will use the DAC in the E7. Clearly FiiO think the DAC they have used can do even better with a bigger and better amp and Iíd love to see just what it can do.

Comparing to the Dac in the Icon, I feel the amp of the Icon is a little held back by its DAC, the lovely Wolfson one in the iPod 5G pairs much better with its amp than its own DAC does. This leads me to conclude the DAC in the E7 is the better of the two. Should I get an E9 Iím sure it would confirm my suspicions.


Value: Pretty fantastic value. The E7 for all intents sits in a market position that it really doesnít have much in the way of competition. Its main rivals are the E5 and the Icon Mobile. Clearly itís a big step up on the E5 but not as much as one might have hoped for, that says more about what a little marvel that the E5 is than anything bad about the E7. Right now the E7 is available anywhere in the world for US$80 and that certainly canít be said for the Icon Mobile. If I wanted to go buy it a can but the cheapest I can see it for in the UK is £115. Even at todayís terrible exchange rates Google tells me thatís US$183!!! As you can see there is a little price discrepancy there.
Edit: AMP3 now has them in the UK at £65, so now available without waiting for it to come half way round the world too, yey.

If youíre American things get much more equal and accordingly the E7 isnít such a comparative bargain. You need to look whether itís more suited to what youíre after acoustically and in versatility.

Conclusion: I like the E7. I donít like it as much as I thought I was going to but I suspect that because the E5 set the price to awesomeness ratio so very high. So why should you buy the E7 over the E5? The most blatant reason is the DAC. The E5 has none and I donít know about your laptops but many have utterly crappy headphone outís. Plugging in the E7 makes all that horror go away at a stroke and that there is worth the extra US$60. The sound quality over all is a clear step up on the E5 too with the treble in particular being improved. The E7 also gives you a hugely versatile bass boost that is actually a lot of fun. With the E5 it was on or off but with the E7 you can graduate it is much finer steps and thatís something i really very much like. Even with my XM5 it has a great bass boost but itís either on or off, the E7 can have just a little boost if you like and thatís truly a step forward i believe. The E7 just gets a lot of those little things done well.

As a package the E7 is quite lovely, that little silicon jacket fits it just so perfectly and as cases go is about perfect. The options the E7 present is likewise great, the ability to plug it into an E9 and transform it into a desktop amp is something noting else offers as far as I know. The fact that it has an off button (oh hell yes Iím looking at you Nu Force) and that it also has a sleep timer on it. While itís not something I do but many like to go to bed with headphones on and this means you can amp them too and not wake to a dead battery.

The only niggles I have with the E7 is that the screen and whole face while pretty is begging to be scratched. You know itís only matter of time before you will spoil its looks. The other is that the sound quality isnít all that i hoped it would be. While itís very nice and represents good if not great value it isnít making me go ďWOWĒ like the E5 at its teeny tiny price did. When it comes to pure musical fidelity and finesse the Icon Mobile does have the edge but it lacks in that it has no bass boost and is just too darn bright for many. The E7 represents a more balanced and gently warmed sound that either works for you or it doesnít.

As I have mentioned the E7ís natural pairing is with the RE-0 and based on that combo, both at US$80 each makes for a pretty unbeatable sound for the money. The 0 with its neutral / bright sound and the E7 with its warm hint and that variable bass boost button is pretty much a match made in acoustic heaven.

What do you think?

FiiO E7 USB DAC and Headphone Amplifier

Facebook

What do customers choose?

FiiO L3 Line Out Cable for iPod
36% choose this very product:
FiiO L3 Line Out Cable for iPod
4 of 5 Stars! (7)
£7.99 £6.99
FiiO E17 Portable Headphone Amplifier with USB Digital Audio Converter (DAC)
16% buy:
FiiO E17 Portable Headphone Amplifier with USB Digital Audio Converter (DAC)
5 of 5 Stars! (11)
£119.99 £99.00
Fiio E11 Portable Headphone Amplifier
15% buy:
Fiio E11 Portable Headphone Amplifier
5 of 5 Stars! (15)
£54.99
FiiO E06 Portable Headphone Amplifier
4% buy:
FiiO E06 Portable Headphone Amplifier
5 of 5 Stars! (22)
£22.99 £20.99